12/23 Furball +10.75=313 AMPS=282 +2.25=211 +4.25=202 +5.75=202 PMPS=211

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-22-furball-10-263-amps-270-8-25-238-pmps-257.188410/

Furball was happy & purry this morning. I increased her dose to see if I can get her back to green. I got a 200 mid cycle last night. I had to fight air bubbles again this morning. The first time I drew her dose, half of it was air. I will most likely try a new pen tonight and see if it helps with the air bubbles. I didn't want to increase the dose and start a new pen on the same cycle.
 
Morning Carla, sorry to hear the air bubble issue is hanging around. I looked at spreadsheet and at 2 units you can dail in 2 units and push the plunger b4 each draw. This morn I purposely did not dial in the six units and when I drew out I got about half the syringe of air bubble. :blackeye:. Also before you insert the needle into the pen are you pushing the plunger as tight as you can and holding that as you insert? That will push a little more air out of the syringe b4 you draw. Another thought is on the current pen, dial in as many units as necessary till you feel pressure as you gently push the pens plunger. Then try a draw and see if you get any air? Btw you will always get a small bubble because of the air in the needle which you cannot purge. Hope you can solve the air issue. Ed
 
She's teasing me. Of course the flat yellow could mean action tonight.
Morning Carla, sorry to hear the air bubble issue is hanging around. I looked at spreadsheet and at 2 units you can dail in 2 units and push the plunger b4 each draw. This morn I purposely did not dial in the six units and when I drew out I got about half the syringe of air bubble. :blackeye:. Also before you insert the needle into the pen are you pushing the plunger as tight as you can and holding that as you insert? That will push a little more air out of the syringe b4 you draw. Another thought is on the current pen, dial in as many units as necessary till you feel pressure as you gently push the pens plunger. Then try a draw and see if you get any air? Btw you will always get a small bubble because of the air in the needle which you cannot purge. Hope you can solve the air issue. Ed
Thanks. I just increased her dose to 2.25 units this morning so I don't know that dialing the dose would work. I've never had this air bubble problem to this extent with any of the other pens I've used and I didn't dial the dose on them either.
 
She's teasing me. Of course the flat yellow could mean action tonight.

Thanks. I just increased her dose to 2.25 units this morning so I don't know that dialing the dose would work. I've never had this air bubble problem to this extent with any of the other pens I've used and I didn't dial the dose on them either.
You are correct, Carla. You don’t need to dial in a dose or push the pen plunger. You don’t have to equalize pressure with a pen if you are using syringes.

Good luck with the increase although now you won’t know if the increase or the new pen is what helped her. Bubbles won’t affect her unless you don’t get them out of the syringe; in which case, you are also correct that the dose might be off.
Morning Carla, sorry to hear the air bubble issue is hanging around. I looked at spreadsheet and at 2 units you can dail in 2 units and push the plunger b4 each draw. This morn I purposely did not dial in the six units and when I drew out I got about half the syringe of air bubble. :blackeye:. Also before you insert the needle into the pen are you pushing the plunger as tight as you can and holding that as you insert? That will push a little more air out of the syringe b4 you draw. Another thought is on the current pen, dial in as many units as necessary till you feel pressure as you gently push the pens plunger. Then try a draw and see if you get any air? Btw you will always get a small bubble because of the air in the needle which you cannot purge. Hope you can solve the air issue. Ed
I’ve been here a looonnnnnnggg time with many, many others using pens; and many with high dose cats. I don’t know anyone that does this or has an issue with getting half the syringe as air bubble if they don’t do it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top