Bron and Sheba (GA)
Member Since 2015
yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-vet-again-this-pm-for-bupe-injection.170328/
AMPS 86
Sheba seemed a little brighter this morning and was waiting in the kitchen for me when I came down at AMPS. I gave her zofran 2mg before eating. I am feeding her tiny amounts every 15 mins or so and she got up and ate the first few in her usual eating place. She has gone back to lying down and getting room service, but if I hold the plate she is willing to eat most of it, most of the time.
I gave her another reduced dose of 4.5 units insulin as it took her into the greens last night and her appy is still iffy. She dropped to 74 @ +1.5 this morning so I have switched to 15 carb food to make sure she gets enough carbs. I don't want a repeat of the 23! it has left me feeling slightly edgy about low numbers
Later this morning I am going to give her some SubQ fluids.
How long does the bag of fluids last before it needs discarding? It is Hartmanns Solution.
I also gave her some bupe this morning. I had some sublingual tablets from before. We call it temgesic here in Oz. How much do you usually give of the tablets.? They are 200 micrograms. When I gave her a full tablet once before, she was completely out of it. It's strange....she can have the bupe injection at the vet and she is not really all that drowsy, but for some reason, the sublingual acts differently on her. I gave her a 1/4 tablet but she swallowed it so I got another 1/4 in her cheek which hopefully stayed there. She is quite sleepy now but wakes when I talk to her.
Thanks Paula, Amy, Suki, Jayla and Les for visiting in yesterday's condo after I had gone to bed.
@Woodsywife thanks for all your information on the cerenia and the bupe.
I have ordered the 16 mg cerenia and can pick up later today from the vet.
With the bupe I am using the tablets so couldn't really compare the Liquid dose to the tablets.
Hopefully someone will know the dose for the sublingual tablets. I have given her 100 micrograms this morning.
AMPS 86
Sheba seemed a little brighter this morning and was waiting in the kitchen for me when I came down at AMPS. I gave her zofran 2mg before eating. I am feeding her tiny amounts every 15 mins or so and she got up and ate the first few in her usual eating place. She has gone back to lying down and getting room service, but if I hold the plate she is willing to eat most of it, most of the time.
I gave her another reduced dose of 4.5 units insulin as it took her into the greens last night and her appy is still iffy. She dropped to 74 @ +1.5 this morning so I have switched to 15 carb food to make sure she gets enough carbs. I don't want a repeat of the 23! it has left me feeling slightly edgy about low numbers

Later this morning I am going to give her some SubQ fluids.
How long does the bag of fluids last before it needs discarding? It is Hartmanns Solution.
I also gave her some bupe this morning. I had some sublingual tablets from before. We call it temgesic here in Oz. How much do you usually give of the tablets.? They are 200 micrograms. When I gave her a full tablet once before, she was completely out of it. It's strange....she can have the bupe injection at the vet and she is not really all that drowsy, but for some reason, the sublingual acts differently on her. I gave her a 1/4 tablet but she swallowed it so I got another 1/4 in her cheek which hopefully stayed there. She is quite sleepy now but wakes when I talk to her.
Thanks Paula, Amy, Suki, Jayla and Les for visiting in yesterday's condo after I had gone to bed.
@Woodsywife thanks for all your information on the cerenia and the bupe.
I have ordered the 16 mg cerenia and can pick up later today from the vet.
With the bupe I am using the tablets so couldn't really compare the Liquid dose to the tablets.
