12/18 SUMO PMPS 116 Dosing advice ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Morning, I did not have a chance to post last nite, but Sumo dipped to a 40 PMBG. We left in the morning for San Diego. His AM reading was 324, so dosed his regular 3 units. He refused to eat anything in the car, so I checked him when we arrived (+9) and glucose was 89. I was surprised, thinking that I would see a high number from the stress of traveling. Anyway, Sumo managed to crawl up underneath the couch and bury himself in the back. I could not get him out, so decided to just let him hang out for a few hours. When I checked him for his +12 he was at 40! I immediately fed him FF beef and gave a tsp of honey, while I went to the car to get his HC food. Recheck after 10 min he was at 57. Gave some HC food and within the hour he was at 107. I SKIPPED his PM dose. Checked again prior to bed and he was 214. This morning he was high as I expected 485. +3 324 +5 214. I have not updated his SS, but will when I get home this evening. Sumo has been diving a few times recently, and I am back at work full time. Perhaps I should look into getting a programmed feeder ( to hopefully decrease the low bg''s) and also look at a dose decrease?? I will not be able to post again until tonight, but just wanted to give you the latest on Sumo's road trip.
Thanks, Mary
 
Re: 12/18 SUMO amps 485, last nite PMBG 40!

Mary I think you have had Sumo on a lot of different doses, and right now you are traveling--a 40's number calls for a dose decrease, but in the current situation, it is best to just keep him safe. I think this happened because he didnt eat--Moonie often does this to me!!
I think you also need to remember it takes 72 hours sometimes for a bounce to clear, that is a full 6 cycles..and with him I think you need to wait the full amount of time.
When will you be in a stable place where Sumo can feel relaxed & in a apt
or house?--I think his numbers will improve then...Hope other members will add their ideas and then you can talk about the dose..Travel safe! Hugs & love from us!!
 
Re: 12/18 SUMO +11 126 Dosing advice ?

We are now home, and Sumo is at 126 at +11 I will check his PMBG in about 20minutes. If he remains close to this number, what would be your recommendation? He currently is on 3 unit BID, but last night he hypo'd at 40 at his PMBG. I got him up with a tsp of honey and some high carb. He was high this morning at 485 amps, gave 3 units, and today +3 324 +5 214 +6 170 +9 102 and +11 126. Sienne you had suggested 2.75. but with his history (on Tueday ambg 70 and Thursday ambg 52) is the .25u enough of a decrease? As always, I appreciate any suggestions.
Thanks alot, Mary
 
Re: 12/18 SUMO +11 126 Dosing advice ?

Hi, stalled waiting for advice, but I guess everyone is at the mall shopping :-)) Because Sumo dipped so low last night, I guess I'm a little gun shy! PMPS 116 so went with 2.5unit, gotta go with my gut, and thats what I did.
Have a nice evening, Mary
 
We don't reduce doses by more than 0.25u (take a look at the protocol). Even with those lowish #s, the reduction is still 0.25u. (Take a look at Gabby's SS on 12/9 for a comparison. FYI - Gabby doesn't get a reduction with #s in the 40s because she's a longer term diabetic.)

Also, unless Sumo had physical symptoms of hypoglycemia, he did not hypo. He was dangling his paws in low numbers but that is not the same as having a hypoglycemic crisis. Gabby was in the 30s the other evening and was just fine. We talk a lot around here about the danger of hypoglycemia and it is something to be very careful about. However, because you are vigilant and you test, the likelihood that Sumo will be symptomatic is small. Remember, the protocol we use would never have been published if it put a cat in danger.
 
Mary I was going to go with the 2.75 but wanted other opinions..Sorry I didnt come back on here before this-
You really need to stick to one dose, as consistancy is very important with lantus!
Now the 2.5 may not be enough to keep him in good numbers & he may go up again--Then again it may be--
See what he is tomorrow & come on here--You cant keep changing the dose, as he needs to get one consistantly for some regulation..When you get a low AM number, you can (If possible) stall a 1/2 hr-1 hour to see if then number goes up...40 is pretty low but........
Because a cat gets a low number(40) doesnt mean they are hypo, it's just low BG & needs attention immediately, AND THE HONEY & food were the absolute right thing..
One day Moonie was 39, just hanging out playing & leisurely relaxing! I looked & :o :shock: @-)
almost choked on my coffee, but she acted just fine!!!
A Hypo the cat looks sick woozy,etc..
So, Tomorrow let's see what his number is , before you shoot --OK?
You really are a devoted bean & are doing well..It will all come together--!Hugs from us!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top