Dont be sorry!! Hopped on FB and Kim respondedHas his number come up then? Please do continue to test because the HC syrup can wear off quickly. How was he acting? I’m sorry I wasn’t on for you earlier.
That’s ok, he’ll come back down. He’s just gotten a full load of lots of carbs to wear offHes 16.1 nownow im worried ive sent him too high.. sighhhh

And I say "so late," because for us, Jude's nadir is usually +3/+4. ECID.Vanessa, I'm just glad you caught that +7! It's so wild that he dropped so late in the cycle, especially given that he didn't have a shot this morning. Honestly, I don't know that I would have even tested. I think somebody's pancreas has woken up.
18.9Speaking of cocktail I think you earned one lol
Me too!! We didnt shoot because i had to work today and couldn’t be home to monitor. I grabbed a test when i got home to see how he was doing without the shot, and I am so glad I did also!Vanessa, I'm just glad you caught that +7! It's so wild that he dropped so late in the cycle, especially given that he didn't have a shot this morning. Honestly, I don't know that I would have even tested. I think somebody's pancreas has woken up.

It most certainly is! I knew this was bound to happen, was just not expecting it on a skip dayWell even if you skip but still test at preshot, feed his usual meal etc, and test before you go to bed that’s good info on what he might need going forward. It’s not uncommon to have a big shock; earlier in the year I had a crazy low number (1.6/29) after I had already taken a reduction, and I couldn’t get him up immediately with HC. I’d been doing this for 8 years, and I was most definitely shaken. Just take care of you, he’ll be just fine and we shall just see what he needs tomorrow![]()
Nice catch!
Just a couple things to point out. I do know he’s doing SLGS but, for TR, especially for cats who have been diabetic for a year or more, we allow them to drop into the 40s before they earn a reduction. As long as they are being monitored and fed to bring that BG up, it’s not a dangerous number on a human meter but definitely requires attention and rechecking.
For that reason, unless the kitty is experiencing symptoms, 40 does not constitute a hypo so we don’t use that term. He was just in low numbers and it is a shock the first time you suddenly see that.
I overcarbed like crazy the first BG below 50. It can get the heart pumping. And it’s fine to do that as it at least lets you know what that much HC does to him. There have been some cats here who got a bump off a freeze dried chicken treat and others that required HC gravy with honey so I’d rather see someone overdo it the first time than not take it seriously.
With TR, we might let the depot play out a bit and not take another reduction but I agree with Christie about dropping to 0.1u. You can always go back up.