12/2GraciePMPS55 +1 51 +2 56 +3 65 +5 65 +7 97 +9 130+11 250

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/2 Gracie PMPS 55 +1 51 +2 56 +3 65 + 3.5 92

great stuff tonight - informative. I hope you are not up to much longer... Mannie and I are done. Surf well Gracie - be safe!
 
Re: 12/2 Gracie PMPS 55 +1 51 +2 56 +3 65 + 3.5 92

Jill...thanks for the info because it is along the lines Mike and I were thinking; we prefer to not reduce her dose...she didn't go below 40. I think between stalling or shooting a reduced dose, it might be better to shoot the reduced dose because of our time constraints on shooting time. What do you consider a good dose to shoot for a reduced one for her? We were wondering if .75u is too low? I imagine her shed would drain a bit and she might bounce up some; and also, how do we know how often it is ok to do it without really messing the shed up?

Thanks for the help. Hope you get some rest. Time to check her again for her +4.
 
Re: 12/2 Gracie PMPS 55 +1 51 +2 56 +3 65 + 3.5 92

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Jill...thanks for the info because it is along the lines Mike and I were thinking; we prefer to not reduce her dose...she didn't go below 40. I think between stalling or shooting a reduced dose, it might be better to shoot the reduced dose because of our time constraints on shooting time. What do you consider a good dose to shoot for a reduced one for her? We were wondering if .75u is too low? I imagine her shed would drain a bit and she might bounce up some; and also, how do we know how often it is ok to do it without really messing the shed up?

Thanks for the help. Hope you get some rest. Time to check her again for her +4.

shooting a reduced dose is something you'll want to do as little as possible because of the shed. the more you do it, the more it messes with the shed.

as far as deciding on what to shoot for a reduced dose... you'll almost have to make that call as the situation arises. when making the decision, take into account the rate of the drop as she's sliding into shot time and the ps number itself. i know, i know... with lantus we're supposed to make dose adjustments according to nadir and not ps number, BUT sometimes we have to give consideration to that ps number because of the individual cat. after all, gracie isn't exactly following the manual here. she's *supposed* to come up faster when fed hc and karo.

in the beginning, err on the side of caution. drop the dose a full 0.25u (or more if it makes you feel more comfortable) and see how she handles it. how she responds and the data you collect will help you make an informed decision should it ever happen again (and you know it will :-D ).
 
Re: 12/2 Gracie PMPS 55 +1 51 +2 56 +3 65 +4 85

Thanks Jill. I know something different has to be done because I really think it is not in her best benefit to high carb her given how she reacts so slowly to it and then it becomes cumulative. Because she does seem to take that second dip near or at her PS, I wonder if on days that she is still low at +10...like today when she was 91...if I should just give her a small LC snack to try to keep her PS number up a bit. If I did that, then I wouldn't have to stall or shoot a reduced dose BUT it probably would mess with her carryover....which, judging by tonight, wouldn't be that bad :lol: This kind of a night is hard on her and I both but mostly her because of the low numbers, the HCs, and then the rebounding not to mention all the required testing for her. I know that also goes against the grain (feeding late in the cycle esp when we've been trying not to so we get better PS!) but it would only be when we see a low +10 and it would keep from messing with her shed. Still being a newbie, I'm not sure if I can identify all the possible negative outcomes of that approach.
 
Re: 12/2 Gracie PMPS 55 +1 51 +2 56 +3 65 +4 85

the only problem i have with feeding towards the end of the cycle is it tends to give you a false sense of security at shot time. any food spike when kitty is fed at +10 or +11 *could* wear off around the same time as onset occurs. then you're right back to experiencing a nose-dive. having said that, try it. you never know if it'll work for gracie. just be prepared to pull the numbers up if it happens to backfire on you.

about those late cycle dips...
the only time late cycle dips are of concern is when they are the lowest point of the cycle.
when you've already seen a definite nadir earlier in the cycle, that second dip is nothing to be concerned about. it often happens with both lev and lantus.


eta: i'm going to have to catch up to you in the morning. have to get up in 4 hours. :roll:
good job tonight!
 
Re: 12/2 Gracie PMPS 55 +1 51 +2 56 +3 65 +4 85 +5 65

gosh dang it!!

no more pills for me...i can't believe i missed this!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top