12/12 Asia PMPS 285, +2 212

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-11-asia-pmps-267-2-140-3-123-5-81-6-65.187861/

Asia continues to be very predictable. :rolleyes:

She's surfing the 50s and 60s with no end in sight. Maybe she will shoot up in the 2 hours before her shot time, but let's assume that doesn't happen (and a good assumption too, being that I had to take her food up 2 hours before shot). She has a habit of dropping in the +1 and +2, supposedly before onset. Even when she is not dramatic about it, she will drop 10-20 points in there with rare exception. There is no room for her to drop from such a low number without going in to hypo territory (see 12/10 am cycle). Just casting the net out there for some ideas. I was just in this position a couple of days ago and I tried to carb her up preshot and it just didn't help enough.

If I don't shoot, good change she will skyrocket in short order. Full or token dose probably makes zero difference with depot at play. Thoughts and suggestions welcome.
 
I'm not sure. Since Asia starts going down so early in the cycle it's tricky to know what to do. Hopefully she'll come up some before PMPS. If she stays flat (she's been flat the second half of the PM cycle) maybe you can stall and see if she rises. I was also going to suggest feeding higher carb food, but you said that didn't help last time.
 
+10 doesn't really matter, doesn't it ?
I'd see how much is it at injection time and follow the protocol - give the whole dose, stall if necessary, reduce by 0.25u or don't give anything.
We are stressed out to shoot under 70. Beside that...."Shoot low to stay low."
But that's just us.......
 
WHAT ON EARTH?!

I took a cat nap in between the +10 and preshot and woke up to my regular alarm instead of my Asia alarm. Asia was sleeping right next to me instead of near my feet. 36?! How is this even a thing so long after shot time? How? :eek:

I think this is Asia's payback for me speculating in my condo the decrease wasn't looking good. o_O

So yeah, no shot this time! Gave honey and FF gravy and RadCat. Will test again in 30
 
+10 doesn't really matter, doesn't it ?
I'd see how much is it at injection time and follow the protocol - give the whole dose, stall if necessary, reduce by 0.25u or don't give anything.
We are stressed out to shoot under 70. Beside that...."Shoot low to stay low."
But that's just us.......
+10 shows me she's going to be pretty low at AMPS and the data I have collected tells me she would drop further from that number in +1 and +2. So far her thing is shoot really low to go even lower! o_O
 
Did you get a second test after that 36 to double check it wasnt a wonky one? If not, I'd see if Asia will let you - just ti be sure.

But dang Asia!!!! Way to keep your bean on her toes!
 
Did you get a second test after that 36 to double check it wasnt a wonky one? If not, I'd see if Asia will let you - just ti be sure.

But dang Asia!!!! Way to keep your bean on her toes!
Normally I would, but no, I didn't. I was panicked and just ran for the foods. About to the get the 30 mins after test, that should indicate if it was a wonky strip or not. Honey and gravy don't seem to raise her all that much when she is this low.
 
+1 56 no interventions outside of regular food since AMBG an hour ago. Hopefully she's on her way up (and not too way up, please).
 
Stay flat, Asia!
flatcat.jpg
 
Sorry about the 36 wake up call this morning. Been there myself and it's no way to start a day for the bean. It could take a while for her to rise in numbers and no need for anything except her regular food of course unless she dips back under 50. Hopefully you both can just get a break today :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Here's my take. While I understand and agree with holding the dose for 3 times under 50 or once under 40 there is a chance of depot over-load which IMO contributed to this morning's numbers. This strategy is typically used for long term diabetics and sometimes for those who don't hold reductions. Thankfully you do monitor her enough but with Asia being on insulin less then 3 months think the 3 and under is premature....but that's me. Numbers in the 30's call for an automatic reduction however taking another reduction would be 'back too back" (last night was the 3rd cycle) and with the skip this morning not sure you should reduce or try the 2u.

ETA: I’m not criticizing Stacy and it’s a good guideline to try. You do a great job with Asia.
 
Last edited:
Sorry about the 36 wake up call this morning. Been there myself and it's no way to start a day for the bean. It could take a while for her to rise in numbers and no need for anything except her regular food of course unless she dips back under 50. Hopefully you both can just get a break today :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Here's my take. While I understand and agree with holding the dose for 3 times under 50 or once under 40 there is a chance of depot over-load which IMO contributed to this morning's numbers. This strategy is typically used for long term diabetics and sometimes for those who don't hold reductions. Thankfully you do monitor her enough but with Asia being on insulin less then 3 months think the 3 and under is premature....but that's me. Numbers in the 30's call for an automatic reduction however taking another reduction would be 'back too back" (last night was the 3rd cycle) and with the skip this morning not sure you should reduce or try the 2u.

Hi Karen! I know you have a life, but I missed you all the same. :bighug:

I was only doing the 3 under 50 for this dose, and not forever, (that is how I understood it when I discussed it with Marje anyway) because she was doing so well on it and the times she has gone under were one off cycles and didn't like the reducie last time. She made it clear though, that she's done with 2.25 for now!

So you think this could still be a depot thing? I was waffling what to do at +10, I thought she may drop just from the 2 hour fast before AMPS (didn't imagine this steep a drop though) but at the same time, she wasn't in too risky of a zone to warrant feeding her and skewing the preshot number and making that cycle dangerous to shoot with a food influenced number. I know almost nothing about back to back reductions, other than they don't typically work out. If she has a skipped shot today, would that be suffice to drain the depot? I'm not sure how long the depot hangs around, but it hasn't helped her in any fur shot or skipped shot thus far, granted they were some time ago and her numbers were also higher then. I could try the 1.75 and be on high alert for numbers trending up to call a failed reduction and then back up to 2 posthaste, that's what I'm leaning towards, what do you think?
 
Hi Karen! I know you have a life, but I missed you all the same
I've been lurking but DH has had me doing projects :rolleyes:

She was flat and I wouldn't have fed either at +10. Doodles threw me a 26 at AMPS with a similar cycle and I didn't feed at the PM +10 either.

Typically it takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to drain just like it can take that long to fill on increases. With the 3 and under IMO you could get into depot overload. I'm more conservative then some and with the 30's this morning I might try the 1.75u. However, talking out loud, with the skipped shot this morning I believe the 2.25u will now be drained. My theory is you can always go back up but it might lose some of the progress made with Asia. See what @Wendy&Neko and @Marje and Gracie think about the dose.
 
ETA: I’m not criticizing Stacy and it’s a good guideline to try. You do a great job with Asia.

I didn't take anything you said the wrong way. Challenge my thinking, give honest feedback, keep it real with me, I can handle it and I'm not the needing kid gloves treatment type, I promise you! :p
 
Doodles threw me a 26 at AMPS with a similar cycle and I didn't feed at the PM +10 either.
:eek::eek::eek: 26? I think that would cause me to stress vomit (after calmly and collectively feeding HC, of course)! So the depot (overloaded) is what can keep them going past the 12 hours? I was wondering that or if the Lantus was working longer than expected. I don't understand if the depot can keep gaining momentum like that, how can anybody dose a consistent dose for an extended period of time (especially if their cats are already in lots of greens and blues)? Or is the an ECID thing and Asia just likes to dip into her depot when she doesn't need to?

I'm curious to see what Marje and Wendy have to say. Asia is being too tricky right now for me to make much sense of it all.
 
I don't understand if the depot can keep gaining momentum like that, how can anybody dose a consistent dose for an extended period of time
The depot was from 2.25u. Asia kept getting 2.25u and filling up the depot when she would have been fine on 2u. That's why Karen was talking about the 3 under 50 rule being more for long-term diabetics because for new diabetic cats, their pancreas are more likely to heal. That's how I understood it. If you had gone down to 2u right after that lime green on 12/6, you wouldn't have had this happen today... probably. :rolleyes:
 
1.75u

She’s probably ok if you want to skip and if she skyrockets, she will come back down but she’s out of the time period that this is a food spike.

Up to you.
 
The depot was from 2.25u. Asia kept getting 2.25u and filling up the depot when she would have been fine on 2u. That's why Karen was talking about the 3 under 50 rule being more for long-term diabetics because for new diabetic cats, their pancreas are more likely to heal. That's how I understood it. If you had gone down to 2u right after that lime green on 12/6, you wouldn't have had this happen today... probably. :rolleyes:
I get the logic there, that she was essentially getting a 2.25 until such time as the depot adjusted to the 2 unit dose, but how does that make the depot last past the 12 hours is where I'm stuck? Do higher doses give longer duration than lower doses? Or do overdoses give longer duration? Sorry if I'm being dense, but I don't understand it well enough, no lightbulb moment yet. o_O
 
The depot was from 2.25u. Asia kept getting 2.25u and filling up the depot when she would have been fine on 2u. That's why Karen was talking about the 3 under 50 rule being more for long-term diabetics because for new diabetic cats, their pancreas are more likely to heal. That's how I understood it. If you had gone down to 2u right after that lime green on 12/6, you wouldn't have had this happen today... probably. :rolleyes:
There is actually nothing in the TR protocol at all that states that using three times between 40 and 50 is for long term diabetics. From Tilly’s (which is the TR protocol but written in a different format):

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!

Or, you can look at Table 3, Phase 3 in the Roomp/Rand publishdd TR Protocol linked on the sticky.

ETA: For new members and those just reading this condo......while I point out the above, using that technique for reductions should not be done by brand new members with no data. Stacy has lots of data, Asia failed a reduction and had some quirky cycles, and we discussed this. Be wise. If you want to use this technique because your cat fails reductions, please discuss it in your condo with experienced members first.


Stacy: can you show me a day on the SS where she was at a lower number at +10, you fed, and it didn’t help? Or are you talking about 12/10 and was that the only time? BTW, we need to revise the SS because looking at the AMPS, I can’t tell you stalled an hour but the remarks say you did.

I had this same issue with Gracie on Lantus and it’s one reason I switched her to Levemir (not suggesting that you do that at this point). Thankfully, she would do this at a.m. +10 and PMPS so I didn’t have to wake to it. But she would be flat green (even in the 90s) or up a little at +10, in the 50s at shot time, and in the 40s at +.5.

One thing we don’t want to do (and I’m speaking to the masses here), is feed high carb, gravy, or karo to get the numbers up high enough to shoot. But, there is nothing wrong with feeding a couple of tsp of LC (6-8%) at +10 (not after unless you are very experienced and know your cat) to stop any further drops and at least, hopefully, give us a number (50 or above) we can shoot.

What we have found on the board is that cats tend to do better with some carbs over zero carbs. I know you feed zero carb Radcat and I’m 150% a raw diet advocate. But I’m wondering if you want to have a food that is 6-8% carbs for situations like this and save the Radcat for other times and when she’s surfing?

I see you fed her Radcat with honey on the morning of 12/10 after the shot to get her up. I just wonder if you need some bigger guns with her considering her antics?

Here is what I would try when she’s 50/60 at +10:
—feed a couple tsp LC in the 6-8% range
—at PS, if she’s the same or lower as +10 but shootable, feed a MC food to ge the numbers up before she onsets

Thoughts? You know her best. I can just look at the SS and also go based on my experience with a kitty who did this a lot.
 
Last edited:
I get the logic there, that she was essentially getting a 2.25 until such time as the depot adjusted to the 2 unit dose, but how does that make the depot last past the 12 hours is where I'm stuck? Do higher doses give longer duration than lower doses? Or do overdoses give longer duration? Sorry if I'm being dense, but I don't understand it well enough, no lightbulb moment yet. o_O
The depot can last up to six subsequent cycles.....with any dose you reduce from. But, even moreso towards the question you are asking is, yes, in a given cycle, duration can be longer than 12 hours. Absolutely....and that can be just from the last shot you gave.

There are so many variables which affect duration. Sometimes it is because the dose is too much; sometimes it is (and I hate to sound like a broken record) absorption differences; sometimes it is just how the cat’s body is dealing with the insulin that cycle.

On back to back reductions, if a kitty comes back down into the 40s the first four cycles after reduction, I am generally inclined to hold the dose and not reduce. But at three cycles past the reduction and in the 30s, I’m all about reduction for safety. You can always go back up.

Could the 36 be depot? Certainly. But it’s not worth the risk.

You did great on stacking the numbers in the AMPS. My only suggestion is that when you have a breather, that you put the numbers in terms of hours since last shot instead of actual time on your clock.

Be sure you get a +1. Just because you reduced doesn’t mean you have no chance of seeing a lower cycle today. You are still dealing with depot so best to keep an eye on the numbers unless she shoots up.
 
Last edited:
There is actually nothing I need the protocol at all that states that using three times between 40 and 50 is for long term diabetics.

I'm guessing it was a game of telelphone into "reserved for long term diabetics" because of one too many close calls with the 3 under 50 and one under 40? So the spirit of it is probsbly for people that have a lot of data and know their cat pretty well?

Stacy: can you show me a day on the SS where she was at a lower number at +10, you fed, and it didn’t help? Or are you talking about 12/10 and was that the only time? BTW, we need to revise the SS because looking at the AMPS, I can’t tell you stalled an hour but the remarks say you did.

I don't have a data point to reference for you on the SS other than 12/10, because we aren't often in the position of shooting that low, but I've never fed a +10, only preshot or +1 and +2. What I do know is that if she is falling, rather than rising at a preshot, it will continue and even if it's gradual, it's still going to be roughly a 20 point drop, big deal if preshot is 70, not as much if it's 80 or 90. I started feeding her gravy or honey with RadCat at drops I noticed early in the cycle sometime after 11/24. Here are the cycles that illustrate what I'm talking about, the first 2 on a decline with no food intervention (other than RadCat) the second 2 on a decline with honey and RadCat: 11/1 PM, 11/24 AM, 11/29 PM, 12/6 PM. with varying degrees of success, but the best marker for success, more than food intervention, was a (slightly higher) low preshot number. When she's going down, the food bump is negligible with honey and FF gravy (12% carb), 20 points at best, it seems. These also end on, what looks to me to be a double dip cycle.

I had this same issue with Gracie on Lantus and it’s one reason I switched her to Levemir (not suggesting that you do that at this point). Thankfully, she would do this at a.m. +10 and PMPS so I didn’t have to wake to it. But she would be flat green (even in the 90s) or up a little at +10, in the 50s at shot time, and in the 40s at +.5.

One thing we don’t want to do (and I’m speaking to the masses here), is feed high carb, gravy, or karo to get the numbers up high enough to shoot. But, there is nothing wrong with feeding a couple of tsp of LC (6-8%) at +10 (not after unless you are very experienced and know your cat) to stop any further drops and at least, hopefully, give us a number (50 or above) we can shoot.

What we have found on the board is that cats tend to do better with some carbs over zero carbs. I know you feed zero carb Radcat and I’m 150% a raw diet advocate. But I’m wondering if you want to have a food that is 6-8% carbs for situations like this and save the Radcat for other times and when she’s surfing?

I struggle with having the higher carb food in the regular mix only because I have known this cat for a couple decades and like most, she's really picky and weird about food. My fear is that she will fixate on the 6-8% carb, if I find one she will eat, and then refuse the RadCat or visa versa. She's always been a one food kind of cat. I had to switch her from kibble to wet, cold turkey, no choice in the matter, because of teeth extractions. (I know they say cats without teeth can eat kibble, but I'm here to tell you, they can choke on it too). She lost some weight refusing to eat more than a bite or two in the beginning of that transition, depsite following all the rules of transitions and trying all kinds of foods, and I'm insanely lucky she didn't get fatty liver and die. Her diet has so much to do with her health and I researched and agonized over choosing it, so I have to dig my heels in a bit. I'm very open to modifying the radcat with higher carbs somehow or just feeding gravy, on its own, in addition when necessary. I found some mousse varieties of cat food? I heard they sell just cat gravy?

I see you fed her Radcat with honey on the morning of 12/10 after the shot to get her up. I just wonder if you need some bigger guns with her considering her antics?

Here is what I would try when she’s 50/60 at +10:
—feed a couple tsp LC in the 6-8% range
—at PS, if she’s the same or lower as +10 but shootable, feed a MC food to ge the numbers up before she onsets

Thoughts? You know her best. I can just look at the SS and also go based on my experience with a kitty who did this a lot.

She does seem to need bigger guns for these isolated instances, which I'm guessing will become more frequent if she settles in to greens and I have lower preshot numbers consistently. That's my sticking point with having another food in the mix regularly. I think she treats the gravy like a treat and it probably doesn't fill her up like food, so that's why I say gravy, mousse, something more like that than a meaty cat food.

Thanks so much for your insight, I'm glad you've seen these tricks before so I don't have to reinvent the wheel. I think I just need to find a food modification that I can live with that will give the carbs needed to get her over the hump. :bighug:
 
+1 160. @Marje and Gracie if (and it's a big if still) she's going to bounce high, can I shoot earlier than the 30 minutes before her adjusted late pm shot time? I saw something you wrote to Katie&Ovie about that the other day and it's the first I've heard of it. I have no problem moving it back 15-30 at a time, but just wanted to inquire what that was about and how it applies.
 
+1 160. @Marje and Gracie if (and it's a big if still) she's going to bounce high, can I shoot earlier than the 30 minutes before her adjusted late pm shot time? I saw something you wrote to Katie&Ovie about that the other day and it's the first I've heard of it. I have no problem moving it back 15-30 at a time, but just wanted to inquire what that was about and how it applies.
Absolutely. If she skyrockets, I would suggest you shoot at +11.

I read your other posts about food and I need to respond to that in detail but I’ve got to get out the door right now. I totally understand where you are coming from and I think you’ve obviously been doing the right things for her to be 21! I can’t tell you how very much I appreciate how hard you’ve worked to know and understand her cycles.

It will be tonight but I will respond to the food discussion. I hope that’s ok.
 
Newbie question, what does this mean?
It's from the TR protocol, and it discusses an alternative to taking a reduction at one dip under 50 (human meter) instead to 3 dips under 50 (on different day) or one dip under 40. The general rule is one dip under 50 earns a reduction.

"When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately!"
 
I read your other posts about food and I need to respond to that in detail but I’ve got to get out the door right now. I totally understand where you are coming from and I think you’ve obviously been doing the right things for her to be 21! I can’t tell you how very much I appreciate how hard you’ve worked to know and understand her cycles.

It will be tonight but I will respond to the food discussion. I hope that’s ok.
No problem at all, thank you so much for you guidance and whenever you have time to answer is fine by me. :):bighug:
 
Newbie question, what does this mean?
Excellent question!

Normally, with newly diagnosed cats (under one year diabetic), if doing the TR protocol as Stacy is, reductions are earned when the kitty drops below 50 once. However, some cats don’t hold reductions very well and the dose has to go right back up. In that case, the cat might have spent 5-6 cycles in higher numbers while we wait to see if any bounce clears and if the reduction is a good one (i.e. cat goes back into green numbers).

In the situation where a caregiver, like Stacy, has a lot of data on the kitty, knows her patterns well and tests a lot, and the kitty has failed reductions, we can employ this technique of three drops between 40-50 on separate days to hold a good dose longer. But, it’s safest if all those criteria are met.....lots of data, CG knows cat and can test, and there are failed reductions.

Now...to actually answer your question. With Lantus and Levemir, the shots are cumulative so the current one adds to the previous. They aren’t in and out like the shorter duration insulins. Therefore, the longer a good dose is held, the more the depot builds. Once it gets to a certain point, it’s like a bucket you are filling with water and it overflows if you don’t turn the tap off soon enough. That’s when you see a depot that needs to be drained a bit and the dose lowered.

Putting together holding a dose longer by using the three between 40-50 reduction method and the concept of the depot, Karen is just stating that the depot can get too large (too much water in the bucket). If Stacy had reduced at one time below 50 instead, that wouldn’t have happened. But I also think for Asia, she wouldn’t have held the reduction again and would have lost some healing time in green numbers.

Make sense?
 
Lots of good info in this condo - not going to add much. Good luck with the new dose. I too stay away from doses that get me into 30's. Fortunately, Neko only ever gave me the 40's at wake up time. Lower was mid cycle. :rolleyes:
I'm guessing it was a game of telelphone into "reserved for long term diabetics" because of one too many close calls with the 3 under 50 and one under 40? So the spirit of it is probsbly for people that have a lot of data and know their cat pretty well?
You are right Stacy, the "technique for people whose cat fails reduction and know their cat with lots of data", has morphed into "technique for long term diabetics". Every once in a while we have to correct the myth.
 
One quick note before we get to your questions from earlier. Thank you for revising the times in the AMPS cell. I believe you shot 2.5 hours late today which would be +14.5 but you show +15.5 on the SS.

I don't have a data point to reference for you on the SS other than 12/10, because we aren't often in the position of shooting that low, but I've never fed a +10, only preshot or +1 and +2. What I do know is that if she is falling, rather than rising at a preshot, it will continue and even if it's gradual, it's still going to be roughly a 20 point drop, big deal if preshot is 70, not as much if it's 80 or 90. I started feeding her gravy or honey with RadCat at drops I noticed early in the cycle sometime after 11/24. Here are the cycles that illustrate what I'm talking about, the first 2 on a decline with no food intervention (other than RadCat) the second 2 on a decline with honey and RadCat: 11/1 PM, 11/24 AM, 11/29 PM, 12/6 PM. with varying degrees of success, but the best marker for success, more than food intervention, was a (slightly higher) low preshot number. When she's going down, the food bump is negligible with honey and FF gravy (12% carb), 20 points at best, it seems. These also end on, what looks to me to be a double dip cycle.

Let’s look at those cycles ( and thank you for being specific....very helpful).
11/1 The a.m. cycle was a bounce clearing cycle and I would expect her to keep dropping after PMPS.
11/24: Not a bounce clearing cycle and it was a perfect, flat cycle.
11/29: lovely PM cycle after clearing the bounce in the morning. She was down at +1 but the rest of the cycle might have been affected by the honey (it brought her up so she onsets from a higher number) and then she bounced or lost duration (hard to tell without being able to see how fast she climbed that night).
12/6: She was clearing the bounce the day before. That morning just looks to me like normal waning of the previous PM shot by AMPS and then she onset. PMPS looks like second dip.

I didn’t count the times but it looks to me like she doesn’t get a food spike as much as she does. Not all cats get a +1 food spike (Gracie often did not) and that can make our work a little harder. What it looks like to me is she’s getting enough duration on some of these cycles that her second dip is around +1 and then she onsets and drops lower. Or, even more likely, she is a very early onset kitty. Take a look at Gabby’s SS (hyperlink is not working on my iPad right now so here's the link: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1jBOu0s4cv1XI6_-whkECk_kQGVwhr6Fryw-bFt-SCuE/pub?hl=en&hl=en#. Look at her oldest SSs and you’ll see a very familiar pattern. This was before Sienne learned to control the drops. If you look at her newest SSs, Sienne figured it out and was a master at it. She couldn’t use HC food or gravy because Gabby was allergic so she used LC food and honey or karo....I don’t remember which. When the remarks state “HC”, it was honey or karo.

I struggle with having the higher carb food in the regular mix only because I have known this cat for a couple decades and like most, she's really picky and weird about food. My fear is that she will fixate on the 6-8% carb, if I find one she will eat, and then refuse the RadCat or visa versa. She's always been a one food kind of cat. I had to switch her from kibble to wet, cold turkey, no choice in the matter, because of teeth extractions. (I know they say cats without teeth can eat kibble, but I'm here to tell you, they can choke on it too). She lost some weight refusing to eat more than a bite or two in the beginning of that transition, depsite following all the rules of transitions and trying all kinds of foods, and I'm insanely lucky she didn't get fatty liver and die. Her diet has so much to do with her health and I researched and agonized over choosing it, so I have to dig my heels in a bit. I'm very open to modifying the radcat with higher carbs somehow or just feeding gravy, on its own, in addition when necessary. I found some mousse varieties of cat food? I heard they sell just cat gravy?

No it is not necessary to dig you’re heels in. I completely respect your knowledge of her and I understand why you wouldn’t want to tip the apple cart. So the best option is to work with what she will eat as you have been doing. I don’t know if they just sell gravy but that is an option. Oddly, honey really didn’t work for Gracie like karo did. I wish it had because I felt it was more natural but it would not do much with low numbers for her. Again, ECID.

She does seem to need bigger guns for these isolated instances, which I'm guessing will become more frequent if she settles in to greens and I have lower preshot numbers consistently. That's my sticking point with having another food in the mix regularly. I think she treats the gravy like a treat and it probably doesn't fill her up like food, so that's why I say gravy, mousse, something more like that than a meaty cat food.

Thanks so much for your insight, I'm glad you've seen these tricks before so I don't have to reinvent the wheel. I think I just need to find a food modification that I can live with that will give the carbs needed to get her over the hump.
Actually, when they start to really churn out the green, they get really flat. Where they need bigger guns is when they are still bouncing and then clearing the bounces.

If you have a cycle where she’s dropping or has been in green, you might want to get in the h it of checking the +10. If she’s still dropping and is green or she’s in the 60s, you might want to try and see if she’ll eat a couple tsp of raw. What we want to try and do is clip the duration a bit on those cycles so you might get a bit higher PS, can shoot on time, and then feed raw with a little gravy, if need be, to see if you can slow down the +1 drop.

I don’t really know of any mousse foods.

To get back on schedule, I’d suggest shooting the same time in the morning as you did tonight and then 30 mins early tomorrow night. I always found it easier to shoot early 30 mins once a day than 15 mins twice.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top