12/12 Indy AMPS - 195 PMPS - 183

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

No extremes yesterday, which makes me really happy. At 15 minutes before his shot he was at 223....but then hubby told me that Indy decided to lay on it...which made it drop to 165. Hate that it does that....Let's hope for another day with no extremes! You got this Indy!
 
Also, 81 is not a low number. It is a considerable drop from the preshot, though, which can indicate that Indy might have a more active cycle.
 
I'm not at home....so I can't. Hubby says he is croissanting (squeezing the sensor a bit). Indy got up and followed him around for a little bit....and it went up to 91....and then he laid back down. Just don't know what to do with his dose when this happens. I am noticing that he runs higher at night....so might talk to the vet about doing two different doses? I am lost.
 
double checked the glucose data from the libre...and it looks like he was a little lower for his AMPS. But he went down again this hour....to 61.
 
I would feed him some LC/MC food (not a lot of MC, about 2 tsps or so), if you haven't already, just to get him surfing in a bit higher numbers through the cycle. See where he is in the next 30 to hour, and feed again, if the numbers are not a bit higher. Food is the tool that we use to manipulate low numbers.

It looks to me like Indy is doing a lot of bouncing. This happens early on when they start treatment, and then some cats will slowly begin to settle into lower numbers (remember: that is the goal, so don't be too afraid of those greens). Take a look at Jude's spreadsheet from when he came out of remission last year until earlier this year. He did a lot of bouncing, but we finally settled on a dose that brought him into the greens (and we had to do some adjusting because he started racing down the dosing ladder). It just takes some time, and as they get into the greens, they will bounce because they are not used to those numbers.

Today is likely what we call a bounce-breaking cycle: notice how he climbed last night and then started to drop all the way up until the a.m. preshot. Bounce-breaking cycles can carry extra momentum when the break is combined with the insulin.

Certainly check with your vet on dosing advice, but just know that if you were following SLGS, you would take a dose reduction for a drop below 90. If you follow TR, the dose reduction number for newly diagnosed diabetics is a drop below 50.

Also, I've seen some people here shoot different dose amounts in the am/pm, but I know the general advice among those who are experienced is that this can also lead to further bouncing. It's worth asking about or at least doing a site search to read about.
 
Last edited:
Different doses AM and PM don't lead to a lot of bouncing, but rather the depot doesn't stabilize at all. Numbers are "wonky". It's really hard to decide when you need to go up or down in dose when the depot isn't stable. Plus the dose you shoot in the AM also influences the following PM, and vice versa. In other words, generally not recommended when following our dosing methods.
 
He triggered the libre alarm at 54. Hubby made him get up and gave him a LC snack. Emailed vet with current numbers and a link to the thread about SLGS and the TR method and asked if she would like us to follow one of those (maybe instead of pestering her all the time). He went back up to 66. Hubby is stressed because his sister's car broke down and he has to go pick up our nephew from school in an hour.
 
I would feed him some LC/MC food (not a lot of MC, about 2 tsps or so), if you haven't already, just to get him surfing in a bit higher numbers through the cycle. See where he is in the next 30 to hour, and feed again, if the numbers are not a bit higher. Food is the tool that we use to manipulate low numbers.

It looks to me like Indy is doing a lot of bouncing. This happens early on when they start treatment, and then some cats will slowly begin to settle into lower numbers (remember: that is the goal, so don't be too afraid of those greens). Take a look at Jude's spreadsheet from when he came out of remission last year until earlier this year. He did a lot of bouncing, but we finally settled on a dose that brought him into the greens (and we had to do some adjusting because he started racing down the dosing ladder). It just takes some time, and as they get into the greens, they will bounce because they are not used to those numbers.

Today is a likely what we call a bounce-breaking cycle: notice how he climbed last night and then started to drop all the way up until the a.m. preshot. Bounce-breaking cycles can carry extra momentum when the break is combined with the insulin.

Certainly check with your vet on dosing advice, but just know that if you were following SLGS, you would take a dose reduction for a drop below 90. If you follow TR, the dose reduction number for newly diagnosed diabetics is a drop below 50.

Also, I've seen some people here shoot different dose amounts in the am/pm, but I know the general advice among those who are experienced is that this can also lead to further bouncing. It's worth asking about or at least doing a site search to read about.
Looks like Jude has been all over the place.

I am trying hard to not stress about it. Just having anxiety disorder myself does not help. And Hubby is usually the calm one and he is super stressed right now for a variety of reasons, so he is stressing about Indy's numbers too.

I apologize for being a stress bucket....I just don't want to give up on my boy. He is an old man, yes, but he is still enjoying his life. He still gets around well (little wobbly sometimes because of the arthritis), he can still hop up on the bed, get to my desk, demands pets and snacks. He is acting like normal Indy, just a little slower.
 
and it went up to 72...and then back down to 54....
Are those numbers from the Libre or are any on a handheld monitor? If he is at 54, again you want to feed a couple of tsps of MC carb food to bump him up a bit. Keep doing that until you see the numbers remain flat or begin climbing.

Stress and anxiety go hand-in-hand with FD caregiving. Things will get easier over time.

You and your husband are doing a great job with Indy! Hang in there.
 
I'm still not home. But right before hubby left Indy tested at 76 (on the libre) and was harrassing hubby in the kitchen for a snack. I will be leaving work in 20 minutes. It hasn't gone below 50....just the stupid libre alarm goes off below 55.

Hubby doesn't feel confident to ear prick Indy, so that falls on me. Hubby gave him some freeze dried salmon when he left as well.
 
76 is a safe number. If you don't hear back from the vet about dosing tonight, pop back in here with your PMPS number and raise your "?" prefix if you need some advice. Since you aren't following TR or SLGS at this point, I'm not sure what kind of guidance you'll be given, but with that drop to 54 today, if it were me, I'd like to run it by someone with more experience in dosing just to get some feedback. Wendy has already commented here, so perhaps she will weigh in with some advice.
 
I'm home and Indy got up to greet me. He wandered around the house for a bit and then had some noms. He has settled back in his favorite spot...the cat bed on my desk. <3

His PM dose isn't for another 6 hours.
 
Like Mary said, without knowing what dosing method your vet is using, it's hard for us to suggest what to do next with the dose. If you have the chance, it'd be great to compare a Libre green number with a Onetouch test. It seems people's mileage varies when comparing their hand helds with the Libre in lower numbers. If we could get an idea where he is with the hand held, it would help us figure out how much we need to worry, or not.
 
Yeah, that's why I emailed her the thread with the different dosing methods to see if she would agree to one of them. It almost seems like she is doing a hybrid. She started him on 1u (like SLGS) but tells me to push through low numbers....(above 50...like TR). It is confusing. Last time, I just blindly did what she said. I didn't know you guys were around.
 
We did not hear from the vet. Since he didn't go below 50, we are going to be brave and keep him on 2u tonight. Might re-evaluate in the morning.
 
Back
Top