Patty & Champ
Member Since 2011
With all the drama of Champ being in the hospital, and the outpouring of support and love I received from everyone here at FDMB, I'm promising myself that I'll post regularly. Maybe not every day, because some days I'm so busy I can't see straight, but at least a few days a week. I've really missed the friendships I've developed here and, looking around, there are SOOOO many new kitties. I think I can count on less than two hands the old-timers Champ and I "grew up" with. So, on with the WCR...
Champ has settled back home nicely. It took him until last night to finally starting acting normally. When I first got him home from the hospital, he wandered restlessly around the house, in and out of the rooms, never seeming to settle in any one place. I gave him some food, but he would only eat a couple bites and then wander away. He finally climbed up into his cat tree, which the sun was shining on, and slept for A LONG TIME. I'm sure all the noise in the vet's office kept him from sleeping as much as he usually does and he was tuckered out. About 4:00 in the afternoon, he asked for some food so I gave him his snack (love that zero carb Fancy Feast Fish & Shrimp). He only ate a mouthful, but went back for the rest about an hour later. At dinner time, 6:30, he ate all his food and I gave him his usual dose of 1.5 units (I had the vet reduce it to 1 unit since they don't check BG's except at shot time and no one is there overnight). His PMPS last night was 221, but steadily rose until it was 326 at midnight when I went to bed. I usually check his BG's at shot time and then every two to three hours when I give him food (3 ounces spread out over each 12-hr period). I cleaned out his litterbox before I went to bed to make sure he was producing urine (kidneys and pancreas are affected by lily poisoning) and he had both poo and pee in there so I was very happy!!! I checked his LB again this morning and more pee!!! Yay!! I do believe it was okay for me to bring him home early. So now Champ is in his cat tree, getting his morning snooze on. I've never been so happy on a Monday morning before!! I'VE GOT MY CAT BACK!!!
Champ has settled back home nicely. It took him until last night to finally starting acting normally. When I first got him home from the hospital, he wandered restlessly around the house, in and out of the rooms, never seeming to settle in any one place. I gave him some food, but he would only eat a couple bites and then wander away. He finally climbed up into his cat tree, which the sun was shining on, and slept for A LONG TIME. I'm sure all the noise in the vet's office kept him from sleeping as much as he usually does and he was tuckered out. About 4:00 in the afternoon, he asked for some food so I gave him his snack (love that zero carb Fancy Feast Fish & Shrimp). He only ate a mouthful, but went back for the rest about an hour later. At dinner time, 6:30, he ate all his food and I gave him his usual dose of 1.5 units (I had the vet reduce it to 1 unit since they don't check BG's except at shot time and no one is there overnight). His PMPS last night was 221, but steadily rose until it was 326 at midnight when I went to bed. I usually check his BG's at shot time and then every two to three hours when I give him food (3 ounces spread out over each 12-hr period). I cleaned out his litterbox before I went to bed to make sure he was producing urine (kidneys and pancreas are affected by lily poisoning) and he had both poo and pee in there so I was very happy!!! I checked his LB again this morning and more pee!!! Yay!! I do believe it was okay for me to bring him home early. So now Champ is in his cat tree, getting his morning snooze on. I've never been so happy on a Monday morning before!! I'VE GOT MY CAT BACK!!!