12/17 Lucy PMPS=119;+2=95;+4.5=117 // Back fm Vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

12/16 reduced AMPS=137; +2=131; +2.5=115; +3=121; +8=155
12/16 PMPS=180; +2=184; +4=151; +11.5=112

12/17 AMPS=119; +2=85; +2.5=85; 3=86; +3.5=104; +9=108
12/17 reduced PMPS=119; +2=95; +4.5=117

We are having a better morning today.
I gave her another dose of cypro, 1/4 tablet, 2 hours before breakfast, and she responded to it better this morning.
She ate most of the 1st breakfast quite happily by finger-feeding.
She didn't want the last bits, but finished with some encouragement.
Hopefully she'll keep the appetite through 2nd & 3rd breakfast.

I thought for a moment whether I should further reduce the dose this morning.
She gave me 119 AMPS, and I can't tell if she'll keep eating this morning.
But I didn't reduce.
Cypro was working better this morning, and also the better number may be contributing to her eating better.

I bumped up Lucy's vet appointment from tomorrow evening to this evening.
She was moving/walking so slowly and had no energy yesterday.
Lucy's vet is in surgeries all day today, but agreed to see Lucy at the end of the day, 5pm.
What a nice doctor.

Sending vines to all in need.
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119 // Vet Today

A better WCR on Lucy today cat_pet_icon
And very glad for you that you can get her in today to see the vet.
Hopefully you will get some answers.
I hope you have a great day and it goes by fast Mariko!
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119 // Vet Today

Hi Mariko,

We will be sending good thoughts this afternoon for Lucy's vetty appointment. I hope you get some answers about what may be bothering her.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119 // Vet Today

I'm so glad Lucy is feeing better today, and that you were able to bump up her appointment. Sending tons of good vetty vines your way!
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119 // Vet Today

Thank you very much for your vines and well wishes.

I am happy to report to you that she finished the 2nd breakfast without too much difficulty.
I finger-fed her a tiny ball at a time and offered slowly.
Lucy wasn't terribly interested but she didn't say no thanks.
Team work! :-D And cypro! :-D

So this means she has already eaten 3/4 of her whole breakfast portion.
Good enough amount even if she doesn't eat the 3rd breakfast.
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=85 // Vet Today

Her number has dropped quite a bit at +2, and she doesn't want to eat the 3rd breakfast.
I offered some different things, and she wants none of them.
I am very worried.....
I'll re-test in 30 min....
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=85 // Vet Today

Sending appy vines, and good vetty visit vines to Lucy. I hope the visit will give you some answers, and that you can get Lucy to eat some more. I hope she surfs safe for you :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=85 // Vet Today

I hope Lucy is surfing safely for you today. Sending prayers for a good vetty visit.
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=85;+2.5=85 // Vet Today

Yippee on decent appy for Lucy~ Sending good vetty vines, and yes, your vet does sound like a keeper. Hope you get some answers today Mariko!
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=85;+3=86;+3.5=104 // Vet Today

Mariko, I'm sending good vetty vines. I admit I don't lurk enough to know what's going on with Lucy,
I pray those nice low numbers are pleasing to you, though.
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=85;+3=86;+3.5=104 // Vet Today

Sending tons of good vetty vines your way Mariko! So happy Lucy ate better for you today. So great of your vet to let you come in today!
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=85;+3=86;+3.5=104 // Vet Today

Also wishing very good vetty vines today as well as eating vines, feeling good vines, and mama don't worry vines.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy AMPS=119;+2=85;+3=86;+9=108 // Back fm Vet

We are back from the vet.
The doctor checked below.

- Her temp was normal.
- Her hydration was normal.
- Her abdomen felt normal.
- Her heart beat was normal.
- Her weight was up.
- Blood collected for chemistry and fructosamine.

She knows I home test and adjust insulin dose, and knows that she didn't respond to the last few dose increases and that her dose doubled in the past one month.
She thinks that Lucy may be getting too much insulin than she needs - insulin-induced hyperglycemia.
She knows that I test a lot, but she thinks it's possible that I am missing a sudden steep short-lived drop to a very low number.
She said that you can't always catch such a drop unless you check every minute of every day. (maybe to make me feel less guilty.)
The vet thought this because of the combination of Lucy being lethargic + not reacting to dose increase + increased weight.
It's the "increased weight" part that makes her suspect strongly about too much insulin, and that is why we are getting a fructosamine test.
And she has a point, it's strange that her weight would be up when she's been eating a little less.
Also even though I reduced the dose from 2u to 1.75u due to poor appy, her numbers are looking good today.....

The doctor doesn't say anything against home testing, and I don't think she's against it, but she said she has had other patients who home-test and were in a similar situation.
She didn't say exactly what dose I should give her tonight, she left it to me to decide, but she said to be on a lower side of what I think Lucy needs.
So, in case her theory is right, I think I am going to reduce her dose one more time to 1.5u for tonight and tomorrow morning.
Her appetite can't be trusted, so I don't really want to see green right now anyway.
And tomorrow, I will get the test results, and the vet and I can discuss about this further.
Lucy's vet is open minded, so she's not going to tell me to stop TP, but for now, I think I'll try her suggestion and see how it'll work out.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy PMPS=119 // Back fm Vet

Hi Mariko, no thoughts just checking in on Lucy, sending g big possitive vines for you both, hoping for a better tmro. Take care Linda,Lucky
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy PMPS=119 // Back fm Vet

Hi Mariko,

Don't ever feel guilty about your care of Lucy. You are so in tune with her, it is amazing! Looks like you test quite a bit, but I guess anything is possible. More experienced eyes may have an opinion.

Hope Lucy feels even better tomorrow!
 
Re: 12/17 Lucy PMPS=119;+2=95 // Back fm Vet

I'd like to thank you all very much for your support, well wishes and kind words.

Lucy is feeling and eating much better this evening, even without cypro.
I have a strong positive feeling that she is going to be OK. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top