12/25 Purrdy AMPS 230 +2 140 +5 113

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Merry Christmas everyone - well not quite for you but it's here for me already :)

Tomorrow the transition to LC begins

Yesterday's numbers:
AMPS: 193
+5 117
+7 149
PMPS: 148
+3 153

Purrdy's last condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-23-purrdy.130290/

From Sienne (had to copy and paste no idea how to quote on the new board)

"Serryn:

If it makes sense, you can use the weight based formula for Purrdy's starting dose:
initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms
At the very least, it will give you and your mom a ballpark for the dose."

I have done a bit of a profile for him today - but like everyone else I'm having trouble working out how to do things on the new board - anyone know how to make the link a word? I guess the main thing's that it's working but I wish I'd done it yesterday! I'd given up on working out how to edit the signature and then stumbled across it accidentally. The new board combined with a new computer on Windows 8.1 is causing me a little frustration - insert laughing smiley here

Purrdy's ideal weight is about 5kg (the vet said lower, I think 4.3 but he'd be just a bag of bones at that weight!) and he's only on 1 unit at the moment so, I'm sure you agree, it wouldn't make sense to increase his dose.

I'm not sure whether the smarter thing would be to reduce to .75 as we start introducing the low carb or wait until we see what happens and perhaps reduce if we see something around 90 to try and make sure we stay in front of dropping numbers. I was thinking the second plan was the best but then the last couple of days he's thrown us his lowest numbers to date (117 and 113).

Hmm don't seem to be able to put a question mark on this either...
 
Last edited:
I haven't had a chance to welcome you to Lantus Land, Serryn. Sorry you got caught in between boards as you were trying to do his profile.

Using the formula Sienne gave you, his starting dose would have been 1.25u. If it were me, I'd leave his dose where it is as you slowly taper his carbs back. If he was a dry food cat, we might lower the dose but I think just moving him from a higher carb wet food, I'd just continue to test and wait until he goes below 50 to reduce the dose.

Merry Christmas!
 
I agree with Marje -- at least in theory. I think the question here is what is your mom comfortable with? If she's concerned about monitoring and managing low numbers, for new members we often suggest starting at a lower dose. The rationale is that it's easier on the nerves to deal with slightly higher numbers than to be chasing after lower numbers. Likewise, if you're mom isn't posting yet and is relying solely on you, if you're not available, will she be ok managing Purrdy's numbers on her own?
 
Serryn:

To add a link, if you put your cursor over the icons at the top of the text box, the one that looks kinda like a paperclip (7th one from the left) is for adding a link. If you click on it, it opens a box where you an insert the link. If you want to call the link something (e.g., Yesterday's Condo), type what you want to name the link and then highlight the name, click to open the link, type or paste in the http://info for the link, then close the box.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top