12/16 Michelangelo AMPS 286, +7/50, +9/46

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

I'm guessing today's numbers are reflecting that Michelangelo's depot has finally topped off after the skipped shots and reduced doses from last week's anorexic episode. I was quite surprised to see him hit greens off that high pre-shot this morning. Usually, he'll float in blues when he's over ~250 at pre-shot.

Henry's not eating again today and had some very loud, liquidy poo this morning so I'm thinking he's either still under the weather or the new food I introduced to them yesterday is not agreeing with his belly. I'm trying out the Nutro Natural Choice Chicken Soft Loaf, as recommended by Jess and MrCat. The Soft Loaf varieties are not on Dr. Lisa's list, so I'm going on Jess's word that they're low enough in carb for carb-sensitive Mikey (less than 5%).

ETA: Henry just came home for his regular 2-hour check-in and started eating again. Maybe because I put some freeze-dried chicken on top to get Mikey to feed his 50. :lol:
 
Re: 12/16 Michelangelo AMPS 286, +5/69, +7/50

And because I love sharing pictures of my kitties, here's one of Henry I posted on the Main Board last week:
Ilr98NSKWR3Oegwx3NDLRI0UP0luICVZP1BeudYhP1c=w269-h359-no

He loves his food so much that he wants to sleep with it.
(Ironic, because it's actually Friskies I feed them, but I kept the FF boxes because they're a perfect fit for their food cupboard.)
​
 
He hit the 40s, but since we've been at this so long (over a year), I've learned he doesn't handle dose reductions very well. I'll probably keep holding this dose for a bit longer...maybe skinny it up a tad.

It could also be that the Soft Loaf is allegedly around 2% carbs - lower than the 5% Friskies SD. Just proving how carb sensitive he is. ohmygod_smile If the Nutro were less expensive and it's what's really causing today's pretty numbers, then I might fully switch them over. I wish there were a lower carb food that was cheaper! The Nutro was $28 for a case of 24 3oz cans vs. Friskies at $13 for a case of 24 5.5oz cans. At least it's cheaper than the Tiki Cat Chicken at like $28 for only 12 2.8oz cans.
 
Shoot, my babies have to eat Friskies, can't afford anything else. But they adjusted and Lucian will even eat a flavor more than once. :lol:
At one time, I'd have 4-5 cans open all the time, because he would never eat the same thing twice in a row. Now he'll eat the same flavor almost all day and sometimes he actually does. Usually he gets bored after 4-5 meals of the same stuff, so I usually have 2 open. Lucian doesn't eat 2-3 times a day, he eats every 2-3 hours, round the clock but only eats a couple tablespoons each time. Yes, he wakes me through the night to be fed, won't eat any leftovers! Boy has to draw the line somewhere! :lol:
He wakes me to eat, so I give him food then go back to bed. Then when he is done, he wakes me to put him back on the bed because he can't get up there on his own. Let's just say I don't have very restful nights. He has me up at least 3 times, usually 4-5. And each time, he wakes me twice. ohmygod_smile *sigh* Good thing I love that little bugger! :-D
 
Keep us posted on the food. I'm always lookin' for an edge. Wish I could spare no expense. Glad Mikey is feeling better and hopefully Henry will too.
 
I have it tough on the food front because Mikey is allergic to all red meats and is super carb sensitive so I have to keep the food under 5% carbs from calories and make sure it's poultry only. That leaves them with very few food options. That means that every day is Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblets in our house! :lol: Luckily, neither one is overly picky and all I have to do to convince them to eat some more of the "same old" is to top it off with parmesan cheese or plain boiled chicken or some freeze-dried chicken treats or the Tiki Cat Chicken (or at the moment, the Nutro Soft Loaf).

I created this cheat sheet of Dr. Lisa's food list that might be of help.
 
Saved your cheat sheet in my 'pets' folder, never know when that info might come in handy. Thank you!

I doubt Lucian will be my last FD kitty or kitty that needs a special diet. Just 'cause I know ME. :-D
 
That does sound rough...seriously! When we made the switch from dry to LC wet, Max decided he likes chicken and seafood, no turkey or much of anything else. He only gets seafood on Fridays as kind of a treat, so he's mainly poultry too just cause. I tried him out on what I told him was the super nice Blue Wilderness LC, and he really hates that, even if it's chicken. Silly guy! Pic of Henry sleeping in the cupboard is so cute. Cats are so funny where they like to curl up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top