12/18 Titus reduce or ride?

SarahTitus

Member Since 2019
Hello,

Tomorrow will be day 7 of greens on 1.25 dose. Should I hold this dose a little longer or try another reduction? The lowest number he’s had on this dose is 53, the highest is 94 after eating. I don’t want to reduce too soon, but I know standard is 7 days.

I think he gave me his answer: pmps was 166. That’s a weird number for him so I’m wondering if it’s because I tried and failed at least 4 times to get a read at +10.5 and he’s annoyed? Would it impact his number that span of time? Going to get a +1 or 2.

Thanks!
 
Last edited:
From the dosing methods sticky:

Reducing the dose:
Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week

That's just me copying/pasting from the sticky, as I don't give dosing advice. I haven't been given the opportunity for Moey to earn this type of reduction yet.
You may want to start your condo, tomorrow morning, well ahead of Titus' shot time. This way you can get input from the experienced peeps on the board. Hopefully my comment will give you the bump needed to get some advice:) GL:cool:
 
If you are comfortable shooting this low and will be able to be home to monitor and have supplies (strips and HC food), it's fine to shoot. With TR, the goal is shoot low to stay low. You've shot numbers in the 50s before. I would probably take the reduction from yesterday, though (i.e., use a 1.0u dose). I think your PMPS yesterday was an aberation.

I was typing as you posted. If you're not going to be home to test, you can test at +1 and +2 and leave out HC food. Do you feel like you know how Titus responds sufficiently well to do this, though? If not, you may need to skip the shot or reduce even further.
 
My gut says reduce to 1iu, get a +1 and I’ll leave food out. I agree last nights pm was just a weird one. Thank you!!
 
Back
Top