12/17 Gracie PMPS 273 +1 259 +2 269 +4 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=32218

Recap:
AMPS: 336 10th cycle f1u
+1: 348
+2: 253
+3: 214
+5: 273
+8: 350
PMPS: 392 11th cycle f1u
+2: 343
+4: 331

Happy Friday LL!! We're sending extra healing vines to Butthead, Chicken, and Barb and any other ailing kitties and their beans.

WCR: 4Ps. Ugly day yesterday but we're over it. Nice AMPS this morning so we'll see what she still has on this dose. I bought some of those feathered toys that Sienne had a link to on her website. Gracie and I were playing with one last night and it was in the chair in the living room when we went to bed. I finally found her this morning running around with it in her mouth :lol: :lol: Adorable girl. She is not a "nanner" fan (Tobey is) but she likes these little things (Tobey doesn't) so I guess that's all good.
As if my SS isn't already "busy", I'm starting to note where I shoot her under her shot time. I alternate left in the a.m., right in the p.m. and either shoot chest or scruff so we'll see if there is any pattern.

Have an awesome day...I'll check in later. Gotta get DH off to work :cry: :cry:
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240

Morning Marjorie! and Mike, And Gracie, and the rest of the troops! Happy Furday :-D :-D :-D Sorry you have to go to TBP Mike....

Nice amps for Gracie - I hope she has a great cycle(s) today. Think green Gracie, OK? Sorry for all the pinks yesterday, but you are right - it's only a set of a few numbers in a sea of thousands, and she will recover from them. Just remember to now and then take a step back, and look at the big picture - it does help put it all in perspective.

I enjoyed, if that's the right word, your recap of your talk with the IM specialist. You did well! I would have hoped that she would have given your her references. Interesting that she did not. Well over and one with, huh.

Love those feather toys - one of my civvies loves those things - she throws them in the air, then chases them. I find them in oddest places throughout the house: obviously tossed there.... :lol: :lol: Mannie on the other hand loves the nanners....

Gracie! KTSS duty today - we are going to buttheads - he's recovering from surgery, and well I think he would really like some chicken soup and curative catmint tea. See you soon? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240

Good morning Marjorie, Much better AMPS today and it sounds like you are feeling better about things as well. Sorry I didn't post yesterday, but I didn't get to reading condos until very late last night. Sometimes you need to take a step back as well and imagine that you have a normal life. You got a lot of good advice yesterday, but you knew most of it already. You are a great bean and one of the most devoted I've seen. But you need to remember to breathe! Maybe some yoga classes rather than golf occasionally. :lol:

I hope you have a good day w/ Gracie, the rains have started here so you may have the only nice weather around. Beware of converging kitties.
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269

Morning Michelle...need to get over to your condo and see when you got to bed last night. So glad Mannie had a great evening and his AMPS looked good today, too.

Ann: I certainly have missed you!!
Maybe some yoga classes rather than golf occasionally.
:lol: :lol: Before FD, I meditated and did yoga EVERY morning for the last 5 years, lifted weights 3x/week, and did some kind of heart revving activity 5 days/week. I have been totally out of my program now for so many weeks that I've lost count. The even funnier thing is my golf coach's wife is my yoga instructor and so he approaches golf in a very zen way which I love. Anyway, I told Mike this morning that because she is so sensitive to us, perhaps if WE relax about all this then maybe she will do better so I am going to go meditate and do yoga right now!!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269

Happy Furday, Marjorie. I read your novel condo late last night, but was too tired to reply. But I woke up in the middle of the night thinking about it. I too am frustrated with the bounces and I really wish we could find the solution. But Gracie is doing well, as evidenced by all the playing. :-D You and Mike are exceptional beans to take the time and effort to learn all you have and to go the extra mile with the vets. I hope Gracie's numbers will lower and flatten out. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269

Glad you are trying to let go. Good luck with the yoga. Everytime I put my mat down, Tuffy joins me. I'm allowed 5 minutes and then she takes over rolling, stretching, etc. Hope you can do your yoga in peace. LOL
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297

Claudia: thanks for dropping in...I still haven't gotten to condos but will shortly so I can check in on Rocket.

Ele: well...when one of us figures it out, we can tell the other one :lol: :lol: Sorry to keep you awake last night with my novel...perhaps you should have read it last night..it would have put you to sleepus :lol:

Barbara: got my yoga in AND step aerobics..yay!! Tobey and Gracie also like to hang out while I'm doing yoga. Tobey is the master of twisted positions :lol:
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 DOSECREASE??

I felt certain Gracie was breaking through her bounce this morning but evidently not or else (1) pen not good (2) she needs that dosecrease that Jill suspected she might need in a few cycles. Any advice? My pen is not that old but it has developed a bubble in it....don't know how because I am very careful to NEVER inject air into the pen. I can easily try a new pen tonight and see what happens. I know I am getting her insulin into her. She has done this before....seems like of late her pattern is to do reasonably well on a new dose at first and then begin to stagnate. This bounce is different from others in that, typically, once she starts down, she clears it....but she's going up today. And she has an eye vet appt this afternoon. :sad: :?

The other day I asked about insulin induced insulin resistance....I read that in a condo and am just wondering what that is exactly (for my education...not saying it's happening) and how it manifests.

So....try a new pen tonight or bump from f1u to 1.25u? Thanks!!
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 DOSECREASE??

yes my pen I am using now has a bubble too soo darn annoying since you try so hard to make sure it does not happen and boom there it is, good luck with the new dose tonight for her and getting her back to better numbers ;-)
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 DOSECREASE??

Marjorie,

Quiz time!

Flat yellows usually indicate____________




Hint: Look back at your SS.






Answer: More action coming.

I would hold the dose.
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 DOSECREASE??

Laurie...I know but this time she is increasing in her flat yellow...usually she decreases. And today is gonna be bad because we're about to leave for the vet...in the past, after an eye vetty appt, she goes over 400 and it takes a while to come down. I promise...I'm not freaking out over the numbers...I promise :lol: :lol: :lol: Just looking at the trend that she hasn't been doing too much and Jill did say she suspected Gracie would shortly need a dose increase :-D
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 DOSECREASE??

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Laurie...I know but this time she is increasing in her flat yellow...usually she decreases. And today is gonna be bad because we're about to leave for the vet...in the past, after an eye vetty appt, she goes over 400 and it takes a while to come down. I promise...I'm not freaking out over the numbers...I promise :lol: :lol: :lol: Just looking at the trend that she hasn't been doing too much and Jill did say she suspected Gracie would shortly need a dose increase :-D
marjorie, marjorie, marjorie...
peeked in here for a sec while baking some biscotti and saw your question about increasing the dose. two three words... not yet. patience.

a stress induced number is not a reason to raise the dose. in fact, increasing the dose when it looks like the numbers may break on top of a stress induced number *could* make things worse.

a possible break from the bounce + calming down after a vet visit + an increased dose = find your scuba gear, gracie. you're headed for a dive!

give gracie's body time to adjust. give yourselves time to figure out how to respond to her drops by using food to manipulate/control her curve.

time for me to stick the next batch in the oven... :lol:
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 +7 325

Jill.....biscotti sounds wonderful...esp homemade.

Sorry.....if she had had flat yellows that were not increasing today (and the pink was before I took her to the vet when she had no idea we were going so that one isn't a stress number), then I wouldn't have asked :lol: So...asked and answered. Thank you!!!

So then my extra question is....are the dose experts looking at our SSs frequently and will drop in to tell us when to increase/reduce? If I knew that, then I wouldn't ask and then it would *seem* like I was having more patience. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 +7 325

In my crystal ball I see this very yellow day----Turning to a nice blue tonite or tomorow!!
Next, you so rocked it with the IM vet!! Did you tell her the 157 cats in remission since 2008 on this protocol?
And!!! Carrier was out? Did she Sense that something is up in their spidey cat senses, like today may end at the eye vet??

Like I said yesterday dear Marjorie & DH, one day when you least expect, it will all come together--and we will always be there for you!!
BIG HUGS!!!
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 +7 325

:lol: marjorie...even when you are asking a question...you post it in a way that makes me laugh!
i love that about you! and may i just say...fighter pilot guy is not the only funny one in your family!

gracie...
"you got a certain little
cute way of flirtin' with
them there eyes!"

but let's get them feeling better!

thank you, btw...for checking on us.
i got so spooked by the fried wiring here that i pretty much just cut all the circuits, shut everything down, grabbed the brats and took off.
left behind cell phone and all!
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 +7 325

Marjorie......I do not post to you that often....in fact I have not been posting very often at all but I have been lurking and reading your condo daily.
I wish I could wave a magic wand and help you to be in a better place with Gracie's numbers and this entire FD dance. I understand your frustration.....I really do. I don't know if you know this but Putty had just turned 5 years old when he was dx with FD. He was on insulin for 24 days before he went OTJ. Four months later his numbers started to creep up so I put him back on Lantus. He did pretty well but his numbers kept going up so his need for more insulin also went up.
After a year and a half of being back on Lantus I switched him to Lev to see if that would make a difference. His cycle's seem to differ in numbers all the time. I have tried and tried but I do not see a clear pattern. He can bounce quite a bit......one day he will bounce from a 50 and the next time he does not bounce after a 37 and vice versa. I could not begin to explain to you why.....I like to think that his liver is not very trusting. Sometimes it thinks it is ok to be low and other times it worries that the number is too low so it kicks in for a bounce.

I guess my point to you is at first I wanted answers. Why does he bounce so much? Why does he bounce sometimes and not others? Yikes where did that red number come from? Will he ever be regulated? Is there a chance he will ever go OTJ again? Why do other kitty's pass liver training school but not Putty?
Why is his cycle so flat, etc, etc,. I think you get my drift.

I felt that all I talked about with my DH was Putty's numbers and why they were high and why they were low, what to feed him, what not to feed him, would he ever be regulated, would he ever go OTJ....all the same things I wanted to know from the "experienced" people in LL.

You know about 10 months ago I finally figured out the answers to all of my questions....are you ready.....are you anxious to hear my answer....I bet you are. :mrgreen:
Well the answer to all of my questions is the same.....I don't know. Why? Because it is not up to me. I can talk about every number, every food and how many carbs it has, and when to feed and when not to feed but the answer to all my questions comes back the same.....I don't really know. Only Putty's pancreas and liver know and they are not sharing with me.

I guess my hope in writing this to you is to help you be less anxious and more patient so that you don't waste a lot of your time like I did trying to find answers to questions that don't always have clear cut answers. We can all help you based on our experiences from what we have learned here and with our cats....but then there is that old ECID so the answer to the same question may not pertain to every cat.

I read that you stopped doing yoga or exercising.......we get so caught up in the day to day FD stuff that we forget to live our own lives.

Marjorie you and Mike are two great people....great caregivers to Gracie. You both have a thirst for knowledge and will do anything to help her. You have taken the time to learn every type of food, it's carb count, when to feed it, when not to feed etc. You should be highly commended for all you are willing to do...you both go above and beyond what most are willing to do......but....and that is a great big but.....you need to relax and live life. I know you love and enjoy Gracie but if you just relax and forget about each and every number and just let Gracie lead the way I think you will enjoy her even more.

I am in no way telling you to stop experimenting with food and when is the best time to feed etc......keep asking questions....we can always learn more.
I really admire you and all you have done for Gracie.....just remember...relax, breathe and be patient...oh and have some fun!
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 +7 325

Hi Marjorie - just wanted to drop in and say hello. I've enjoyed reading your informative condos lately, but I feel your stress in them too. So I'm hoping for the day Gracie "clicks" to come very very soon. Keep asking questions, tho, it's great for all of us here.

Hi Gwacie! I miss yous! - Lubs Muffin
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 +7 325

Roni: thank you...you always bring a smile to my face and laughter to my lips. Nope...carrier wasn't out but Gracie is very intuitive.

Celi: am I not the most AR person you've ever seen in LL? Amidst the stress I put on myself, I try to find the humor mainly so Jill won't want to murder me for being so dang impatient :lol: :lol: Not that I'd blame her!

Miriam: gosh...I don't even know what to say. First, thank you for taking the time to post and write that to me just like Barb has and share Putty's story. You have had quite a journey with him and it continues....and you are always calm. Second..I'm not a crier and I haven't let myself cry over all of this with Gracie....my so beloved baby...but your post did make me cry because of its sincerity and because you let me know I'm not the only one who has been so vehement about why, how, what next, what can I do, what am I not doing that I need to do?

About five years ago, my GA Max was found to have polycystic kidney disease. It was an incidental finding and it is genetic. Max...my heart and soul and a kitty like no other. The specialists told me that if he had lived that long with it, that it wouldn't affect him...it wouldn't be the thing that took him from me so I put on my blinders and went my merry way. Last year at this time, he started losing weight and I took him in and his renal values were abnormal...not crazy but abnormal. I did some research, asked alot of questions...his phosphorus level was at 7...shouldn't we start him on a phosphorus binder? "Oh no...it's normal for an adult". I was giving him squids and herbs and a few other things but I didn't push, I didn't ask enough questions and last Feb, all of his values shot up almost overnight even though he was still eating and playing. I was told he shouldn't be alive with those numbers and the only way to save him was put him in the hospital so I did and he got worse and worse and after three days, I had to help him transition at 3 a.m. on Feb 13 just short of his 13th birthday. Max was a cat who absolutely loved me every bit as much as I love him and he let it show every minute. So now, it's so very hard for me to just accept that there is no answer (for questions on any of the cats) because I'm afraid of those blinders that I so easily would put on again. Could I have chnaged the outcome for Max...no...PKD is very difficult to control once the numbers start going up but, yes, if I had not been so much in denial then there were things I could have done that he would have been with me longer....maybe only a few months but still we would have had more time.

And with Gracie, I'm so afraid if I don't ask, I'll miss something...I'll miss a dose increase that I should have done...I'll miss something that will further compromise her and I just could not bear to have anything happen to her because of my negligence. Truly...I trust you all so much...I do. But I am afraid and I don't know how to let that go yet. I WANT to and I want Gracie to have her life back because even if she is FD her entire life, at least she shouldn't have to deal with a crazy mamabean :lol: :lol: And I want our life back...I just don't know how to find the balance yet. Mike and I are where you and your husband were...it's all about Gracie although we've been trying to go out at least one afternoon and not talk about FD. I have a gym here at home and so many days I just say.."just get up and go lift weights" but I'm so tired (and I know you all are, too). Today I MADE myself do my yoga and aerobics and tomorrow I will again. I know you are right...we have to find the balance or our health will be compromised and then what happens to Gracie.

I am so sorry for being ...pushy, needy, etc....all the things I never am in "real" life. The last thing I want is for all of you who I respect so much to not come to our condo because I'm so impatient and won't listen. I am listening..I am trying to find a way to let go and accept this. I so appreciate all the help, the posts, the support, and the patience with me. Thank you, Miriam, for sharing...and please come to our condo any time and feel free to say what you need to say. And I will say extra prayers for Putty that his pancreas and liver will learn to play well together soon.

Anne: all I can say right now my friend is (((Anne))).
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie PMPS 273 +1 259

oh...i'm sending moonie over to slap you, woman! if that don't do it...i'm sending the adoptocats!!

you are NOT pushy...you are NOT needy...and we LOVES your condo!

beautifully spoken, btw miriam!

and just a note here...it's okay if you manifest AR...as long as gracie doesnt!!! :lol:
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie PMPS 273 +1 259 +2 269

Ok..not a novel this time. Eye vetty says Gracie's eyelids look great. Cutting down on ointment. Will see her in two months as long as things stay good.
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie AMPS 240 +1 269 +2 255 +4 297 +7 325

Marjorie and Gracie said:
And with Gracie, I'm so afraid if I don't ask, I'll miss something...I'll miss a dose increase that I should have done...I'll miss something that will further compromise her and I just could not bear to have anything happen to her because of my negligence. But I am afraid and I don't know how to let that go yet. I WANT to and I want Gracie to have her life back because even if she is FD her entire life, at least she shouldn't have to deal with a crazy mamabean

I understand why you feel this way based on what happened with Max...and I am sorry for what you all went through.

If you spend all of your time worrying about missing a dose increase, or missing a dose decrease, or missing a symptom then the only thing you are really going to miss is Gracie just being Gracie....not diabetic Gracie but sweet Gracie who just happens to have diabetes a very treatable and manageable disease. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/17 Gracie PMPS 273 +1 259 +2 269

(((Marjorie))) I wish there was something I could say to ease the anxiety, the worry, the fear. All I can do is offer support. I was taken back by Miriam's post, in part I think because of the truth that is written there. It is the same for so many of us - the care of our kitties consumes us. And I know she is right - we have to maintain some semblance of our lives, for us, and for our fur babies. I know for me it is crucial. I make sure that everyday, no matter how tired I am, that I do something for myself that is mine alone. I am better for it, and when I am, so is Mannie.

I honestly believe that the only stupid dumb irritating question is the one that is never asked. So ask away - it benefits all of us, we all need to learn, and those questions are the starting point.

I am sorry to read what happened with Max. It is similar to what I have been through with others that I have had the privilege to care for - CRF got most of them. Could I have done more, should I have done something differently, what if? Would it have change what happened to them? I'm with Miriam - after all the pondering, the questions, the research, the answer was always the same - I don't know, but i do know I did the best that I could. As are you.

This is so true, to paraphrase Miriam a little...:
Miriam and Putty said:
If you spend all of your time worrying about missing a dose increase, or missing a dose decrease, or missing a symptom then the only thing you are really going to miss is our kitties being kitties....not diabetic kitties but sweet kitty who just happens to have diabetes a very treatable and manageable disease. cat_pet_icon
I have to remind myself of this every day.

You and Mike are doing a fantastic job with Gracie: absolutely fantastic, and don't ever doubt that for a minute.
 
(((Miriam))) and (((Michelle))): thank you both for reminding me what is MOST important....sweet Gracie. The good thing is that with her inimitable purrsonality, she would never let us not see her but for her disease...there is not a day that goes by that I don't see her for just her and how incredibly special she is....my girl.
Thanks, Michelle, for sharing what has happened to you with your other babies, too. I'm sure it has happened to most, sadly. We put our faith in those who are suppose to specialize in advising us on the care of our babies and yet, so often, they don't know either.

Good night everyone...baby girl wants everyone to sleep in this household! So we all sleep :lol: :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top