? 12/19 Bailie amps 71 +10 509

Nancyco*

Member Since 2023
Hi, I tested Bailey and his 4.4 I don’t know what to do. I don’t know if I should shoot or not that’s pretty low. Can somebody please give me some answers I’m worried.
 
OK. That's too low to shoot if you are following SLGS. Give him some more food now. His shot is now almost an hour overdue?
 
Then I waited 20 minutes tested him again. He only had a couple of licks of food and I took it away. I tested him again after 20 minutes and he was 4.8 then I tested him again 25 minutes later after he ate and he was 3.8.
 
No he never does I never actually thought I was allowed to do that ok that’s a great idea so what should I do now should I give I’m a token dose
 
You can feed any time in the day and night except 2 hours before the shot. That's so that you don't get a food influenced PS.

With SLGS you don't shoot if the number is below 90. How long is it since the last test? Did he eat more food after the 3.8?
 
I just know he’s gonna go up really high all day now because he missed a shot. I’ll never get him regulated. I don’t think I’m so worried.
 
Would I be able to go down by half hour increments going forward how much do I shoot
You would go back 15 mins per cycle and 30 mins per day. If that's okay, you could shoot the full dose of 2.75U. Like you said, he will probably go up fast from here without insulin. If you prefer to give a token dose of 1.5U, that's also okay.
 
Please take off the 911 now? Thanks!

Like yesterday morning, please test and feed every hour after giving insulin. You can stop testing if he starts rising sharply.
 
Max never experienced that. He was inclined to be hungrier if going lower. He’d be inappetent if having a pancreatitis bout.
 
You’re doing great Nancy and you got amazing help from @Bandit's Mom
Deep breaths, it can be scary at times but you did everything correctly by asking for help!! Big hugs for you and Bailie!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:[/QUOTE Bailie ended up getting sick and throwing up . I took him to the vet. Where they’re doing bloodwork. I just hope it’s not pancreatitis.
 
I hope he doesn’t. I wasn’t suggesting that he does. It is common with diabetes in cats and unless an acute episode is managed with meds for symptoms. Don’t be terrified. I hope he doesn’t have it though.
 
I Hope Bailie feels better soon.
:bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much so do I . If he does have pancreatitis, will it get better ? How long will
It last ? I noticed that your cat has an enlarged heart? How long has he had that? I’m going through another thing with my other cat my Maine coon. He had a little bit of an elevated pro BMP. And I’m terrified he gets his ultrasound on Thursday. So scared. I’ve got so much going on with my cats.
 
There’s no reason to think he has pancreatitis. If you think he’s nauseous still, ondansetron can help that. Is he eating well now?
 
There’s no reason to think he has pancreatitis. If you think he’s nauseous still, ondansetron can help that. Is he eating well now?
Yes he is he ate I just tested him and he was 3.4 so I gave him some tiki moose and he ate a bit of it. I’m slowly getting this soft food into him finally. I also gave him some freeze dry chicken after I tested him.
 
Yeah, I don’t think knock on wood he’s still nauseous. It was like he was immediately relieved after he threw up to be honest.
 
Thank you so much so do I . If he does have pancreatitis, will it get better ? How long will
It last ? I noticed that your cat has an enlarged heart? How long has he had that? I’m going through another thing with my other cat my Maine coon. He had a little bit of an elevated pro BMP. And I’m terrified he gets his ultrasound on Thursday. So scared. I’ve got so much going on with my cats.

I'm sorry you have so much going on with your fur babies. I understand how scary it is when we don't know what's going on. I am not familiar with pancreatitis, but there are others here that are experienced.

Tango had an x-ray back in May of '21 to check if he had the same condition (pleural effusion) that his sister did, which she died from the previous month. The x-ray did not indicate Tango had PE but did show enlarged heart. The vet said that it was not significant enough to pursue treament. She did say we could have an ultra sound done if we wanted to. We decided to hold not to. We ask the vet whenever we take Tango in. She pretty much says it's up to us what we want to do. Now, Tango has had high blood pressure for about a year and is controlled with meds. His diabetes is manageble. He does have Stage III kidney disease - diagnosed same time as diabetes. His blood work, overall, has been good - kidney values pretty consistent, and, so far, no treatment for KD.

I wish I could be more helpful. Good luck on the ultrasound.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
My cat gets nauesous if he overeats following getting too low. Their stomachs are super small, can only hold a few oz’s of food. Possibilities include a hairball, overeating and puking, or constipation in my experience.

Those are the most likely things if sam pukes. How are Bailie’s poops? I have to give sam miralax or his poops become rocks around cores of hair. Check the poops for clear signs of constipation. When did Bailee last defecate? I see no reason to suspect pancreatitis.

Also; i looked at the SS. Bailee is still adjusting to insulin clearly. They’re bouncing constantly. Don’t be shocked if you see higher numbers this evening. I’d be surprised if you didn’t. It took sam months to stop bouncing. With low numbers i suspect Bailee ate too quickly and puked. That’s just a hunch.

TLDR; my advice would be to

1.) Watch the poops. Are they dry/lacking moisture/full of hair/pellets? If so, consider constipation as a possible cause.

2.) Watch for overeating. Is bailee incessent in demanding food? When you give it to them, are they gobbling it all up and puking after?

3.) Grooming; are they going at it self grooming? Take a cat grooming brush, do a few combs, and see how much hair you got. If there’s a lot or you notice excessive grooming (they’re wet constantly, etc), consider spending 15-20 minutes with a gentle grooming brush grooming them. Bailee looks long haired. That’s a possible cause. Cats puke; it’s common. It doesn’t mean anything is necessarily horribly wrong.

4.) Wait for the vet results. I doubt there’s anything wrong. Everytime Sam has puked it’s been from constipation or overeating/eating while heavily constipated. Take some deep breaths, do some meditation if that’s your thing (it helps me to do mindful breathing), i’m pretty confident it’ll be okay. Wishing you the best. I know the anxiety when your little fur baby isn’t well. It’ll be okay.
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry you have so much going on with your fur babies. I understand how scary it is when we don't know what's going on. I am not familiar with pancreatitis, but there are others here that are experienced.

Tango had an x-ray back in May of '21 to check if he had the same condition (pleural effusion) that his sister did, which she died from the previous month. The x-ray did not indicate Tango had PE but did show enlarged heart. The vet said that it was not significant enough to pursue treament. She did say we could have an ultra sound done if we wanted to. We decided to hold not to. We ask the vet whenever we take Tango in. She pretty much says it's up to us what we want to do. Now, Tango has had high blood pressure for about a year and is controlled with meds. His diabetes is manageble. He does have Stage III kidney disease - diagnosed same time as diabetes. His blood work, overall, has been good - kidney values pretty consistent, and, so far, no treatment for KD.

I wish I could be more helpful. Good luck on the ultrasound.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much .On a very positive note Bailies Bloodwork came back and all is excellent.I’m so relieved now I hope I get some good news with my Maine Coon Larry .Please sent some good vibes
 
My cat gets nauesous if he overeats following getting too low. Their stomachs are super small, can only hold a few oz’s of food. Possibilities include a hairball, overeating and puking, or constipation in my experience.

Those are the most likely things if sam pukes. How are Bailie’s poops? I have to give sam miralax or his poops become rocks around cores of hair. Check the poops for clear signs of constipation. When did Bailee last defecate? I see no reason to suspect pancreatitis.

Also; i looked at the SS. Bailee is still adjusting to insulin clearly. They’re bouncing constantly. Don’t be shocked if you see higher numbers this evening. I’d be surprised if you didn’t. It took sam months to stop bouncing. With low numbers i suspect Bailee ate too quickly and puked. That’s just a hunch.

TLDR; my advice would be to

1.) Watch the poops. Are they dry/lacking moisture/full of hair/pellets? If so, consider constipation as a possible cause.

2.) Watch for overeating. Is bailee incessent in demanding food? When you give it to them, are they gobbling it all up and puking after?

3.) Grooming; are they going at it self grooming? Take a cat grooming brush, do a few combs, and see how much hair you got. If there’s a lot or you notice excessive grooming (they’re wet constantly, etc), consider spending 15-20 minutes with a gentle grooming brush grooming them. Bailee looks long haired. That’s a possible cause. Cats puke; it’s common. It doesn’t mean anything is necessarily horribly wrong.

4.) Wait for the vet results. I doubt there’s anything wrong. Everytime Sam has puked it’s been from constipation or overeating/eating while heavily constipated. Take some deep breaths, do some meditation if that’s your thing (it helps me to do mindful breathing), i’m pretty confident it’ll be okay. Wishing you the best. I know the anxiety when your little fur baby isn’t well. It’ll be okay.
Hi thanks so much for your response. I got the blood test results and they’re all fantastic. Which is great so that’s a big load off. Bailey poops about every second day the odd time he will do two days in a row. They’re good poops large. For a while there he was constipated though, and he had to get an enema. But he’s been good ever cents. I think he’s just getting used to the food now. I brush them every single day. When he threw up this morning it was about an hour and a half after he had eaten. And maybe you’re right maybe it was because he was so low. Thanks so much for all your recommendations, I really appreciate them.
 
So can somebody please explain this? Is this really dangerous? I have two more hours before I have to give him his shot. And his shot was put down .25 today to 2.75.
 
What tests were run? Did you get a copy emailed to you? Was it sent to a lab or done in house? I’m glad the nausea is gone.
 
Back
Top