12/22 - Gen, AMPS >400

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Well, I'm embarrassed. This morning should have been an increase, but I had a horrible time getting out of bed and when I went to give Gen his shot, half-asleep, I forgot. Aaaaargh. So I guess we're going to do that tonight instead. 🤦‍♂️

On a positive note: he pooped! Right at bedtime last night. And he definitely seemed to feel better after that. There were cuddles and purring, and even whining for food this morning in his normal way (which he hadn't done in days). His overnight cycle made it back down into the yellow, at least. Praise be to Miralax.

Today I'm going to take a very cold 45-minute bike ride to Costco to get some more Libre sensors for our trip, and then we see the vet in this afternoon with a big list of questions/concerns per usual). And then, presumably, I pack. My brother and SIL are supposed to pick us up tomorrow. Adventure!

I hope everyone has a peaceful Monday, with safe surfs for your kitties!
 
Oh I'm so glad Gen seems to be feeling better, we know our cats and their usual ways <3

Have a wonderful vet visit!
You got this Gen such a champ ❤️
 
poop.gif
 
Don't feel bad, I have actually also done that--forgetting to increase. Way better than forgetting to decrease!

Good luck at the vet! Keep us updated.
 
Now that's a relaxed kitty, after a much needed bowel movement 😅 Glad Gen is feeling some relief, especially before your big adventure!
Good luck with the costco run and increase tonight (don't sweat the miss, like Lauren said)! Safe surfing today 🤗
 
Vet appointment went well! They did a lateral x-ray free of charge to check on the constipation and said he was looking good and that the Miralax seems like it should probably be a regular thing, at least for now (I agreed). She gave me some "just in case" antibiotics (for use if anything worrisome changes with his abscess during our trip), and gabapentin in both tablet and powdered form, so if he won't take one, we can try the other. 🤞

He continues to be feeling better/like himself. I'm pretty wiped out, for my part - and wincing, because Costco did not charge me $35/Libre - more like $77. My schedule was too tight to try and argue or figure out why, but I'll investigate later. For now, I need to take a little breather, then start packing.

Tonight we'll try the powdered gabapentin to see if he'll eat it. And increase his dose to 1.5u (my vet agreed, unsurprisingly).
 
Vet appointment went well! They did a lateral x-ray free of charge to check on the constipation and said he was looking good and that the Miralax seems like it should probably be a regular thing, at least for now (I agreed). She gave me some "just in case" antibiotics (for use if anything worrisome changes with his abscess during our trip), and gabapentin in both tablet and powdered form, so if he won't take one, we can try the other. 🤞

He continues to be feeling better/like himself. I'm pretty wiped out, for my part - and wincing, because Costco did not charge me $35/Libre - more like $77. My schedule was too tight to try and argue or figure out why, but I'll investigate later. For now, I need to take a little breather, then start packing.

Tonight we'll try the powdered gabapentin to see if he'll eat it. And increase his dose to 1.5u (my vet agreed, unsurprisingly).
So happy he pooped 🙏
And glad the vet visit went well, Allie.
Good luck with tht increase!

So sorry the Libres were that costly. We need to get that sorted out!

Hang In there and enjoy your trip!
Gen looks so handsome in his sunny spot 🥰😻💖
 
and wincing, because Costco did not charge me $35/Libre - more like $77.
Did you end up getting the membership? That price sounds like the non-member price. Unfortunate!! If you do have the membership, I wonder if they didn't have it linked to your prescription or something? Or maybe it's a state-specific price? Their customer service is very good so (when you have more energy) you may be able to call and have it fixed to get a refund for the difference.
 
Did you end up getting the membership? That price sounds like the non-member price. Unfortunate!! If you do have the membership, I wonder if they didn't have it linked to your prescription or something? Or maybe it's a state-specific price? Their customer service is very good so (when you have more energy) you may be able to call and have it fixed to get a refund for the difference.
I agree. I’d call and ask about that if you are a member. Maybe they can even refund your credit card (if used) over the phone or take in your receipt and get a refund for member pricing.
 
Which Costco did you go to?

Have you tried the gabapentin capsules? You can open the capsule up and sprinkled the powder into food. Add a pinch of FortiFlora if needed. Not sure about the cost of capsules vs powder.
 
Did you end up getting the membership? That price sounds like the non-member price. Unfortunate!! If you do have the membership, I wonder if they didn't have it linked to your prescription or something? Or maybe it's a state-specific price? Their customer service is very good so (when you have more energy) you may be able to call and have it fixed to get a refund for the difference.
I did - and when I went to drop off my prescription, they took my membership information (from the brand-new membership card I had picked up before going in). I asked the tech who checked me out if there was a mistake, and he just shrugged and said "it's expensive." I had to hurry out of there in order to make the vet appointment on time, but yeah, I am planning to look into this later! It's good to know that their customer service is good! But I did wonder about state-specific pricing. In which case ... ugh.

I agree. I’d call and ask about that if you are a member. Maybe they can even refund your credit card (if used) over the phone or take in your receipt and get a refund for member pricing.
I will, but sometime after Christmas, I think. 😅

Which Costco did you go to?

Have you tried the gabapentin capsules? You can open the capsule up and sprinkled the powder into food. Add a pinch of FortiFlora if needed. Not sure about the cost of capsules vs powder.
I went to the one in Everett - it's closest to me.

The capsules are one of the two types I got from the vet. I had meant to try them tonight, but then I saw how teeny-tiny the tablets were, and I decided to just try sticking them in his food instead, thinking he might swallow them down unnoticed. It didn't work (not sure how he avoided them, but they were still in the dish last time I looked), so I guess we'll try the powder in the morning. My main concern is that it will taste too bitter and he won't eat more than a mouthful, which is what happened with the liquid. I may mix in a healthy amount of crumbled-up freeze-dried tuna to try and help mask any flavor.
 
I did - and when I went to drop off my prescription, they took my membership information (from the brand-new membership card I had picked up before going in). I asked the tech who checked me out if there was a mistake, and he just shrugged and said "it's expensive." I had to hurry out of there in order to make the vet appointment on time, but yeah, I am planning to look into this later! It's good to know that their customer service is good! But I did wonder about state-specific pricing. In which case ... ugh.


I will, but sometime after Christmas, I think. 😅


I went to the one in Everett - it's closest to me.

The capsules are one of the two types I got from the vet. I had meant to try them tonight, but then I saw how teeny-tiny the tablets were, and I decided to just try sticking them in his food instead, thinking he might swallow them down unnoticed. It didn't work (not sure how he avoided them, but they were still in the dish last time I looked), so I guess we'll try the powder in the morning. My main concern is that it will taste too bitter and he won't eat more than a mouthful, which is what happened with the liquid. I may mix in a healthy amount of crumbled-up freeze-dried tuna to try and help mask any flavor.
Try the gaba in a smaller amount of food, not his main meal) with all the goodies added in 🤞
 
I wonder if Waltham is closer? A pain to get to by bus but doable and you'd need to ride your bike from the closest bus stop the rest of the way to the store.

At least to Leroy, gabapentin has no taste. I've given him whole capsules and the powder directly. He just gobbles it down. I actually need to give him gabapentin with his next snack. He needs his claws clipped and he no longer lets me do it without turning into a 👿
 
Back
Top