Karen and Chispa (GA)
Member Since 2022
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-25-82-4-69-5-5-308-pmps.284416/#post-3131132
Helloooo everyone!
I'm shocked to see how long it's been since I last posted ... time sure does fly during this season. It's partly the pace of pre-holiday life, but more so, I've felt like I couldn't post without explaining what I've been up to re: managing Chispa's FD, since anyone looking at her spreadsheet would probably think I had lost my marbles with the very much unearned reduction from 2.25 units to 2. There is an explanation, which has to do with a visit to the internist a week and a half ago to find out why her little tummy is so often upset lately. I took her in for an ultrasound and blood work, which showed that she has pancreatitis (we knew that) and low potassium, but not a whole lot else -- so basically good news.
The internist we saw was AWESOME. First, because Chispa's case is so complicated, he insisted on talking to me in person, even though I told him I was recovering from Covid. We must have talked for 45 minutes. I've had some vets in the past that I really liked, but I've never met one who was so passionate about his job. He's all about prevention, rooted in nutrition, which made sense to me because that's how it is for us too. He thinks a food allergy, most likely to chicken, is causing systemic inflammation that is at the root of most of Chispa's medical issues. He recommended a few different foods to try, including Instinct rabbit paté, which she seems to like very much so far. I also found some soft 100% fish treats from Orijen -- perfect for a nearly toothless cat! I'm not sure what I can substitute for the chicken-based Pill Pockets I use for her meds. There is a brand of hypoallergenic ones that I tried once in the past, but neither cat would touch them.
So the reduction from 2.25 to 2 units was at his request. I won't bore you with the details of all his arguments and all my counterarguments, but suffice it to say that safety was his main reason for asking me to reduce, and in recognition of his awesomeness, I agreed to try. I will look into switching Chispa over to SLGS (need to read up on it again).
Anyway, I hope all cats and peeps are having a happy, healthy weekend. May you all finds ways to de-stress and actually enjoy the holidays if you haven't so far!





Helloooo everyone!
I'm shocked to see how long it's been since I last posted ... time sure does fly during this season. It's partly the pace of pre-holiday life, but more so, I've felt like I couldn't post without explaining what I've been up to re: managing Chispa's FD, since anyone looking at her spreadsheet would probably think I had lost my marbles with the very much unearned reduction from 2.25 units to 2. There is an explanation, which has to do with a visit to the internist a week and a half ago to find out why her little tummy is so often upset lately. I took her in for an ultrasound and blood work, which showed that she has pancreatitis (we knew that) and low potassium, but not a whole lot else -- so basically good news.
The internist we saw was AWESOME. First, because Chispa's case is so complicated, he insisted on talking to me in person, even though I told him I was recovering from Covid. We must have talked for 45 minutes. I've had some vets in the past that I really liked, but I've never met one who was so passionate about his job. He's all about prevention, rooted in nutrition, which made sense to me because that's how it is for us too. He thinks a food allergy, most likely to chicken, is causing systemic inflammation that is at the root of most of Chispa's medical issues. He recommended a few different foods to try, including Instinct rabbit paté, which she seems to like very much so far. I also found some soft 100% fish treats from Orijen -- perfect for a nearly toothless cat! I'm not sure what I can substitute for the chicken-based Pill Pockets I use for her meds. There is a brand of hypoallergenic ones that I tried once in the past, but neither cat would touch them.
So the reduction from 2.25 to 2 units was at his request. I won't bore you with the details of all his arguments and all my counterarguments, but suffice it to say that safety was his main reason for asking me to reduce, and in recognition of his awesomeness, I agreed to try. I will look into switching Chispa over to SLGS (need to read up on it again).
Anyway, I hope all cats and peeps are having a happy, healthy weekend. May you all finds ways to de-stress and actually enjoy the holidays if you haven't so far!




