12/18 Whiskers 150AMPS392+2 300+4 184+6 137+9 360 PMPS 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)

Member Since 2010
Well this is very strange to me. Our +9 was 360 than PMPS went down to 326. Is this normal?

Cheryl confused_cat

137Our vet now has access to Whiskers SS. I just got an email from him.

"Hi, I left a message on your machine. I think the worsening values may be secondary to the recent bout of pancreatitis. Pancreatitis can injure pancreatic Beta cells causing decreased insulin production. It looks like since the pancreatitis the best values have been on the 2.0 U twice a day. At this time I think a dose of 1.5-2 units twice a day is the best course. Ideally an hourly glucose curve would be best but whiskers may not allow for that. " Dr. Kris Evans

His diagnosis and recommendations are contrary to the lantus protocol. Since she has pancreatitis, I would like input on this from FDMB members.

I told our vet I was doing a curve today.
 
Re: 12/18 Whiskers PMPS +4 150 AMPS 392 message from our vet

usually when a cat starts hitting blue numbers, we slow down the dose increases. We try to wait at least 10 cycles (5 days) on a dose that shows us blue, just to see whether the cat decides to go back to blue after any bounce clears, or if they will bounce and stay high. Lantus and Levemir Tight Regulation Protocols

Today's cycle will most likely reflect a bounce off of last night's lower than usual numbers. Yes, they can bounce even when they don't go very low, and we don't exactly know how low this dose is taking Whiskers.

My suggestion would be to not necessarily do a whole curve today because if he is in a bounce it won't give you much information. Get some spot checks, though, and get more tonight and tomorrow and maybe even tomorrow night (and preshot readings before every shot, of course). THEN we'll have a better idea of what Whiskers is doing with this dose, and whether it is a good idea to increase the dose. A curve done all in one cycle doesn't give you nearly the amount of data that the same number of tests spread out over 2-3 days does.
 
Re: 12/18 Whiskers PMPS +4 150 AMPS 392 message from our vet

When was Whiskers diagnosed with pancreatitis? I totally missed that. Are there any other health issues going on?

I agree with Libby. What would make sense to me, is to let the bounce clear so you can evaluate the dose. Since Whiskers is currently at 1.25u and your vet would like to seem him in the 1.50 - 2.0u range, according to the protocol, if Whiskers needs an increase, you'll be right in the range your vet is suggesting.
 
Re: 12/18 Whiskers PMPS +4 150 AMPS 392 +2 300 +4 184 vet m

I have added her Diagnosis of FD and Pancreatitis to our signature, I was not sure how to do it, but was just able to figure it out. She was diagnosed with Pancreatitis and well as having her 2nd urinary tract infection about 3 weeks ago. She also has hypertension.
I have got a lot of good advise including getting more BG's and doing a curve. So now I am really confused. Don't do a curve, spot check. I'm checking every 2 hours. Also our vet had a diabetic cat which he treated with lantus. I like him. He has taken many phone call's & emails in addition to our clinic visits and is very responsive to any idea's suggestions and questions I have. I also appreciate all the FDMB members advise and have to figure out what is best for Whiskers, which is why I joined. Thank you again.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32356
 
Re: 12/18 Whiskers PMPS +4 150 AMPS 392 +2 300 +4 184 vet m

dosing is ultimately your decision, obviously. You hold the syringe, and nobody else, not your vet, not anybody on this forum, can decide what feels right for you and Whiskers. This is an internet forum so we can only make recommendations based on data and our experience with what that data shows us. That is why you won't find folks in LL who are comfortable suggesting dose increases without data to back that suggestion. If you read through other cats' threads today, I bet you'll find me in other condos telling folks to get more data too. :mrgreen:

It doesn't hurt anything to do a curve today. There is something to learn from every test. In fact, by doing it you have already learned something. You have learned that Whiskers is clearing his bounce very quickly.
 
Re: 12/18 Whiskers PMPS +4 150 AMPS 392 +2 300 +4 184 vet m

Hi Cheryl,
Do you have a copy of the test results for Whiskers? If you do, can you check to see what is the value for the fPLI test on the results? I think any number about 3.5 is considered positive for pancreatitis, and what did you vet have you do to treat it?
On my test results, the fPLI result is usually near the bottom below the other b/w results.
 
Re: 12/18 Whiskers PMPS +4 150 AMPS 392 +2 300 +4 184 vet m

Hi Gayle,

I checked or veterinary reciepts and they do not include a fPLI value, I can ask the vet for test result records on Monday. The vet gave two injections, one antibiotic and one anti-nausea.
 
Re: 12/1 Whisker PMPS+4 150AMPS392+2 300+4 184+6 137+9 360

It's perfectly normal. It's hard to see the higher numbers but Whiskers comes down from those bounces very quickly. It can sometimes take 72 hours for a bounce to clear and Whiskers clears them in an afternoon.
 
Re: 12/1 Whisker PMPS+4 150AMPS392+2 300+4 184+6 137+9 360

You don't want to increase a dose when your cat is bouncing. Once the bounce breaks, you could be giving too much insulin so it's best to wait for the bounce to clear in order to evaluate the dose. Also, when you are seeing numbers that are below 200 at the nadir, you would want to hold the dose a little longer. That's the long way of saying that unless there is some dramatic change, shoot the 1.25u. Remember, Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle, not your pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: 12/81 Whiskers 150AMPS392+2 300+4 184+6 137+9 360 PMPS 3

Ok will shoot PMPS 1.25 units. something very strange to me, our +9 was 360 than PMPS 326. Is this unusual?
 
Re: 12/81 Whiskers 150AMPS392+2 300+4 184+6 137+9 360 PMPS 3

It's not unusual at all. We refer to it as a "double dip."

It's something to be attentive to if Whisker's numbers were in the low blues or greens. When you have lower numbers, you don't necessarily want to shoot when numbers are dropping. With pink numbers, you have much more room.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top