12/21 Zeke PMPS 139;+4.5=65;+7.5=91

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Noooooo. The carbs from last night should have been out of his system by now. I took the reduction (just for this shot) to 1.5u as advised but I'm so very upset right now. He was doing so well and now I don't know if his BG is gonna keep rising. On top of that, we'll probably see a bounce because of the huge jump of 131 from last night's low of 44 to this morning's AMPS of 171. I'm regretting the carbs from last right now. I hope what I'm feeling is all for nothing. I feel sick.

Yesterday's condo
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171 :-( CARBS

Hi Laura,
Please don't feel sick! Feel proud, you did what you needed to do to keep your boy safe!! This may be a bounce, and it may clear quickly. You are doing so good with Zeke. He will come back down and once in a while, a pokey break is nice :-D

Have a great Caturday!
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171 :-( CARBS

Hi Laura,

I think you did the right thing Laura. Keeping Zeke safe is our first priority. He may surprise you and come right down again. Let's see.
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171 :-( CARBS

I must be missing something here. That's not a bad AMPS at all! Scroll through your SS (especially if you shrink it so the numbers aren't visible.) Zeke's numbers look good and are trending into the lower ranges.

Also, a drop from 131 to 44 isn't all that huge. Just a week or so ago Gabby started at 307 and the nadir was 86. I also don't see a 131 from last night or any time yesterday.
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171 :-( CARBS

I agree with Sienne. Zeke has been looking very good?! And getting him up from a potentially dangerous area is a priority. Don't be hard on yourself Laura, and don't try to rush the process. Bouncing is a regular and normal process in this. His body will do what it feels it needs to in order to help keep Zeke safe (with your help), and our hope is that with time and careful management, the nice flat cycles will start to be the new norm ;-)
In the meantime, remember "This is a marathon, not a sprint"
Chin up friend! You are doing a wonderful job with him and don't you forget it! ;-) :-D
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171 :-( CARBS

Laura,
Probably 90% of the beans here would be thrilled with an AMPS of 171 :-)

Like I said last night, this is NOT leftover carbs from last night. Those carbs are long gone.

This might be Zeke's current version of a "bounce". If so, it's a teenie one. Had you not given multiple servings of gravy or HC food last night he may have gone lower, and bounced higher.

Zeke has been in green numbers a lot lately. But you have had to struggle to keep his numbers up for a lot of that time. The insulin was almost "working too well". Lowering the dose was the right choice.

Let this play out and see what happens. But I can tell you that I am smiling, and you should be too.

Carl
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171; +2 = 138; +4 = 56

Offered him up food after the 56 but he wouldn't take it. Gave 1 tsp 22% gravy and 2 drops of maple syrup.
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171; +2 = 138; +4 = 56

At work so I can't post much.
56 is great, and so is the 70.
Just offer some regular LC food if he wants some. Surfing between 60 and 80 is a good place for him to be:-)
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171; +2 = 138; +4 = 56

MrZ said:
I'm regretting the carbs from last night right now.

Actually, it was only the carbs that I gave at +4.5 last night that I was kinda wishing I could take back because I worried that they may have contributed to his PS number being worse than the ones he'd been getting in the last 72 hours (greens which I was so happy about - what I see as progress that I don't want to jeopardize). I was thinking that maybe I could have held off on giving him that amount of MC carbs that late in the cycle, especially since he had already come up.

The carbs earlier I don't regret at all - that's what he needed to get to a safe number. I don't have any hesitation giving him HC when needed. In fact, I just gave him 22% gravy and maple syrup at +4 this cycle because he had dropped to 56 and I didn't want to risk him going lower.

BTW - This morning's post was equivalent to "drunk texting an ex". I think lack of sleep, along with the extreme stress brought on by the recent (increased) frequent testing and unnerving battle with low numbers, turned me into an emotional-volatile basket case, with itchy fingers eager to vent without filter. I DO ABSOLUTELY recognize that Zeke has made great progress and appears to be on a path to a state of wellbeing. I am very :-D :-D :-D :-D about that. I could not have helped Zeke get to this point without the advice of our FDMB family. THANK YOU.
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171;+2=138;+4=56; +7=93 Dose?

Hi LL -

Dosing question for you. I'm thinking it should be ok to go up to 1.75u for tonight's shot. Would you agree?

Hopefully, today's lower dose drained the shed enough that, if I go ahead and shoot the increase dose of 1.75u tonight, I won't be fighting the drops like I have been the previous six cycles. Although, he did drop to 56 today, all the way from 171 PS, the gravy and maple syrup was immediately effective in getting him to a safe number (something that wasn't the case last couple of days). I'll be home tonight, with all the required supplies.

I know I hold the syringe, and I'm leaning towards shooting the 1.75u, but I wanted to get your opinion. Would appreciate. Thanks.
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171;+4=56;~+9=103 Dose Question?

I would suggest keeping the lower dose for several reasons. First, you've been carbing the heck out of the numbers in the 40s. Second, dose hopping results in really wonky numbers. Let's see what Zeke does with this dose. Finally, and most importantly, Zeke's nadir this cycle was in the 50s. That's a really good nadir. Your dosing should be based on where the nadir falls -- not on the pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171;+4=56;~+9=103 Dose Question?

I agree with sticking with 1.5u.

You are right, the depot at this point might be having an effect. But it's impossible to know for certain. Zeke did great on this dose today.

The reason you don't want to "dose hop" - In order to work effectively, the depot needs to settle to a certain level. That can take several cycles at times. If you switch doses frequently, it never settles, and you can't ever determine if a dose is working well on its own merits.

I think I would stick with 1.5u until you can tell for certain that it isn't working. Just because it may not have worked a couple weeks ago doesn't mean it won't work now. The 2.0 unit dose may have been Zeke's "breakthru dose". He may continue to respond to lower doses moving forward.

This is "patience pants" time :-)
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke AMPS 171;+4=56;~+9=103 Dose Question?

Sienne, I agree about considering the nadir for dosing adjustments. However, I believe the effectiveness of this morning's 1.5u is impacted by the 1.75u and even the s2.0u from the previous six cycles. However, I am willing to see how he does tonight on 1.5u and increase tomorrow if he doesn't surf the greens tonight. I do not want to jump to a reduction prematurely and risk another failed reduction.
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke PMPS 139;+4.5=65 (Let's see how it goes)

Thanks Carl & Sienne, I took your advice and only gave him the 1.5u. I am so glad I did as I'm still having to give him MC food & HC gravy to keep him from going too low. He's having a good cycle this PM. I'm eager to see how he does on the 1.5u once the effect of the prior doses clears his system. I am very pleased with how he is doing but am looking forward to not having to carb him up anymore.
 
Re: 12/21 Zeke PMPS 139;+4.5=65 (Let's see how it goes)

A couple of 65s followed by a couple of "70s". Very nice cycle. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top