Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)
Member Since 2010
Well this is very strange to me. Our +9 was 360 than PMPS went down to 326. Is this normal?
Cheryl confused_cat
137Our vet now has access to Whiskers SS. I just got an email from him.
"Hi, I left a message on your machine. I think the worsening values may be secondary to the recent bout of pancreatitis. Pancreatitis can injure pancreatic Beta cells causing decreased insulin production. It looks like since the pancreatitis the best values have been on the 2.0 U twice a day. At this time I think a dose of 1.5-2 units twice a day is the best course. Ideally an hourly glucose curve would be best but whiskers may not allow for that. " Dr. Kris Evans
His diagnosis and recommendations are contrary to the lantus protocol. Since she has pancreatitis, I would like input on this from FDMB members.
I told our vet I was doing a curve today.
Cheryl confused_cat
137Our vet now has access to Whiskers SS. I just got an email from him.
"Hi, I left a message on your machine. I think the worsening values may be secondary to the recent bout of pancreatitis. Pancreatitis can injure pancreatic Beta cells causing decreased insulin production. It looks like since the pancreatitis the best values have been on the 2.0 U twice a day. At this time I think a dose of 1.5-2 units twice a day is the best course. Ideally an hourly glucose curve would be best but whiskers may not allow for that. " Dr. Kris Evans
His diagnosis and recommendations are contrary to the lantus protocol. Since she has pancreatitis, I would like input on this from FDMB members.
I told our vet I was doing a curve today.