12/2 Luna AMPS 312 - Dosing while on vacation?

Elle & Luna

Member Since 2023
previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-29-luna-amps-428-4-300.284082/#post-3127905

Hi! I had a Libre 3 sensor put on my cat on Wednesday afternoon and it unfortunately has fallen off this morning. I got it because I am leaving for vacation tomorrow for a week and my sitter does not have experience and isn't comfortable with BG pricks.

I filled out my spreadsheet with some of the Libre numbers. It's been about 6 days with her being on 1.5 U twice daily.

I am going to ask the sitter about pricking tomorrow and see if she will be open to it - obviously this is not ideal whatsoever since my original plan was to use the Libre. If she says no, does the dose seem okay for her to give blindly? I know it's hard to say without much data but from what I have seen I think she would be okay.

The sitter is coming twice a day, AM/PM for 30 min. I have another friend who is going to stop in once a day ish also just to check in on the cats. I just am full of anxiety now as I really loved that I could check her numbers remotely while I wasn't home and just feel like I wasted so much money and effort bringing her to the vet to get that put on. I have a replacement hopefully coming but there's not much point now since I leave tomorrow and can't put it on myself.
 
previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-29-luna-amps-428-4-300.284082/#post-3127905

Hi! I had a Libre 3 sensor put on my cat on Wednesday afternoon and it unfortunately has fallen off this morning. I got it because I am leaving for vacation tomorrow for a week and my sitter does not have experience and isn't comfortable with BG pricks.

I filled out my spreadsheet with some of the Libre numbers. It's been about 6 days with her being on 1.5 U twice daily.

I am going to ask the sitter about pricking tomorrow and see if she will be open to it - obviously this is not ideal whatsoever since my original plan was to use the Libre. If she says no, does the dose seem okay for her to give blindly? I know it's hard to say without much data but from what I have seen I think she would be okay.

The sitter is coming twice a day, AM/PM for 30 min. I have another friend who is going to stop in once a day ish also just to check in on the cats. I just am full of anxiety now as I really loved that I could check her numbers remotely while I wasn't home and just feel like I wasted so much money and effort bringing her to the vet to get that put on. I have a replacement hopefully coming but there's not much point now since I leave tomorrow and can't put it on myself.
I know it’s last minute and a long shot, but could you get a script from your vet called to a local pharmacy and pick up the Libre? You could try put it on yourself. There are videos online how to do it (I put the Libre in myself) and I cover it with a tee shirt so she can’t pull it off)
You could check the Facebook group Freestyle Libre for Dogs & Cats.
They have instructions and videos to help. I know it’s a long shot and you’re short on time. :bighug:Here’s my cat with her tee shirt (a 12 month baby sized tee)
upload_2023-12-2_9-24-16.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-2_9-24-16.jpeg
    upload_2023-12-2_9-24-16.jpeg
    66.1 KB · Views: 140
I know it’s last minute and a long shot, but could you get a script from your vet called to a local pharmacy and pick up the Libre? You could try put it on yourself. There are videos online how to do it (I put the Libre in myself) and I cover it with a tee shirt so she can’t pull it off)
You could check the Facebook group Freestyle Libre for Dogs & Cats.
They have instructions and videos to help. I know it’s a long shot and you’re short on time. :bighug:Here’s my cat with her tee shirt (a 12 month baby sized tee)
View attachment 68187

They're closed today unfortunately and the emergency vet center can't send a prescription since they haven't seen Luna in person before :( so doesn't seem like that will be possible.

Yeah the t-shirt looks like it'd help, Luna scratches a LOT so she probably will need something covering it if I do the Libre again. I do want to see if I can eventually do it myself since it's just a lot of effort and stress to bring her to the vet every time, especially if it's rare to get a full two weeks. She just hated the shaving part more than anything
 
You should not have to pay for a replacement. It's supposed to be good for 2 weeks. Could you get Ivy back to the vet for them to reapply it?

I've sent in a support message to Abbott to get a replacement but it's going to take 2-3 days to arrive which is too late. I don't mind also paying for a new one just this once but my vet is closed for the weekend so she's not available to call in another one to the pharmacy
 
Last edited:
I've sent in a support message to Abbott to get a replacement but it's going to take 2-3 days to arrive which is too late. I don't mind also paying for a new one just this once but my vet is closed for the weekend so she's not available to call in another one to the pharmacy
Sienne is correct, they will replace it when it fails or falls off.
Also, only tell them it’s your sensor, not for a pet, or they won’t replace it.
The stress is why I install them myself. Plus it’s too hard to take my girl in all the time. It’s worth it to learn how to do it if you want to use them.
I’ve also had to replace them at midnight or other crazy times. So I always have several backups in the house with all my supplies. :arghh:
 
One of the challenges unfortunately as you’ve noted is that you are still new to collecting data, and you’ve had some interesting dosing going on :). Depending on the numbers, typically it’s a good idea to reduce a few days before you go so you can see what that reduced dose is doing, and perhaps to reduce the depot a little. 1.5u was getting mid to high blues before the Libre, which was ok, but then you got down to 85 last night, which would be a reduction with SLGS to 1.25u.

With that high green, I wouldn’t stay with 1.5u while you are gone, I’d reduce to 1.25u even if the pet sitter was testing, although again there is limited data. I would also suggest you leave a sample syringe with coloured liquid in it so your pet sitter has that to compare to get that dose correctly. There is also perhaps a consideration of whether your cat’s interest in eating may be off while you are gone. If that is a possible factor, I would reduce further to 1u. Safety comes first, better a day too high than a minute too low.
 
Back
Top