12/21 Eddie AMPS 127, +3/47, +9/158, PMPS/154, +6/75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/123, +1/128, +2/109, +3/81, +4/71, +5/65, +6/68, +8.5/99, +9/106, +10.5/128, PMPS/118, +103, +2/72, +3/63, +4/68, +5/78, +6/78, +7/93, +9/86, +10/123
Today: AMPS/127, +1/133, +2/96, +3/47, +3.5/51, +4/56, +5/76, +7/110, +8/135, +9/158, PMPS/154, +1/149, +2/108, +3/78, +4/74, +5/79, +6/75, +7/76

Hi LL,

Eddie had nice AM and PM cycles again yesterday. This morning DH let me sleep in WAY late, and he took care of all Eddie-related activities. He came in to wake me and report that Eddie was at 47 at +3. This time, he didn't panic, and fed a tiny bit of 13% which appeared to be more than enough to bring him up. Eddie's at 110 at +7, without further food intervention so it looks like a bounce is coming. Fingers crossed that he doesn't go too high, or that he turns it back around and double dips at the end of the cycle.

So, this is technically Eddie's 3rd time under 50 on this dose. His first time under 50 on this dose was on the PM cycle of 12/15 and it might have been depot. Suggestions as to whether to take the reduction now or to wait for another dip? And then, if we do take a reduction now, would the recommendation be to take the full quarter unit? The reason I ask is that we used to shave his reductions by 1/8 unit, rather than taking full quarter units, with good results. Of course, the very real risk being that the depot gets ahead of us. Last time we reduced, we shaved by 1/8, after which Eddie hit 30's, and we took another 1/8 unit reduction at the recommendation of Julie the next cycle for a total reduction of 1/4, which he has subsequently held. Proportionately, a full quarter unit reduction seems like so much more these days than it did back when we were in the 2 unit range. This was also why I was recently inquiring about shaving after Eddie had been under 50 twice, as shaving to my mind seems to help ease the transition into the next dose. nailbite_smile

DH has been wrapping Christmas presents today, and amazingly the kitties are not offering much help. I've got a mountain of laundry to do, and cleaning to do before we leave for the holidays. Eddie has been sweet and lovey all morning, asking for scritches and face rubs. We thought we were done shopping, but every year it's the same thing...we take stock of what we've got for everyone, and then say..."Maybe we should get something else for so-and-so...." So, we're not quite done yet. :roll: This is also how we usually spend about twice what we intend to every Christmas. Ah well. :smile:

Have a good day everyone!
 
Re: 12/21 Eddie AMPS 127, +3/47, +6/110 Reduce?

Hi Jen. Eddie has been holding reduction so well. With Max I have to shave or he won't hold them. Whatever you decide to do you can always go back up if he fails which I hope doesn't happen. Now that Max seems to be leveling out I hope he follows Eddie into earning and holding reductions. You have done so well with him!! :-D
 
Re: 12/21 Eddie AMPS 127, +3/47, +6/110 Reduce?

What way are you leaning Jen? Tomorrow is Monday and I presume you are working? I usually factor ability to monitor into the equation if you are thinking about holding a little longer for another below 50. As you said, there's always that worry about the depot getting over full. The other thing to consider is that he popped up fairly easily with the 13%. I'd take that to indicate that you could either wait for another drop (if you can monitor), or you can go with a shave reduction. If you were working hard to get/keep him up, then I'd definitely go for a larger reduction sooner.

Eddie is looking great. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/21 Eddie AMPS 127, +3/47, +6/110, PMPS/154

Eddie is looking great lately. Good luck with whatever you decide on the dose.
 
Re: 12/21 Eddie AMPS 127, +3/47, +6/110, PMPS/154

Hi Elise! I sure hope Eddie can hold this reduction, too! nailbite_smile

Hi Carla - Thanks for stopping by!

Hi Wendy! Thanks for your input. :smile: I went ahead with a shave to 0.75. You're right about working tomorrow, and Eddie's routine lately is to dip (if he's going to) at +3 or +4, when no one is home to catch him during the workweek. If he really gets busy tonight and drops low, which he's done a few times recently immediately following a reduction, we'll take him down another 1/8 unit in the AM.

It looks like Eddie did bounce from the drop today, but not too badly. Either he stayed flat after +9, went back down a bit. I do think Eddie has a tendency to bounce worse if he needs to go down in dose....at least lately anyway. His shot was about 1/2 hour late tonight as we cut it too close running some errands tonight. Forgot that a quick trip to Target for groceries would involve fighting holiday shoppers and holiday checkout lines. Ah well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top