12/26 (&25PM) Tigger AMPS 363, +4 395, PMPS 190

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
Sooooooo that was unexpected. I think it only happened because he didn't eat all his dinner. I usually test, feed half a can of FF, shoot . . . then an hour or two later give another half a can. Well because of Christmas he was too excited and was with us in the living room playing and cuddling all night. He didn't want to leave. Later once i pointed to food out to him he ate happily so there was definitely no issue with appetite. When I realized it was after +6 I checked BG and lo and behold a 60! (recheck was 51!) Sooo now what? We reduced to 1.25 this am dictated by SLGS but I'm still a little confused. Any advice greatly appreciated!
 
Oh Tigger, you certainly like a rainbow of colors. Why don't you try settling in on some nice blue for awhile?
 
Hey there. Good catch on the +6 last night. He is in bounce mode this morning from hitting that green last night. Maybe next time he goes below 90 later in the cycle ( +6 and on) try just giving some regular LC food to see if he comes up. That way you don't overdo the HC later in the cycle when the insulin is starting be less effective. Then retest in 30 minutes and see how that did. I like that you put the carb % in the cell with the number. That helps with the next time to see what worked well to bring the numbers up.

You will hold this dose for 7 days unless he drops below again.
 
It's better to be safe and take the reduction in circumstances like that. You can always go back up in dose if you need to.
 
Maybe next time he goes below 90 later in the cycle ( +6 and on) try just giving some regular LC food to see if he comes up. That way you don't overdo the HC later in the cycle when the insulin is starting be less effective. Then retest in 30 minutes and see how that did. I like that you put the carb % in the cell with the number. That helps with the next time to see what worked well to bring the numbers up.

UGH, you know, I thought that and I ALMOST always just put a dribble of gravy on LC but it was almost 2 and everyone had gone to bed and I was sooo tired so i gave him a whole spoonful. And since he didn't eat initially I wasn't sure if there was an appetite issue so I didn't want to fill him up on food that wasn't helping enough. Once he started eating though he ate an entire serving of half a can (with the second gravy spoonful on it.) I think I was shocked too cause damn was that a drop! I've only really caught him GOING low not already past 68 benchmark. If he is like 70-100 but I want to go to bed (eventually) I will try just LC! (and testing of course). Though he seems to respond well to even that food, it is just so darn scary to make the right decision sometimes. Of course he wasn't fazed at all and continued to play with his new burrito kickeroo
IMG_7617.JPG
 
UGH, you know, I thought that and I ALMOST always just put a dribble of gravy on LC but it was almost 2 and everyone had gone to bed and I was sooo tired so i gave him a whole spoonful. And since he didn't eat initially I wasn't sure if there was an appetite issue so I didn't want to fill him up on food that wasn't helping enough. Once he started eating though he ate an entire serving of half a can (with the second gravy spoonful on it.) I think I was shocked too cause damn was that a drop! I've only really caught him GOING low not already past 68 benchmark. If he is like 70-100 but I want to go to bed (eventually) I will try just LC! (and testing of course). Though he seems to respond well to even that food, it is just so darn scary to make the right decision sometimes. Of course he wasn't fazed at all and continued to play with his new burrito kickeroo
View attachment 41392
Cute photo!!
 
And now his bounce has broken faster than expected! 190 at PMPS . . . Who wants to bet on him re-bouncing vs having an active cycle? Considering I have to go to work tomorrow for the first time in 5 days - I bet he'll do whatever is the most disruptive lol. Gotta love this guy!
 
Back
Top