12/26 Ruby AMPS 111/+3 70/+5 63/+7 44/+8 60/+9 64/PMPS 72/+2 56/+4 102

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-25-ruby-amps-232-3-200-7-180.257084/#post-2893046

Still no poop in sight, and it's now been 6 days since I believe Ruby did a #2. Bringing her to the vet tomorrow if she doesn't do the deed today. She seems totally fine though. I remembered that the cats love playing with kitchen twine and I cut a piece about a foot long that she's been dragging around the house in her mouth and dropping it at my feet while mewling as though it were prey. It's very cute!

Hope everyone had a beautiful Christmas. Enjoy your Sunday. :bighug:
 
Morning Katherine, What a nice start this morning and that nice +3 green.
I sure hope Ruby goes today so you won't need to take her to the vet. How cute what Ruby does with the twine! I'll be checking your SS and hoping I see the poop emoji.
Have a nice day Katherine :bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Came home after a nice bike ride and Ruby was pacing and rubbing up against my legs asking for food. Tested and got 44. :eek: Kept feeding her a half ounce of MC food at a time and she kept asking for more until I stopped at 1.5 ounces. Hoping to keep her hungry in case she needs more carbs. Testing again in a bit.

These BG drops do not neatly coincide with litter box deposits. Could be unrelated, hard to know.
 
I'm glad you got your Christmas present, looks like the lactulose has done it's job.
I'm glad you got home when you did. Ruby -Do you pulled a fast one on your mama.
I hope he stays hungry in case he needs more carbs. :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I found the first post I ever made on the FDMB: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-pros-and-cons-of-home-bg-testing.236551/

Reading it brought tears to my eyes. It was an EPIC thread--very long, packed with really helpful information. It's a testimony to the generosity and kindness of this place. There were a lot of people who commented on that condo who aren't here on the FDMB much anymore and that makes me a little sad, though there are those still here commenting on my posts everyday (looking at you, @Diane Tyler's Mom!). I joined the FDMB during the pandemic, so people had more time to comment and help out. I was so very fortunate. It's also amazing to see myself asking so many newbie questions, celebrating getting a drop of blood, feeding prescription food then learning I didn't have to. I've learned so much since then and Ruby is alive and well and thriving. What an amazing place this is. ❤️

upload_2021-12-26_17-50-42.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-12-26_17-50-42.png
    upload_2021-12-26_17-50-42.png
    519.5 KB · Views: 245
What a relief that she pooped. I’m sure you have the BG situation under control.

Looking over your first post! Amazing. You are a cat guru now. It seems like you’re not even the same person… of course you’ve learned so much- and not only about just FD but IBD, SCL, raw feeding, etc. Now you are a great advisor!
 
What a relief that she pooped. I’m sure you have the BG situation under control.

Looking over your first post! Amazing. You are a cat guru now. It seems like you’re not even the same person… of course you’ve learned so much- and not only about just FD but IBD, SCL, raw feeding, etc. Now you are a great advisor!
I've learned so much from people like you, @Suzanne & Darcy! Would never have been able to get through the hurdle of SCL without your calm and steady advice.

It really does seem like a different person! I was SO SCARED, felt incredibly guilty and blamed myself for Ruby's illness, had just spent more than $10,000 on ER bills. I had never given a cat a shot, never given a cat a pill, never drew blood. It was all so very new and overwhelming! Thanks to the pandemic, I had so much time to devote to learning everything I could before I started working again this past summer. As the visits to the vets added more to the list of Ruby's health issues, I had the mental and physical energy to throw myself into her care and learning everything I could about all of them. In many ways, FDMB was a real gift to me, an important discovery at a time when I really needed it.
 
Your post brought back to many memories and tears,:bighug: I think we were all you when we first arrived here at FDMB, but you really had the equivalent of a Master's Degree in CAT with not just FD, but also CKD, IBD and SCL, my heart goes out to you! :bighug:

Glad to see the Poop emoji LOL and Ruby you quit scarring Mama with those low greens! :eek::D
 
Ruby's PMPS was lower than usual, hopefully the lantus will "grab" that number and keep things steady for the night. I will keep an eye on her.

@Tiger(GA) and Ruth Thank you! I do kinda feel like I have a earned a degree! Still, I have my moments of doubts, like when Ruby gives me limies! :bookworm::bookworm::bookworm: I'm kind of new to having all of these lime green numbers. I know with long termers you're not supposed to reduce unless she goes below 40. We have been giving 3.25 units for the 8th consecutive cycle now since the skipped shot on 12/22, and have had two lime green numbers on this particular dose. I'm mostly at home this week and can keep a close eye on things but then I go back to work again next week. If she's still swimming with the sharks then, I may go back to 3 units, even if it brings back the yellows.

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.
 
Oh these cats are so unpredictable, it's perfectly normal to get scared and have doubts. But trust me, you are doing a fantastic job with her. That beautiful picture of Ruby tells it all, she is in good hands! :bighug::bighug:

Oh my, going back to work with the kind of drops she's had would give me ulcers :nailbiting: But I'll bump this up, maybe you can put a question mark in your title when you get a chance. During my time here, most were still working and somehow managed to shoot TR. :bighug:
 
Oh these cats are so unpredictable, it's perfectly normal to get scared and have doubts. But trust me, you are doing a fantastic job with her. That beautiful picture of Ruby tells it all, she is in good hands! :bighug::bighug:

Oh my, going back to work with the kind of drops she's had would give me ulcers :nailbiting: But I'll bump this up, maybe you can put a question mark in your title when you get a chance. During my time here, most were still working and somehow managed to shoot TR. :bighug:
Thanks, Ruth! I'm lucky, my DBF works at home and tests her while I am gone during the day, so she is not home alone, or rarely so. I also have a sitter who is a vet tech who comes to test and feed if DBF is gone for part of the day, and he calls me with her test number and I tell him what to feed her over the phone. I have automatic feeders that I also use, so I have the "working and doing TR" thing down pat, I would just prefer not to worry about it at all!
 
Thanks, Ruth! I'm lucky, my DBF works at home and tests her while I am gone during the day, so she is not home alone, or rarely so. I also have a sitter who is a vet tech who comes to test and feed if DBF is gone for part of the day, and he calls me with her test number and I tell him what to feed her over the phone. I have automatic feeders that I also use, so I have the "working and doing TR" thing down pat, I would just prefer not to worry about it at all!
And the vet tech? Does he still come?
 
And the vet tech? Does he still come?
He has come a few times in the past month. Frank has been home a lot so we haven't needed the vet tech to come that much. That may change in January as we are contemplating taking our first vacation sans felines since the pandemic started and Ruby got sick. But only if the Omicron variant stops spreading.

Fed Ruby MC at +2 and now we have a big bounce. Looks like I can sleep well tonight!
 
He has come a few times in the past month. Frank has been home a lot so we haven't needed the vet tech to come that much. That may change in January as we are contemplating taking our first vacation sans felines since the pandemic started and Ruby got sick. But only if the Omicron variant stops spreading.

Fed Ruby MC at +2 and now we have a big bounce. Looks like I can sleep well tonight!
Good night!
 
though there are those still here commenting on my posts everyday (looking at you, @Diane Tyler's Mom!)
You betcha! Can't get rid of me unless I kick off :p
I read you first post, you are a pro now! You've Come a Long Way Baby :cat:
Do you remember this was the slogan for Virginia Slims Cigarettes
You are helping so many new members here, giving advice and being so supportive
The knowledge you have now is amazing, you take such good care of Ruby, you too Frank . You have become an expert on so many things!
Just look at that pic of Ruby, I've always said she's too adorable.
You better watch I don't come and snatch her up :p
Who knows, if I'm ever down your way since we don't live far from each other
I might be able to meet you and the kitties. I'm glad Ruby came up tonight.:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
@Katherine&Ruby
 
Last edited:
I found the first post I ever made on the FDMB: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-pros-and-cons-of-home-bg-testing.236551/

Reading it brought tears to my eyes. It was an EPIC thread--very long, packed with really helpful information. It's a testimony to the generosity and kindness of this place. There were a lot of people who commented on that condo who aren't here on the FDMB much anymore and that makes me a little sad, though there are those still here commenting on my posts everyday (looking at you, @Diane Tyler's Mom!). I joined the FDMB during the pandemic, so people had more time to comment and help out. I was so very fortunate. It's also amazing to see myself asking so many newbie questions, celebrating getting a drop of blood, feeding prescription food then learning I didn't have to. I've learned so much since then and Ruby is alive and well and thriving. What an amazing place this is. ❤️

View attachment 63284
What a sweetheart!
 
Back
Top