? 12/13 Pino PMPS 434, +4 56

That’s quite the drop! Did you give low carb or higher carb food?

What was the retest number?
Gave him both low carb wet and higher carb dry food (because he doesn't like dry food). The retest after 15minutes was 59. I will check again in 15 minutes and add some honey if needed?
 
Gave him both low carb wet and higher carb dry food (because he doesn't like dry food). The retest after 15minutes was 59. I will check again in 15 minutes and add some honey if needed?

It’s best to use wet food anyway, we have more control over it.

Let’s see what that test is before you do honey. So far he hasn’t dropped under 50, so a little food may be enough to help him surf some safe numbers
 
How’s he acting?

How much of the low carb/high carb mix did you feed? And approximately how long ago now?

I’d get another test 20 mins from the last and let us know what it is
 
How’s he acting?

How much of the low carb/high carb mix did you feed? And approximately how long ago now?

I’d get another test 30 mins from the last and let’s us know what it is
He is acting normal. He just played with me for 20 minutes.
I gave him about 4 teaspons of wet food and 10 pieces of higher carb dry food.

BG 30minutes after food: 55
I will do another one in 30minutes.
 
He is acting normal. He just played with me for 20 minutes.
I gave him about 4 teaspons of wet food and 10 pieces of higher carb dry food.

BG 30minutes after food: 55
Ok, he’s keeping pretty flat. The higher carb dry won’t kick in right away. So I’d still keep an eye on him and test in another 30mins or so since he still has some time before his nadir

Just an observation though, with TR dry food is suppose to be out of the picture. Do you feed dry at other times?

What sort of higher carb wet food to you have?

Wet is truly the best way to tackle low numbers. We have more control with it. We know it takes about 20mins to kick in and that it sticks around about 1.5-2 hours after being fed… where as dry is a bit of an unknown… it takes longer to kick in and sticks around longer too… so when we start seeing nice numbers that dry food might be making him have higher number when he could be surfing in some safe healthy numbers. Don’t worry though but keep that in mind for next time
 
Last edited:
Feed a couple more teaspoons of low carb food to prevent/slow the drop. Update with his test in 30 minutes.
If he already had a 4 tsps food at the last test, you don’t want to fill him up too much in case we need him to be eat still

ETA: a tsp is all that is really needed to keep number at bay or rising (whether it be low carb or high carb, that depends on the numbers).
 
Just an observation though, with TR dry food is suppose to be out of the picture. Do you feed dry at other times?

What sort of higher carb wet food to you have?
I don't feed him dry food because he doesn't like it. I fed him dry just maybe 3 times (since diagnosis) when i got scared of the hypo and when i didn't have any higher carb wet at home.

He always eats wet low carb food (carb amount from 2-5) and i also have at home some higher carb wet food (carb amount around 11).

Retest: 56
I will do the retest every 30minutes until i see some safer numbers.
Do i keep with 4.25U tomorrow or did he earn the reduction?
 
I don't feed him dry food because he doesn't like it. I fed him dry just maybe 3 times (since diagnosis) when i got scared of the hypo and when i didn't have any higher carb wet at home.

He always eats wet low carb food (carb amount from 2-5) and i also have at home some higher carb wet food (carb amount around 11).

Retest: 56
Good stuff.

Would you say that 56 was @ +5.5?

I’m about to head out for a short while but I’ll check in on you.

Going to tag @tiffmaxee @Chris & China (GA) to check in on you though
 
Yes 56 was around +5.5.
+6 is now 59.

I think he will be okay but i will check him more often tonight through the night.

Any opinion about the dosing? :bookworm:
He’s surfing nicely :) Once he starts heading up on his own (without food for 2 hours) he should be good for the night.

Since you’re following TR protocol and he hasn’t dropped below 50, you would continue on this dose unless he drops lower than 50.

He’ll most likely bounce from these lows, bounces can last up to 6cycles (3days) so you’ll have to ride it out if he does.
 
He’s surfing nicely :) Once he starts heading up on his own (without food for 2 hours) he should be good for the night.

Since you’re following TR protocol and he hasn’t dropped below 50, you would continue on this dose unless he drops lower than 50.

He’ll most likely bounce from these lows, bounces can last up to 6cycles (3days) so you’ll have to ride it out if he does.
+7 67 :bighug:
 
i also have at home some higher carb wet food (carb amount around 11).
You should grab some higher carb food, something higher then 11%. That’s really just the low end of medium carb food. You might find yourself needing a higher carb food at some point and with that drop today, I’d say grab something with carbs around 17-22% to be on the safe side.

FF gravy lovers beef seems to be one of the higher ones (about 20%).
 
Seriously though, do you ever get any sleep? ;)

There are times in your sheet where I see you could have called it for the night and got sleep. You need to take those opportunities when you can, you don’t want to burn out.

I get it though, if you look at my spreadsheet starting around mid Dec 2021 into 2022, I spent many nights awake until 4am with Gus (and having to work the next day - luckily I worked from home)… but I had to take advantage of those bounce cycle when I could to catch up on sleep.

Often times you can use +2/3 as your crystal ball into the cycle. If the number is higher or flat, chances are it won’t be an active cycle. Then a before bed test to be extra sure, is aways good :) If you’re ever wondering or double guessing if you can head to bed, post here and ask.
 
Seriously though, do you ever get any sleep? ;)

There are times in your sheet where I see you could have called it for the night and got sleep. You need to take those opportunities when you can, you don’t want to burn out.

I get it though, if you look at my spreadsheet starting around mid Dec 2021 into 2022, I spent many nights awake until 4am with Gus (and having to work the next day - luckily I worked from home)… but I had to take advantage of those bounce cycle when I could to catch up on sleep.

Often times you can use +2/3 as your crystal ball into the cycle. If the number is higher or flat, chances are it won’t be an active cycle. Then a before bed test to be extra sure, is aways good :) If you’re ever wondering or double guessing if you can head to bed, post here and ask.
Haha, I do sleep but it's not a problem for me to wake up and check him. He also wakes me up when he is hungry :woot: I guess I'm a "kitty" when it comes to taking care of him :cat: Really thankful for you guys and helping us all the time :bighug:
 
Haha, I do sleep but it's not a problem for me to wake up and check him. He also wakes me up when he is hungry :woot: I guess I'm a "kitty" when it comes to taking care of him :cat: Really thankful for you guys and helping us all the time :bighug:
I’m a nighthawk, so the late nights weren’t a problem but it was rough during the work week and I’m not a cat nap person… just can’t nap. Glad to hear you’re getting bits of sleep though.

I totally hear ya on the wake up calls… gawd, my cat is currently in remission and still wakes me up at 4 am and 6 am for food :arghh: gotta love ‘em tho :)
 
I’m a nighthawk, so the late nights weren’t a problem but it was rough during the work week and I’m not a cat nap person… just can’t nap. Glad to hear you’re getting bits of sleep though.

I totally hear ya on the wake up calls… gawd, my cat is currently in remission and still wakes me up at 4 am and 6 am for food :arghh: gotta love ‘em tho :)
No bounces today :joyful: So glad that I succeeded to taught everyone at home how to test him .. it's so much easier to check him :bighug:
 
Wow! That’s really great! Go Pino!

And I love, love, love that you taught an everyone to test!!! I have a roommate that was willing to do the shots but not test.. told him, thanks but that won’t do!
So happy with the numbers today!!!!! :bighug:
It really is easier when you are not alone in the battle. :cat:
Again really SO GREATFUL for you guys :bighug:


Team relay is much better than individual marathon in the graveyard shift. :cat: :cat: :cat: :coffee:
Teamwork makes the dream work :bighug:
 
Don’t forget to start a new thread everyday. This way you can be monitored regularly and the experienced folks here don’t have to scroll through a bunch of messages.

I did it for many, many months.

Start every AM with a similar title as you did for this one.
Ex: 12/14 Pino AMPS #, +2 #

So each test you take, update your title throughout the day. This makes it easier for the experienced folks to skim the titles and makes sure everything is ok at a glance.

You will also want to link your previous post in the new thread.. I used to copy the link as soon as I made the post in the AM and paste it in my notes for the next day :)
 
Back
Top