12/17: Jude: AMPS 421; +4 215; +8 189; PMBG 107; +.50 80; +1 67; PMPS 100; +1 136; +2 152; +4 226

Hoping Jude gets back to business quickly again - he does like to surprise you with lower am preshots occasionally. That's where I always found getting a before bed test helpful, it might have shown he was coming down from those stinky pinkies faster than you were expecting ;)
 
Jude is 107 at his PMPS. What to do? Yesterday he was 155/158 at his AMPS, and I gave him 30% of his regular dose; he was in the 500s by the end of the cycle.
 
Have you fed him? Can you get another test now?

Can you monitor if you give insulin? Have enough supplies and high carb food?
 
With SLGS, you don't shoot below 90. Congrats on another reduction. Please give him some food and I guess it's another skip!
 
With SLGS, you don't shoot below 90. Congrats on another reduction. Please give him some food and I guess it's another skip!

Should I wait until a full hour has passed and test again. As I said, I have some play in his schedule. I've skipped a couple of times recently, and then he goes so high. (THIS CAT! I love him, but he's making me crazy.)
 
Yes, he going to zoom up without insulin. He is one of those cats who has end of cycle (or even later) nadirs when clearing a bounce. If you can monitor, rather than stall without feeding, you want to feed and give the shot (when his preshot is over 90). Stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further, which makes the shooting decision even more difficult. Feeding LC and then waiting for numbers to go up to a level you are comfortable shooting is another option, but that will disrupt your future feeding schedule.
 
Looks like he’s done with 3u. He doesn’t seem to be too bothered after a skip, and gets back to business quickly. Have you tested since that 80?
 
Yes, he going to zoom up without insulin. He is one of those cats who has end of cycle (or even later) nadirs when clearing a bounce. If you can monitor, rather than stall without feeding, you want to feed and give the shot (when his preshot is over 90). Stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further, which makes the shooting decision even more difficult. Feeding LC and then waiting for numbers to go up to a level you are comfortable shooting is another option, but that will disrupt your future feeding schedule.

Okay. To clarify. I want to go ahead and feed him now, test him in a bit, and if he is above...200...? shoot him then?
 
If you can test again in about 15 minutes, but that would put you at where from your preshot?
I'll retest in 10 mins.; that will be +1 from his regular PMPS. And this is okay. One hour is okay right now bc I'm not working. I can ease him back to the regular time by the time I go back to work in January.
 
Good grief :rolleyes:. Still safe, but he’s putting on a show now. It’s not a matter of waiting to get above 200, feed usual LC and see where he is at in about 20-30 minutes and we shall see if that is a number you are comfortable shooting as long as it’s above 90. How does that sound?
 
Good grief :rolleyes:. Still safe, but he’s putting on a show now. It’s not a matter of waiting to get above 200, feed usual LC and see where he is at in about 20-30 minutes and we shall see if that is a number you are comfortable shooting as long as it’s above 90. How does that sound?

Sounds good. And I'm not sure he actually fasted the two hours before the PMPS--he had some food in his bowl from this afternoon that I forgot to take up. So those numbers might have been non-fasted numbers. I'm not sure. We'll see how this food affects him.

Thank you.
 
You’re welcome :). He’s cutting it pretty close with that pet meter to begin with, so he may just need a skip but let’s see where he’s at next test.
 
You’re welcome :). He’s cutting it pretty close with that pet meter to begin with, so he may just need a skip but let’s see where he’s at next test.
Do the pet meters run lower than the human meters? I seem to recall seeing someone post a chart of the comparison, but I can't locate it now.
 
Pet meters and human meters generally get closer together at lower numbers, but typically human meters read lower, although there isn’t a direct correlation or comparison.
 
Perfect, the +1 and +2 will help to see whether he’s going get more food bump and start a bounce or not, and whether more tests will be be needed. You can feed a teaspoon or two of usual food now as well. See you at +1 ;). With the stalling numbers, we just need to stack them in the +11 column, so it would be +12 107, +12.5 80, +13 67, then preshot 100 which I think is +13.5
 
Perfect, the +1 and +2 will help to see whether he’s going get more food bump and start a bounce or not, and whether more tests will be be needed. You can feed a teaspoon or two of usual food now as well. See you at +1 ;). With the stalling numbers, we just need to stack them in the +11 column, so it would be +12 107, +12.5 80, +13 67, then preshot 100 which I think is +13.5

Christie, Good news--he's 136 at +1.
 
Lovely, feed him a couple of bites of his usual food, and if possible, can you catch a +4 or +5? With a +2 higher than preshot, that may means he’s not going to be up to any shenanigans, but another test later would be good to check.
 
Back
Top