DD & Tinkerbell
Member Since 2009
Tawny had a checkup at LVRC Tuesday, 12/20, they are keeping a close eye on the incision site around the e-tube. They also did their own curve. Dr. Amanda still wants to lower her dose to 2.5 (more on that below), I don't/didn't.
Today's visit went really well. Dr. Amanda is happy with the way the incision site looks and is healing. The tube was moving up and down yesterday which is why they had me come in a day early. It was still in place, but moving up and down, so Dr. Amanda put a 2nd "stay" stitch on the other side of it from where she put one the other day to keep it more stablized. Tawny is up to 9.7 lbs, she has gained 3 ozs! We want her around 12-13 lbs.
They checked her ketones today, too: NONE!.
They want to do an "in and out" check (meaning we just pop in for a look and get to go home right away) of her incision site this Friday and another curve in 10-14 days, together with some followup bloodwork to check her liver, etc.
Except for needing to put on a couple of pounds, she looks 150% better. Her eyes are bright, she is inquisitive, talkative and is back to wanting to hold hands. Acting very Tawny-like. She actually purred some this evening. That was very cool.
Dr. Amanda still wants to lower Tawny's dose to 2.5u. Her BGs at the clinic today were 413, 311, 199, 103, 135 and 94. I don't know the exact times but I know the 94 was the last one, probably around amps +10, and Dr. Amanda said Tawny had just eaten right b4 that one and that she was "not comfortable" with that #, that it was a little too low to be safe. She also told me to be sure and get a BG b4 I did her shot tonight! And to not shoot if it was too low. Tawny's PMPS tonight was 340, she ate another 3/4s of a can of Wellness Chicken and then finished off Tinkerbell's Friskies T&G. I shot the full 3u.
Her SS is not up to date. I will do it in the morning. I am really really wore out again and I have a tick bite on my arm that I had to go to the dr. for today myself and it is already almost 1 a.m.
Oh yeah, and they let her eat Meow Mix today. Oh, well.
Desi
Today's visit went really well. Dr. Amanda is happy with the way the incision site looks and is healing. The tube was moving up and down yesterday which is why they had me come in a day early. It was still in place, but moving up and down, so Dr. Amanda put a 2nd "stay" stitch on the other side of it from where she put one the other day to keep it more stablized. Tawny is up to 9.7 lbs, she has gained 3 ozs! We want her around 12-13 lbs.
They checked her ketones today, too: NONE!.
They want to do an "in and out" check (meaning we just pop in for a look and get to go home right away) of her incision site this Friday and another curve in 10-14 days, together with some followup bloodwork to check her liver, etc.
Except for needing to put on a couple of pounds, she looks 150% better. Her eyes are bright, she is inquisitive, talkative and is back to wanting to hold hands. Acting very Tawny-like. She actually purred some this evening. That was very cool.
Dr. Amanda still wants to lower Tawny's dose to 2.5u. Her BGs at the clinic today were 413, 311, 199, 103, 135 and 94. I don't know the exact times but I know the 94 was the last one, probably around amps +10, and Dr. Amanda said Tawny had just eaten right b4 that one and that she was "not comfortable" with that #, that it was a little too low to be safe. She also told me to be sure and get a BG b4 I did her shot tonight! And to not shoot if it was too low. Tawny's PMPS tonight was 340, she ate another 3/4s of a can of Wellness Chicken and then finished off Tinkerbell's Friskies T&G. I shot the full 3u.
Her SS is not up to date. I will do it in the morning. I am really really wore out again and I have a tick bite on my arm that I had to go to the dr. for today myself and it is already almost 1 a.m.
Oh yeah, and they let her eat Meow Mix today. Oh, well.
Desi