12/19- Kitkat AMPS 158, PMPS 108

Melinda and Kitkat

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dec18-kitkat-10-167-amps-131-4-97-pmps-108.271998/

Kitkat is great this morning. Has been for several days now. Now down to 0.75 U
I am thinking a reduction of another 0.25 is safe, since I had to skip a shot again last night. Still searching for the magic dosage? Not gonna use the R-word just yet, or even look over there.

I dosed him 0.5 this morning. If I am premature in doing this, I will adjust it back for the PM. ??
 
Let’s see how it goes. It just might be the right dose. How much DM dry is he getting now? That is helping as well. Does he like the wet food?
 
1/8 cup set out at bedtime. (DM dry)
We've eliminated the 1/8 cup he got midday (between meals) as he barely nibbles it.
Loves the wet!
Been doing FF Liver and Chicken a few times a week, as Dr Lisa recommends.
Found a new treat, Orijen brand freeze dried duck (50% duck, 49.9% duck liver) and he gets 1 or 2 of these now for BG tests
Also Purebites Chicken
 
Update: Kitkat is being particularly difficult today to test. (to put it mildly!). Tried for the +2 and again at +4 (several attempts for both).
Matt has now hit his patience level for the day ( Kitkat too, he's now hiding in the basement) so we will unfortunately have to give it a rest for the day and get him for PMPS. (for sanity's sake)
It would have been really great to get some data points today, his SS is spotty. "Cattitude" has other plans, unfortunately.
 
I’m sorry to hear that Kitkat is being uncooperative. Are you giving him lots of treats, singing when you do the test….that makes him think you are relaxed, doing it in the same place?
I’m going to send Max a pair of patience pants…..I went through several pairs! Feline diabetes taught me about patience.;)
Kitkat is doing so well but we really do need to see more tests during the cycles, so we can gauge the dose. The extra effect will be worth it in the end. if he goes into remission we need a strong remission so that it lasts and that means an extra effort at the moment.
Here are the patience pants.
upload_2022-12-20_9-3-55.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-20_9-3-55.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-20_9-3-55.jpeg
    40.3 KB · Views: 102
Hi Bron,
Why can't I hit the 'like' button 10 times on that one? lol!!! "We" most certainly DO need to do more. It shall come! Baby steps still.
I JUST learned from Diane Tyler's mom about the curve in the lancet now, from a post in the general forum. Man oh man, how did we miss that?

Matt is calm, for the first few attempts anyways. He gets him in 1 of 2 spots: (his favorite S-shaped cat scratchy chair), strokes and talks to him for at least a minute or 2. Ear rubs and such. He did have some success there. Not anymore. Spot 2: on the floor, between his knees, gently restrained, gentle talking, pets and stokes. Floor is definitely the go-to spot now.
No shortage of treats after a nice test, or even a mediocre test session.
 
I tested freehand and didn’t use a lancing device. My vet taught me using a needle which is how he preferred testy and I used terumo 25 gauge needles which are very sharp.
 
I suspect holding the lancet correctly will make a nice difference in Kitkat's reaction. Very High hopes for this!
From day dot Kitkat has not been cooperative, but he is definitely becoming more tolerant of the procedure.
He does wince at the poke most times, tries to flick his head around, and/or fights back with claws out. Matt has done more reading and has adjusted his technique. It still is heart-wrenching when the poke goes bad and the second attempt is even worse for Kitkat.

Blood is getting easier, monitor is easy, that poke somehow still elludes us. (Lancet curve! lancet curve! ) Any further advice is MOST welcome.
 
Would a treat for Matt as well work? We often suggest a box of chocolates for the CG!
Same principle would work….a treat for each time whether it is successful or not. I’d be all for that one!
 
I will ask him about starting tomorrow, hopefully one or 2 am cycle tests as well.
sorry, about the best I got as an answer for you right now. I will keep nudging him,,,he'll come around :blackeye:
 
I will ask him about starting tomorrow, hopefully one or 2 am cycle tests as well.
sorry, about the best I got as an answer for you right now. I will keep nudging him,,,he'll come around :blackeye:
I understand. I just want what’s best for Kitkat.
Have you managed to move the schedule back to an earlier timeslot yet so testing at night will be earlier?
As you have skipped tonight, you could move it to an earlier time slot in the morning.
 
Back
Top