12/3 Autumn amps~54,+3~105,+6~38,+8~95,pmps~124,+3~164

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well since I couldn't sleep last night I grabbed a +6 on her which was a lovely 99 and then this morning of course the even prettier 54 for an amps. I did go ahead and shoot her full dose into that 54. Again the disclaimer for being able to do that. I have months of testing data that tells me that she will rise until around +4 and she always eats well and was eating while I gave the dose and the most important part is that I will be home with her all day to check on her and make sure she isn't dropping too low.

However, it does look like now that she is starting to really settle on that fat .5u that she has a distrubing late nadir of about +12. Good thing she isn't my first diabetic cat and I have stock in patience pants....lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54

Excellent shooting Mel. You generally wouldn't want to shoot the full dose on a 54 with Lantus unless rising and you are ready to heavily test and steer for 6 hours.

But Levemir is quite different. With Chip on Levemir, I've found things are more stable shooting the full dose on about anything. It's almost more like if you expect her to bounce off of this by next cycle, then shooting the 54 on Levemir is more like shooting the bounce off the 54 on Levemir. I'm curious to see what her PMPS will be tonight.

I agree she is loving this dose. :smile:
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54

Dale,

Couldn't agree with you more shooting a full dose of Lantus on a 54 when I wasn't sure it was a rising number would have had me stalking her all day with meter in one hand and a can of HC food in the other...lol. It still makes me edgy even with the Levemir but I trust her to not drop too low more and to just stay beautifully flat or if she does start to dip a little lower than she should be to 1) come get me and tell me "Fudz now mom" and 2) that just her regular food will let me steer her.

I honestly think that the 2 cans of HC gravy food I have on hand have literally been in the cupboard since I first adopted Maxwell...I really need to see if there is an exp. date on them...lol.

Isn't it funny what use to terrify you when you first start testing and treating a diabetic cat, becomes so second nature after doing it for awhile. I remember completely freaking out when Maxwell hit his first low 100 number and calling Venita & CJ on what I was suppose to do...lol Now I look at that 54 ps and just shoot and be ready to monitor Autumn throughout the day just encase she decides to be a cat and do something unpredictable...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105

Mel, thanks for explaining why you shot the full dose on that 54 (the disclaimer). It helps when others might have a similar situation to know that while it can be done, it should not be done without data and the ability to monitor.

You are braver than me though! I could not shoot into a 65 with Cami last week. Her lows are coming sooner than I expected and I have no idea how she will respond after them - or didn't at that time.

Data is good!

Hope today is nice and even for Autumn and no big bounces from the 54. Go Autumn!
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105

That was almost definitely the correct shot for Autumn.

I was considering lowering my feed then shoot threshold to 50. But then the other night Chip was 65 (and falling) at +12, then 49 at 12.5. So I fed him *up* and shot at +13. That was really just to make sure I could still easily bring him up before I shot. And again last night he was back down to 51 at what would have been +15 after the shoot foods wore off.

When the pancreas kicks in, you may notice that carbs make them go down instead of up. At that point steering becomes an entirely different ballgame. You can still bring them up, but takes enough carbs to overcome both pancreas and insulin. In that case you do want to reduce the shot. Kind of like where I suspect Cami is now.
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105

Lovely for Autumn! We have just a few weeks before winter sets in- show off those greens and blues!
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105

Thanks Sheila!

Yep I like to run a disclaimer whenever I shoot low to stay low just encase a newbie would be reading her condo and think "Hey I can do that" And yes, it can be done but ONLY with the data to support the decision and when a human is able to monitor. Now if I was going to be gone all day or only around off and on throughout the day I would not have shot a full dose. But I have lots of data and now know Autumn's personality enough to predict what she will and will not do in a given situation.

No longer than you have had Cami I don't think I would have been brave enough to shoot those lows yet either. Especially since she is still sorting out all the changes in her life in her own head right now, so anything can influence her numbers, from relaxing and deciding she likes it there or someone getting too friendly and stressing her out. At least with Autumn she is fully a member of the family here and I've had several months with her fully normal personality showing.

I fully expect to have to start reducing Autumn again here fairly soon again if she keeps going the way she is going. I did find a lump on her bottom jaw this morning but she wouldn't let me get a good look at it before breakfast was served. So hopefully once her belly is full she will let mom take a good look. I suspect it's an absess since she has been sparring with a couple of the younger kids lately putting them in their place...lol. Or it is just a bad tooth...really wish Jan 14th would get here so she could get in for that dental. I know her teeth are a wreck and can't be good for her numbers, but then again after going almost a year without any form of treatment I couldn't expect her teeth to be in good shape..as that is almost the same as allowing a kid to live on nothing but pixie stixs for a year.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105

Dale 'n' Chip said:
When the pancreas kicks in, you may notice that carbs make them go down instead of up. At that point steering becomes an entirely different ballgame.
That sounds like "steering" an airplane that is inverted - all the controls are "opposite" in relationship to sky and ground. If you wanted to go toward the sky you would push the controls forward, which normally causes you to descend. God help me, I never want to be in an inverted airplane and have to figure out what to do against my instincts!

Mel, I hope her lump is nothing serious. Does the vet have you on a "standby list" in case there is a cancellation earlier? It can't hurt to ask.

My teeth hurt just thinking about eating ONE pixie stix!
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38

Just when I think I can predict her...lol...Feeding her lunch and keeping an eye on her.


Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38

At this point it should still be the depot in charge. Had you skipped the shot, it might have precipitated a more pronounced drop towards the end of this cycle followed by a big bounce of course.

Just monitor and ensure the food brings her up.

If she does have pancreas that would be very exciting news! :smile:
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38

Of course with Tilly you'd be back to the *regular* 0.5U with the mandatory reduction.

Are you still using the Bayer Contour meter?
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38

Nope Sheila the HC food is still in the cupboard unopened and Mz. Autumn is happily dining on her favorite Sea Captain's Choice Friskies as per normal. The meter however, is out in the open where I can snag it at a moment's notice and I have given up on the idea of a nap this afternoon...lol.

Dale 'n' Chip said:
Are you still using the Bayer Contour meter?
Yep still using the Bayer Contour, the only switch I made is I'm now using Musette's old basic Bayer Contour instead of Autumn's original fancy USB version..just like the feel of the original no frills version.

And depending on where she winds up tonight will determine what I shoot...if she bounces high at the end of this cycle I will probably shoot through the bounce and reduce to a straight .5u on the lower ps. If she stays low then I will drop her back to a straight .5u on tonight's shot. Let the drops by drop reductions begin.

She just loves doing this to me when I'm getting to run a full curve on her the next day.. :lol: :lol:

Funny even a year ago a 38 at +6 would have made my heart race, and sent me running for the HC food and testing every 15 minutes, now I very calmly record it on her spreadsheet and go fix everyone's lunch... :o Mostly because I know her so well, I know even at 38 she is just fine. Maybe a little more hungry than normal but otherwise just fine.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38

She's doing fine @38 and that meter is generally accurate.

Just so long as the food does bring her up.
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38, +8~95

Looks like she's headed up - maybe too fast? I agree about shooting through the rebound before lowering.

I love my Contour meter! Can't remember if I had it when Beau was still on the juice, but it was Jeddie's meter, and now Cami's.
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38, +8~95

95 at +8 that's my girl nice and steady. Plus we aren't going to be fighting the carb load later since mom has learned not to panic at 38..lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38, +8~95

Lookin great!

I third shoot the bounce. Even if it's not exactly "directly shoot the current bounce" a la Lantus.

With a mandatory reduction threshold of 40, the 38 could go either way.

As much as she's liking this dose perhaps it will be time for the "drop by drop" reduction?
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38, +8~95, +10~104

Still going up but not trying to race the moon...hmmmm...to reduce or not to reduce now that is the question.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38, +8~95, +10~104

On one hand, she probably earned something.

But if you are still doing a curve tomorrow you might be able to leave it and be ready for anything.

If you take the reduction and it doesn't hold, you can always take it promptly back to the magic dose.
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38, +8~95, +10~104, pmps

Well I didn't reduce her since that 38 is so close to 40 and really could be either higher or lower once you factor in the variance with the meter. So I will just keep an eye on her and see what happens with the curve tomorrow.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12/3 Autumn amps~54, +3~105, +6~38, +8~95, +10~104, pmps

I like that thinking... keep it stable. :cool:

Did you realize that most everyone in this thread so far:

Autumn, Cami, and Chip have all been *Tight Tilly* regulated so far this entire month?

Tightly regulated [generally below 150 (8.3) and usually in the 60-120 (3.3-6.7) range, no hypoglycemia, still receiving insulin]

OK Autumn and Chip have been dipping below 60 quite a bit, but no hypoglycemia. ;-)

Of course Sneakers is doing her own thing too! :smile:
 
Nice comfy blue to serve up her last meal of the day and call it a night on. :-D I'm so glad she read the manual on how to be a good sugarcat and not drive your momma crazy...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
A successful day! I will be interested in the curve tomorrow.

Dale, I hope there is a difference between 'tightly regulated' and 'tight regulation', 'cause I am certainly not following any TR "rules".
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
...Dale, I hope there is a difference between 'tightly regulated' and 'tight regulation', 'cause I am certainly not following any TR "rules".
I think the whole idea of Tilly is to mimic what the pancreas does on its own?

At any rate Chip apparently followed Autumns lead and and bounced to a nice comfy blue again (just out of Tight Tilly range) so I could get some sleep.

All and all a pretty good day indeed.
 
Yes, Sneakers certainly is doing her own thing right now- another blue AMPS, barely- but there. and her PMPS was only 213, so it is close.

But I absolutely LOVE the low numbers on all your kitties! :mrgreen:
 
Come on Sneakers...its nice down here on the blue floor...lots of catnnip and jingle balls to play with. You and Pumbaa should really stay here with us. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Come on Sneakers...its nice down here on the blue floor...lots of catnnip and jingle balls to play with. You and Pumbaa should really stay here with us. :-D
From your keyboard to God's ear, Mel. :)

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top