12/28/14 Keiko AMPS 327

Status
Not open for further replies.

KeikosHuman

Member Since 2014
Last post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-25-14-keiko-amps-155.130393/#post-1342005

Post Christmas Keiko's BG seems to be creeping up. Should I hold him at 11 units twice a day until after I return from a trip? I'd be gone for 2.5 days. The vet wants to hold the dose until I'm here full-time. I am inclined not increase.

Interestingly for a couple of days Keiko had his lowest readings in the AMPS, which was the reverse of his usual pattern.
Thanks and have a great day!
 
The only thing that gives me pause about holding the dose if he's going to be untested (is that right, no one will be testing while you're gone?) is that amps 74 on 12/20 on the 11u. Often with a petsitter, if the cat is going to be untested, people reduce the dose a little bit. I might drop to 10.5u for the shots that he won't be monitored.

What will be his feeding plan while you're gone? Will he have food available during the night, say in a timed feeder?

If he's going to be tested while you're gone, that might change my opinion.
 
I can drop his dose to 10.5. I suggested the sitter check his BG if he seemed unwell. I think she would be OK to test him each time.
I don't have a timed feeder.
Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top