12.20 Macho amps 345

Status
Not open for further replies.
You’re welcome. I’m so happy he’s improving. I saw that you got an RX for a Libre. Will you be getting one? Are you able to put it on yourself? It would help at night but there are problems with them. They don’t always last for the full two weeks I think the manufacturer says they will. Some cats don’t tolerate them. Some manage to get them off but covering with a tee shirt helps.

Some thoughts I have here. Many cats go lower at night. My cat did! Are you still using the auto feeder? I know you are trying to help Macho lose weight. You can just feed him smaller amounts more often but the desired amount overall. You don’t want to feed past nadir though unless low as it can cut into duration. I think his nadir is later in the cycle. Now that he’s broken through insulin resistance it would be good to get a +9-10 when possible and feed him a little if low so there won’t be a need to skip at pmps. Yesterday he decided to go lower during the day though. That’s cats for you. :banghead: Al is an amazing kid. Kudos to you for raising two wonderful children.
 
You’re welcome. I’m so happy he’s improving. I saw that you got an RX for a Libre. Will you be getting one? Are you able to put it on yourself? It would help at night but there are problems with them. They don’t always last for the full two weeks I think the manufacturer says they will. Some cats don’t tolerate them. Some manage to get them off but covering with a tee shirt helps.

Some thoughts I have here. Many cats go lower at night. My cat did! Are you still using the auto feeder? I know you are trying to help Macho lose weight. You can just feed him smaller amounts more often but the desired amount overall. You don’t want to feed past nadir though unless low as it can cut into duration. I think his nadir is later in the cycle. Now that he’s broken through insulin resistance it would be good to get a +9-10 when possible and feed him a little if low so there won’t be a need to skip at pmps. Yesterday he decided to go lower during the day though. That’s cats for you. :banghead: Al is an amazing kid. Kudos to you for raising two wonderful children.

Hi,

Yes we got a new prescription for the libre, but the vet told us to wait until his lab results.
I don't think macho is going to let us put it. He is very strong and big. He had it twice once came off and indeed they put him a straitjacket.
i'm waiting for the vet to call me ( should be today or tomorrow) to take him in so he can put it.
we are leaving on 22 to be with the family we are coming back in a week.
thats why we asked for the Libre.

yes, we have the Catmate 500 although with raw food, he is not that hungry at night. He has stopped to be that hungry. which is great.
we give him ff pate just a little with the miralax.

Macho fooled us by going to Clara and everyone asking for more food. that is how he gained 3 more pounds.

Thank you again the vet was impressed on how you guys helped my kids.
and yes Al and Clara are just great kids.

Garcia
 
He’s eating less with better numbers too! They usually get very hungry under 50 though. Was he last night? Who will care for Macho while you are on vacation? Will he get shots only or any testing? He might need a vacation dose. If so we should start that tonight.
 
He’s eating less with better numbers too! They usually get very hungry under 50 though. Was he last night? Who will care for Macho while you are on vacation? Will he get shots only or any testing? He might need a vacation dose. If so we should start that tonight.

Al can tell you how Macho was last night.
The truth is that raw food has changed the game for good.
A friend is going to stay here thats why we want to get the sensor libre.
He will get the shots and we are waiting for the vet to calls us before we leave otherwise i might try to shave him and put it.

Garcia.
 
That’s wonderful! Will your friend post if help is needed?

No. He is not that on computers.
That why i'm really want to get him the sensor before we leave. I want to keep it simple and just feed macho, check his bg with the sensor and insulin.
I haven't heard from the vet, so i call them tomorrow morning to see if they have the lab results.

If anything what its the vacation dose?.

Garcia
 
When people go away and the cat is not tested at all or only has someone there at shot time they give a reduced dose so that there’s no danger of a hypo. If he has the Libre and a phone to scan it might not be necessary. If you want to play it very safe you could lower the dose to 5.0 or 4.5 while you are away.
 
When people go away and the cat is not tested at all or only has someone there at shot time they give a reduced dose so that there’s no danger of a hypo. If he has the Libre and a phone to scan it might not be necessary. If you want to play it very safe you could lower the dose to 5.0 or 4.5 while you are away.
HI @tiffmaxee
Macho got 211.
what should i do give him 5.5?
AL
 
When people go away and the cat is not tested at all or only has someone there at shot time they give a reduced dose so that there’s no danger of a hypo. If he has the Libre and a phone to scan it might not be necessary. If you want to play it very safe you could lower the dose to 5.0 or 4.5 while you are away.

I wish it could be done in the house, but for let the vet do it we have to give him a pill (the vet prescribed ) so macho don't fight and be calm.
I hope the vet calls us tomorrow so we can take him in and get the sensor.
AL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top