12/21 AMPS 449 & Tawny Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Tawny had a checkup at LVRC Tuesday, 12/20, they are keeping a close eye on the incision site around the e-tube. They also did their own curve. Dr. Amanda still wants to lower her dose to 2.5 (more on that below), I don't/didn't.

Today's visit went really well. Dr. Amanda is happy with the way the incision site looks and is healing. The tube was moving up and down yesterday which is why they had me come in a day early. It was still in place, but moving up and down, so Dr. Amanda put a 2nd "stay" stitch on the other side of it from where she put one the other day to keep it more stablized. Tawny is up to 9.7 lbs, she has gained 3 ozs! We want her around 12-13 lbs.

They checked her ketones today, too: NONE!.

They want to do an "in and out" check (meaning we just pop in for a look and get to go home right away) of her incision site this Friday and another curve in 10-14 days, together with some followup bloodwork to check her liver, etc.

Except for needing to put on a couple of pounds, she looks 150% better. Her eyes are bright, she is inquisitive, talkative and is back to wanting to hold hands. Acting very Tawny-like. She actually purred some this evening. That was very cool.

Dr. Amanda still wants to lower Tawny's dose to 2.5u. Her BGs at the clinic today were 413, 311, 199, 103, 135 and 94. I don't know the exact times but I know the 94 was the last one, probably around amps +10, and Dr. Amanda said Tawny had just eaten right b4 that one and that she was "not comfortable" with that #, that it was a little too low to be safe. She also told me to be sure and get a BG b4 I did her shot tonight! And to not shoot if it was too low. Tawny's PMPS tonight was 340, she ate another 3/4s of a can of Wellness Chicken and then finished off Tinkerbell's Friskies T&G. I shot the full 3u.

Her SS is not up to date. I will do it in the morning. I am really really wore out again and I have a tick bite on my arm that I had to go to the dr. for today myself and it is already almost 1 a.m.

Oh yeah, and they let her eat Meow Mix today. Oh, well.

Desi
 
Re: 12/21 Tawny Update

Hi Tawny,
I'm sure happy that you are doing so much better. You have a super mamabean and she takes good care of you. It's great that you gained some weight. I'm trying to lose a few ounces! (But it's hard during the holidays!). I'll come back and visit your condo later.
love from,
Rusty
 
Re: 12/21 Tawny Update

Good news all 'round! It's worth keeping in mind that most vets are uncomfortable with seeing cats in green numbers. I suspect it's because most people don't test or know how to steer a cycle with food.
 
Re: 12/21 Tawny Update

Hi guys .. I agree, this is a wonderful report on tawny! So happy to hear she is looking and feeling so much better .. I hope she gains those pounds and continues to improve each day ...
 
Re: 12/21 Tawny Update

Thank you for the update! We are all so happy to hear that Tawn is doing so well. I love that she holds hands w/ you! :-D :-D
 
Fantastic update for Tawny. Wonderful that she is doing better. That amps probably reflects the meowmix. LOL. Yes, most vets don't like low numbers. When Tuffy was 90 right before OTJ and getting insulin, Vet said I was going to kill her. He doesn't know the FDMB and the success stories here. Have a good day, hope you are getting some rest. HA HA do I believe that?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top