12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
MERRY CHRISTMAS LL

Thankfully Zeke's considerably down from the AMPS of 360 this morning. Paws and fingers crossed we have a nice cycle.
 
Re: 12/25 PMPS 186

unknown-1.gif


This is a perfect Christmas gift!!! A skipped shot, a dose reduction, and he's already back in blue!!!!

I hope you've been able to enjoy your day :-D
 
Re: 12/25 PMPS 186

Merry Christmas to you and yours!!
Wonderful PM cycle starting out for Zeke! Woo Hoo!
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186; +1.5 = 132; +3.5 = 50

Not again. Just gave him 2t 20% gravy with 2 drops maple syrup. Will test again in 30.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186; +1.5 = 132; +3.5 = 50

Good grief, Zeke! Good move to get on top of it fast, Laura. I'll check back in.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186; +1.5 = 132; +3.5 = 50

Wow Zeke, are you trying to get all your mommy's attention?

gatito-de-navidad-wallpaper-138959.jpeg

I hope you had a good and Merry Christmas.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186; +1.5=132;+3.5=50;Gravy=61(+4.25)

Yes, Zeke definitely has my undivided attention. For the most part, I've gotten him up on gravy and maple syrup. He just doesn't care for HC. The only higher carb food he seems to like is only 12%. I really would like him to eat some food because I'm concerned the gravy and maple syrup are going to wear off and he's gonna come crashing down. On the other hand, the food doesn't really seem to be helping and if he eats too much, I could find myself in trouble later on. I still haven't found the right food to keep him from going this low.

Again, I'm having to work to keep him up. I hate to ask but I wonder if I should consider reducing to say a skinny 1.5 tomorrow.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186; +1.5=132;+3.5=50;Gravy=61(+4.25)

I think a skinny or even try 1.25u if you want.

Have you tried his regular food with a drop of syrup? That's what Sienne uses.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50. Dose Question

Marje and Gracie said:
I think a skinny or even try 1.25u if you want.

Marje - is this a strong recommendation or do you think it would be ok to stick with the 1.5u? I know I asked the question but after I saw how the night played out, I think I jumped the gun a bit with the "having to work hard" comment. I did have to give him gravy and maple syrup - things I would really prefer not to have to do. However, tonight's cycle could still be effected by the 1.75u dose a few cycles ago (even despite last nights NS to drain the depot), right? If so, I would like to hold the 1.5u dose to see if it is actually a good dose for Zeke.

Here's what I feed tonight and the result:
PMPS 4% 1/2T and 2% 1/2T
+1.5 = 132 (Fed: 4% 1t)
+2.5 = 56 (Fed: 20% gravy 1t, 12% food ~ 1/2t, a drop or two of maple syrup)
+3.5 = 50 (Fed: 20% gravy 2t, two drops maple syrup)
no more food
+4.25 = 61
+5 = 69
+6 = 76

Would you say the above constitutes "working hard"?
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50. Dose Question

Compared to other cycles lately, I don't think this one was "working hard", you're right.

I'm thinking it's going to be a "shot time decision" at AMPS.

Carl
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50. Dose Question

I do think the shed from the 1.75 dose should have been sufficiently drained with the skipped shot.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50. Dose Question

Well, I still have about an hour until AMPS decision time. What would you do if this were your kitty?

Last night at +6 =76
At + 10.5 = 74

Last feeding at +7 = 1/2T 2% and 1t 0%
 
Even if I reduce and shoot a 1.25u, it will not effect this cycle that much because of the depot, right? But what about a BCS? Say 1u?

I'm hoping his AMPS is considerably greater than the 74 I just got. Otherwise at this point, I'm not sure what I'm going to do. Shooting this low a number considering the difficulty I've had lately bringing him up makes me extremely uneasy. But I feel like I shouldn't dismiss the "Shooting low to stay low" philosophy.

What to do?
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

PS **** Sorry. I'm using the 911 icon because I need advice from some experienced CGs within the next 45 minutes. I will remove as soon as possible.

I know any number greater than 49 is shootable but I don't know how much consideration I should give to the fact I've had to work to get his numbers up and out of the 40s lately. This is what I'm struggling with, not necessarily the PS number per se.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Are you going to be home today, and do you have supplies?
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Laura,
Yes the shoot-low-to-stay-low thing is important. I wish I was on my computer so I could type better, but I'm "mobile".

We don't know yet what AMPS will look like, but assuming it's still a green...

Flat green cycles are wonderful to see. And you can't assume that he'll just drop a lot just because his preshot number is lower. According to his nadir, this dose looks good. Maybe 1.25 is a more attractive option? I don't think skipping is necessary. And yeah, a BCS might sound good, but really, there isn't much between skipping and 1.5u to qualify as "chicken".

Let's see what AMPS is, and hope others will see this by then.
 
Dyana said:
Are you going to be home today, and do you have supplies?

Yes. But would you give any consideration to the fact that lately I've had to work to get his numbers up and out of the 40s?
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

I started to write this in my previous post, but erased it.
I think Zeke's numbers are looking great, and very hopeful, if you know what I mean.
If it were me, I would reduce the dose to 1.25, if you are going to be home to test, feed, and monitor.

Whether you shoot a 1.25 or a BCS, the cycle could play out very much the same, because of the depot action.

Eventually, you will learn to shoot the greens more often. Hopefully, he'll be well into the 80s or 90s by the time you have to make a decision. I'm glad you got that +10.5 to compare the PS test to.

Unfortunately, I have to go to work, and sign off. Others will be along to help you with your decision.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Dyana,
Do you think it would help if Laura were to feed a higher than 2% or 4% food at shot time? Might that help prop up his numbers early in the cycle?
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Yes, that's a good idea.
Laura, I don't know if you feed Fancy Feast or not, but I think the Chunky flavors are around 7% to 8%.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Yes, I have the 7% FF. I also have 9%, 10% and 12%. If I go with the 7%, how much should I give him? 1 Tablespoon?
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Laura,
Another idea is to feed him in two courses rather than one. Like half at AMPS and the other half at like +1.5. It spreads the "carb boost" out for longer and might proactively avoid the early drops at +2 or +3.
 
MrZ said:
Yes, I have the 7% FF. I also have 9%, 10% and 12%. If I go with the 7%, how much should I give him? 1 Tablespoon?
You wouldn't alter the amount from his normal food. The object is to increase the carbs without changing the volume of food.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Even with the lower dose of 1.25, is the higher carb food early in the cycle ok? My guess is yes because it's already been stated that the cycle will play out the same regardless of whether I shoot 1.5 or 1.25, correct?
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Yes, correct.:-)
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Is the dose recommendation leaning more towards shooting 1.25 vs 1.5 even though he hasn't earned that reduction?
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

I'm good with either dose. I don't know that you'd see much difference with a reduction.
Just an observation, but it seems to me that people see the effects of a dose increase faster than they see the effects of a reduction.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

I agree with Carl's suggestion to divide up the AM food and feed several small meals. Gabby likes to dive early in the cycle. I feed her at PS, +1, +2 and +3 to help to offset her tendency to dive.

The FF that you have is fine, I tend to think you'll be fighting the numbers less if you get something other then medium carb (i.e., higher than 12%). HC is considered above 15%. If Zeke doesn't tolerate gluten (all of the gravy has gluten in it), you can add a few drops of Karo or honey, etc. to LC food.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Thank you Dyana, Carl and Sienne for holding my hand on this one and providing great advice. He rose to 85, I shot 1.5u and fed 7%. We'll see how it goes.
 
Re: 12/25 Zeke PMPS 186;+3.5=50;+10.5= 74 ** Dose Question?

Awesome! I check back in a while (technically, I'm @ work:-) )
 
Laura

I'm sorry I wasn't back on last night. After I posted to you, I checked back but then got a call that my mom had fallen and hit her head and was at the ER. I'm glad the others were here to help you.

I would like to see you get to a dose that would enable you to shoot green without having to worry so much. I also think feeding early to avoid the drops might be helpful. The other thing I'll add is that I would do like Sienne with Gabby and get a +1 and +2 every cycle because Zeke is an early dropper. He rarely gets a food spike.

I think the suggestion to feed higher low carbs early is a good one. For many cats, feeding 0-2/3% carbs is just not enough.

I hope to see a flatter cycle today :-D
 
Marje and Gracie said:
After I posted to you, I checked back but then got a call that my mom had fallen and hit her head and was at the ER

OMG, Marje! How is your mom doing? Please keep us posted. I'm praying she’s ok.

I would like to see you get to a dose that would enable you to shoot green without having to worry so much

Zeke just tested at 34 - automatic reduction. Do you think I should reduce to 1.25u or go all the way to 1.0U?

BTW - Please don't feel bad if you're unable to respond quickly because you're tending to your mom. I would imagine that since Mike's out of town, this is making it more difficult for you. I'll be thinking of her and you today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top