12/20 Misty AMPS 270 +5 248 PMPS 220 +3 230 Dose?

rowena

Member Since 2019
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-03-misty-amps-259-7-310-pmps-315-amps-364-dose.271412/

Hi all
Misty has remained a bit high on her current dose of 2.75u. I made a mistake on 10 December and forgot to give her the PM shot. I feel terrible because this may have cause the instability and high numbers. I had the syringe there ready, fed her, tested her and just left it.
Should I increase to 3u?
Also, I’d love to go on a holiday and take Misty with us, but it would be a 10 hour drive and she’d stay in a house that formerly had a dog living there. Would that be too much for her? We haven’t had a holiday in 5 years.
thanks and happy holidays/merry Christmas.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) - hi Bron. I hope you have a lovely Christmas and a fulfilling new year. Thanks for helping me through some tough times this year. You have made a difference for us and it is much appreciated.
 
Hi Rowena,
The 10 Dec has a dose in the SS, is that when you meant she didn’t get it? We all forget at some time!

That’s a long drive….even for here!
I think if you think Misty can cope with the long drive it would be fine. some people here take their cat every holiday. I know I would be much happier taking my cats than leaving them with someone else.
Can you keep her safe for that long in the car and test etc? I would look at buying a harness for when you have to open the cage to attend her during the trip. They have some really good safe harnesses now that won’t slip off.
I think the house would be fine, especially if there is no dog there now. Would you keep her inside? She might run away if let out.
We have a link somewhere here about travelling with a cat. I’ll try and find it.
It does look as if she could do with a dose increase. However if you were thinking of going away soon I might wait and see how she goes with the travelling. Do you think she will eat well
I hope you have a very happy Christmas. I’m sure the kids are looking forward to it.
 
Hi Rowena,
The 10 Dec has a dose in the SS, is that when you meant she didn’t get it? We all forget at some time!

That’s a long drive….even for here!
I think if you think Misty can cope with the long drive it would be fine. some people here take their cat every holiday. I know I would be much happier taking my cats than leaving them with someone else.
Can you keep her safe for that long in the car and test etc? I would look at buying a harness for when you have to open the cage to attend her during the trip. They have some really good safe harnesses now that won’t slip off.
I think the house would be fine, especially if there is no dog there now. Would you keep her inside? She might run away if let out.
We have a link somewhere here about travelling with a cat. I’ll try and find it.
It does look as if she could do with a dose increase. However if you were thinking of going away soon I might wait and see how she goes with the travelling. Do you think she will eat well
I hope you have a very happy Christmas. I’m sure the kids are looking forward to it.
Thanks Bron. We wouldn’t be going until mid January so I’m comfortable with increasing the dose now.
She gets stressed travelling to the vet, but after a longer drive maybe she would settle. I would definitely keep her inside once we were there. I was trying to think about feeding/testing/toileting in the car. Her and the kids. I’ll think a bit more about those practicalities.
 
Thanks Bron. We wouldn’t be going until mid January so I’m comfortable with increasing the dose now.
She gets stressed travelling to the vet, but after a longer drive maybe she would settle. I would definitely keep her inside once we were there. I was trying to think about feeding/testing/toileting in the car. Her and the kids. I’ll think a bit more about those practicalities.
It might be worth while asking on a local fb page if someone has a larger carrier for the car where you could put in the kitty litter and food. People buy them for when they have new puppies to train them.
You could start a new thread over on main health page with the subject line something like
“Any hints on travelling in car with cat for 10 hours”
I’m sure you would get responses.
 
Back
Top