? 12/22, Tosca, PMPS 83, to shot?

Tosca

Member Since 2022
Tosca is at 83 pre- shot, I am very surprised, as this is a value we see at her nadirs.
I fed, and waited 30 minutes, and I still get the same, 83!
I never shot at this number, what do i do?
 
Tosca is at 83 pre- shot, I am very surprised, as this is a value we see at her nadirs.
I fed, and waited 30 minutes, and I still get the same, 83!
I never shot at this number, what do i do?
Technically you are following TR so you would normally shoot. I'm not experienced enough to give you advice though so I will tag a member for you that can help you. @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
With TR, I think we make changes not only based on Nadir, but also if the pre-shot number is lower than usually, right? I am too nervous to shot the whole 1U. Still waiting a few more minutes, and then probably giving a shot of .75, I am thinking..
 
With a lower than normal preshot you need to stall, dont feed, and test again in 20 minutes.
So the preshot BG is not food influenced.
Unfortunately I can’t hang around at the moment and stay with you if you shoot.
Can you monitor all cycle, do you have high carb food?
Not sure who else is around.
if you give a token dose the first half of the cycle will still be influenced by the previous cycle so you would need to test anyway.
You have shot preshots around 100 before.
Sorry I can’t stay around.
 
Ok, thank you, I will shot .75 and test as late as I can. Thank you!
So she stayed low even if we fed.
Yes, I shot less than 100 before but this is the lowest and I am worried I fall asleep and don't catch her if she is hypo late in the night.
 
Ok, thank you, I will shot .75 and test as late as I can. Thank you!
So she stayed low even if we fed.
Yes, I shot less than 100 before but this is the lowest and I am worried I fall asleep and don't catch her if she is hypo late in the night.
Get a +1 and +2 and if you think you will fall asleep, set the alarm.
Remember you have tools if the BG drops early in the cycle…some higher carb food.
 
Ok, so finally I shot 1U the regular dose, she started to go up a little.
I have a question: If she is too low before shot, and I wait 20 minutes, no feeding, but she is the same, then, do I decrease .25?
 
Ok, so finally I shot 1U the regular dose, she started to go up a little.
I have a question: If she is too low before shot, and I wait 20 minutes, no feeding, but she is the same, then, do I decrease .25?

You might want to read https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/. It explains how to handle low pre shot numbers, definitely helped me.

To answer your question; with TR you reduce if they ever get under 50 for a newly diagnosed cat and 40 for an existing diabetic cat. The other way to reduce is that the cats nadirs fall between 50 and 80, and overall never going above 100.
 
I just scared myself looking at some of the lower than 60, I've shot. Oh, my! Two times it was 56, and to think I was recently freaked to shoot at 70. :confused:

You can do it as long as you can test and/or feed a higher carb food to slow down the drop, if needed.
 
Back
Top