12/27 - Mia - AMPS 407, +2 364, +4 202, +6 266. PMPS 508, +2 385, +4 227, +6 202

MonicaT

Active Member
So, I haven't posted for a couple of days now over Christmas and am now realizing that we have gone way over 6 cycles that is recommended before increasing the dose again.

On Christmas eve, so 6 cycles ago, we gave her 0.1u for her PM cycle as we were going away and were scared she was going to drop too low since her PMPS was 169 and during her am cycle that day she dropped into 70 at +6.

After doing this she has had a couple of red and black numbers and several pinks.
However, yesterday we ended up giving her some new food (beef, veal) that we have suspected before that has raised her BG even though it is 3.3% carbs.

Should we increase her dose on her next cycle or hold the current dose a little while longer to see if it's the food or the recent 0.1u dose she got for one cycle that is affecting her numbers?
 
Please let me know if I should increase her dose for her am dose.

Would also appreciate help in regards to what dose I should increase to and how I can possibly calculate this with the caliper
 
Can you do a 0.25 units on the caliper? If you need to go even higher, it would be good to be able to increase by 0.25 units. Even now that would be my suggestion but not sure how you would measure 0.45 units.

Did you have a PMPS test on the night of the 26th? That cell is empty on the spreadsheet.

I suspect some of the big drops are contributing to the bouncing. What is your normal feeding plan? By which I mean what times during the cycle and the carb % given. I'm wondering if there is a way to slow her down at onset.

Here is the link to your previous post, which we like to see included for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-24-mia-amps-358-2-207-4-92-6-70.296850/
 
@Wendy&Neko

"If for 0.1u you’re setting the calipers to 1.35mm, then doubling that caliper mark would be 0.2u, would it not? (I’ve not used calipers before but assume this should work). I believe this would be the math:

0.1u —> 1.35mm caliper mark
0.2u —> 2.7mm
0.25u —> 3.375
0.5u —> 6.75mm

The 0.25 dose should appear visually to be half way between the zero line and the 0.5 line on the syringe."

I remembered that @JL and Chip had posted this on my last thread on the main forum. So I increased to 0.25u according to this information for her am shot today.

That's strange you're not seeing the PMPS in the sheet! I just added it again and on the world version where I add it I can see it, but can see it's not showing up in the US version..

Also here are two examples of feedings that I had posted a couple of threads ago:

For her feeding schedule she always gets her two biggest meals with her insulin, which would be 50grams of wet food. The food she is getting now is 3.33% carb on a dry basis.
She also eats most of the rest of her food during the day. This is how she ate yesterday and the day before to give you an idea:

Feeding schedule 22nd
40 grams with AM insulin
+2 - 30 grams
+3 - 20 grams
+5 - 20 grams
40 grams with PM insulin
+3 - 20 grams
+8 - 20 grams

Feeding schedule 21st
45 grams with AM insulin
+1 10 grams
+3 15 grams
+4 10 grams
+5 25 grams
+9 15 grams
30 grams with PM insulin
+1 20 grams
+2 20 grams
 
Could you try a consistent feeding schedule for several days in a row? Making sure you have more carbs early on and less after her nadir. Feeding experiments take time.
 
Could you try a consistent feeding schedule for several days in a row? Making sure you have more carbs early on and less after her nadir. Feeding experiments take time.
@Wendy&Neko Can definitely try. Have been following the suggestion of not feeding after +6 for a while now at least.

The only issue with more carbs is that we only have one choice of food til now. We haven't been able to find any other low carb than the food she is getting now which is 3.3%. other than that it is high carb over 10%..
 
Back
Top