12/23 Champ PMPS 313, +3.5 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
With all the drama of Champ being in the hospital, and the outpouring of support and love I received from everyone here at FDMB, I'm promising myself that I'll post regularly. Maybe not every day, because some days I'm so busy I can't see straight, but at least a few days a week. I've really missed the friendships I've developed here and, looking around, there are SOOOO many new kitties. I think I can count on less than two hands the old-timers Champ and I "grew up" with. So, on with the WCR...

Champ has settled back home nicely. It took him until last night to finally starting acting normally. When I first got him home from the hospital, he wandered restlessly around the house, in and out of the rooms, never seeming to settle in any one place. I gave him some food, but he would only eat a couple bites and then wander away. He finally climbed up into his cat tree, which the sun was shining on, and slept for A LONG TIME. I'm sure all the noise in the vet's office kept him from sleeping as much as he usually does and he was tuckered out. About 4:00 in the afternoon, he asked for some food so I gave him his snack (love that zero carb Fancy Feast Fish & Shrimp). He only ate a mouthful, but went back for the rest about an hour later. At dinner time, 6:30, he ate all his food and I gave him his usual dose of 1.5 units (I had the vet reduce it to 1 unit since they don't check BG's except at shot time and no one is there overnight). His PMPS last night was 221, but steadily rose until it was 326 at midnight when I went to bed. I usually check his BG's at shot time and then every two to three hours when I give him food (3 ounces spread out over each 12-hr period). I cleaned out his litterbox before I went to bed to make sure he was producing urine (kidneys and pancreas are affected by lily poisoning) and he had both poo and pee in there so I was very happy!!! I checked his LB again this morning and more pee!!! Yay!! I do believe it was okay for me to bring him home early. So now Champ is in his cat tree, getting his morning snooze on. I've never been so happy on a Monday morning before!! I'VE GOT MY CAT BACK!!!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

What a wonderful report on Champ and a great early Christmas gift. I'm so glad he's home and doing so well.
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

Good morning Patty ~O) ~O)

I'm smiling big time for you and Champ :-D :-D By the way, I'm Kim and my sugarkitty is Twice, and we like to just barge into condos uninvited :lol:
Keep on healing Champ! We are so, so very happy you have your baby home for the holidays ;-)
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

Morning Patty ~O) ~O) ~O)

YAY! A good WCR. I am glad Champ is back to being Champ. it all had to be so traumatic on him, and I am sure he needed time to unwind, rest, recover from being away from home. In time he will be back on track with the BG's too.

Merry Christmas to you, and Champ. Have the best of days today. Enjoy!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

I am so glad that he is doing well, Patty. I think that your quick actions in inducing vomiting and getting him to the vet saved his life. Good for you!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

((((Patty)))) I am so glad Champ is feeling better and back home with his mama. Our fur kids always sleep a ton when they get home. I think it is pretty hard to get any rest at the vet. Great to hear the peeing and pooing are normal. Looks like he is out of the woods. I know you were worried sick and you are such a great great bean. So much going on there. Yay for Danielle! That is incredible, especially since I know she was working a lot while going to school. Are you both moving to TX now? ;-) I wish you would so I could see you more often. Miss you lots and love ya!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

Good Morning Patty ... I think Christmas came a little early for you this year...getting sweet Champ back home and doing well ;-) Hope you have a great Monday, after the last few days you have had, you really deserve it !!!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

Good morning Patty. Thanks for sharing your update. I can feel your elation through your post. I'm so happy for you and glad to hear that Champ is doing well - there's no place like home. Sending blue and green vines his way. Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

Patty, I'm so glad Champ is doing well. You are such a wonderful mamabean ♥

cat_pet_icon dancing_cat cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280

:-D :-D :-D :-D Great Champ report! I know you are both so happy to have hime home. Champ, remember, you are a carnivore! No veggies!!!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280, +2.5 210, +7 229

I just noticed a slight green discharge in the corners of Champ's eyes, which he has never had before. I swear, if he caught something while being at the vet's, I'm going to be soooo upset!! I have to stop by the vet's office sometime today to pick up some stuff they forgot to give me when I picked him up so I'll ask them about it then. Fingers crossed this is nothing!!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280, +2.5 210, +7 229

So glad to hear that Champ is home now. I hope the green stuff in his eyes is just some dried up tears from missing his mommy.
I hope everything is fine from now on and you all have a great Christmas. Hey Champ, no more eating plants, meat only! :roll:
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280, +2.5 210, +7 229

Yay for Champ! :-D :-D :-D Paws crossed the eye discharge goes away quickly and those BGs come down too. Congrats to Danielle!
Liz
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280, +2.5 210, +7 229

Wonderful Champ report! Maybe the green goo is from lack of sleep at the vetty's office - or, like CD said, dried up tears from missing you. Either way, he is HOME, where he belongs - best news ever!!

It does get too crazy and hard to keep up with posting, but we sure would love hearing how you guys are doing when you do have the time!!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280, +2.5 210, +7 229

Hi Patty,
I'm so glad that Champ is home. Perhaps the "green gunk" is a result of some medication they gave him. If he's acting OK otherwise, and it appears that he is (peeing and pooing), it will probably be fine. But it is good to check with the vet, just to be sure. We wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280, +2.5 210, +7 229

Superb WCR!!! And that is "Well Champ Report". Yahoo!!! I'm sure he was exhausted.

Sending more healing vines!!
 
Re: 12/23 Champ AMPS 280, +2.5 210, +7 229

i missed the crisis entirely - but YAY that champ is home and doing ok! i'm so glad our little buddy is ok and i'm walking in on a happy end to the story.

glad to hear you're going to post more often now - i've missed you!

:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top