12/10, Pookey, AMPS 226, +6 93, +7 115, PMPS 263, +3 249, +5 215

Tim & Pookey

Member Since 2024
Administrator
Hi all,

Yesterday’s post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...178-pmps-245-4-221-6-167.296439/#post-3226917

Here’s a pic from last night in his favorite spot. He always falls asleep to crappy reality TV…

upload_2024-12-10_7-35-42.jpeg


Have a great one! - Tim
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-12-10_7-35-42.jpeg
    upload_2024-12-10_7-35-42.jpeg
    87.9 KB · Views: 270
LOL! Now that is taste!

Any plans to try TR? :)
We could try it! What does the transition look like? I’m assuming just start with an increase and then follow the sticky.

I’m a little scared that I’ll miss a low nadir or something, but I have to get over that with either protocol.
 
We could try it! What does the transition look like? I’m assuming just start with an increase and then follow the sticky.

I’m a little scared that I’ll miss a low nadir or something, but I have to get over that with either protocol.
He will let you know if you miss one, there will be the next one :-)
 
We could try it! What does the transition look like? I’m assuming just start with an increase and then follow the sticky.
Yes. Today is Day 4 of only wet food. I think that might be enough time for any effects of dry food to leave his system. You could start with an increase to 2U from tomorrow and then take increases/decreases as per TR.


I’m a little scared that I’ll miss a low nadir or something, but I have to get over that with either protocol.
It is perfectly natural to be petrified of lows. We have all been there. Its a rite of passage to skip you first green preshot and to over-carb (or want to) when you see green at first. Once you get used to them, they become addictive. All the cats you see that are tightly regulated or where caregivers calmly shoot 51 have all been where you are now. I skipped my first green preshot :D
 
If you want to try the TR protocol, we will be supportive.

We can teach you to shoot lower and lower (never below 50 in a human meter) so you don’t have to skip a shot with a PS below 100. While we do occasionally use skipping and stalling for new members, unless the BG is too low to shoot, the better approach is to teach you how to shoot them by staying with you.

Generally, skipping and stalling are more for the CG than the cat unless the BG is too low to shoot, you don’t have supplies, or you cannot monitor. I would not say it is a rite of passage.

But, there is also no hurry or pressure for you to switch. It is your decision.
 
If you want to try the TR protocol, we will be supportive.

We can teach you to shoot lower and lower (never below 50 in a human meter) so you don’t have to skip a shot with a PS below 100. While we do occasionally use skipping and stalling for new members, unless the BG is too low to shoot, the better approach is to teach you how to shoot them by staying with you.

Generally, skipping and stalling are more for the CG than the cat unless the BG is too low to shoot, you don’t have supplies, or you cannot monitor. I would not say it is a rite of passage.

But, there is also no hurry or pressure for you to switch. It is your decision.
Thanks Marje. I appreciate you offering the support about shooting.

At the end of the day I want whatever is best for his remission chances, while still remaining safe. It does seem like a lot of senior members here use TR and it has some scientific backing. So that’s nice.
 
Thanks Marje. I appreciate you offering the support about shooting.

At the end of the day I want whatever is best for his remission chances, while still remaining safe. It does seem like a lot of senior members here use TR and it has some scientific backing. So that’s nice.
You’re welcome. While lower numbers are scary, remember as long as you are testing and managing the curve as appropriate, you can keep him safe. We are here to teach and help you with that. I do recall when we first started, I thought I would never be able to shoot below 150 but we learned quickly here.

When I first came here, almost everyone was using the TR Protocol because most were feeding canned or raw food. Not too many people did SLGS and the TR Protocol does have a higher rate of remission.

The first goal is regulation and Pookey is pretty regulated. Next step is to be well-regulated and then tightly regulated. He’s got a great dad who is working hard on his behalf.

If you haven’t already done so, now would be a good time to start learning his onset, nadir, and duration. These are key in “knowing thy cat”.

I’ve always been a bit partial to gingers especially handsome ones like Pookey.
 
You’re welcome. While lower numbers are scary, remember as long as you are testing and managing the curve as appropriate, you can keep him safe. We are here to teach and help you with that. I do recall when we first started, I thought I would never be able to shoot below 150 but we learned quickly here.

When I first came here, almost everyone was using the TR Protocol because most were feeding canned or raw food. Not too many people did SLGS and the TR Protocol does have a higher rate of remission.

The first goal is regulation and Pookey is pretty regulated. Next step is to be well-regulated and then tightly regulated. He’s got a great dad who is working hard on his behalf.

If you haven’t already done so, now would be a good time to start learning his onset, nadir, and duration. These are key in “knowing thy cat”.

I’ve always been a bit partial to gingers especially handsome ones like Pookey.
Thanks for the kind words Marje. I found a post from 2016 that you actually contributed to about TR versus SLGS. For anyone lurking, it’s a pretty good discussion.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tr-vs-slgs-how-to-choose.161504/
 
Our first green! +6 93.

Couple things now… do we want to see a +7 or +8? Recently his nadir hasn’t been this early.

We have the TR versus SLGS thing going on. I don’t want to fail a reduction on SLGS, but now unsure about an increase with TR since this dose seems to be progressively bringing him lower.

He has great hearing when @Bandit's Mom and I talk :D
 
Recently his nadir hasn’t been this early.
This is a normal nadir “time” in the cycle but unless you test at +6 every cycle (which would be difficult and most don’t do), I wouldn’t make a conclusion yet about that. But I’m very glad you are thinking about it.

I’d grab a +7 just to see if he’s headed up and give you some of that nadir data.

You don’t have to start TR with an increase. If you want to start it today, this would be cycle one and you would continue to hold this dose since you have seen a green nadir. Usually when we see green under TR, we would hold the dose ten consecutive cycles but I want to be sure this isn’t just an aberrant green.

We do need to identify when you start TR because we have to count consecutive cycles. If you need more time to think about it, just remember under SLGS, if he drops below 90, you’ll need to reduce but that won’t preclude you from switching to TR at some point.
 
Our first green! +6 93.
Woo Hoo!!! The first of many I'm sure :cat:

We have the TR versus SLGS thing going on. I don’t want to fail a reduction on SLGS, but now unsure about an increase with TR since this dose seems to be progressively bringing him lower.
I've been here for a little bit now, and the advice I always feel confident giving, regardless of the chosen dosing method, is to "let the numbers be your guide." Often times I found myself posting about Cleo "...looks like she could use an increase" only to be hoodwinked with low greens IN THE SAME CYCLE i contemplated an increase. Cats:banghead:
I am guilty of holding doses too long and equally guilty of having an itchy increase trigger finger:facepalm:.
There's a tab in my SS labeled "links/tips." I saved them, because like this condo, I find them informative and comforting.

I have been following you and Pookey and your progress. It is evident that you are a dedicated cat parent and whatever you decide, the decision will be made with both your best interests in heart and mind. Ask a bunch of questions...lots of questions...especially the questions you think you already know the answer to, you just might be surprised ;).

PS look at that face :kiss::kiss:
 
Woo Hoo!!! The first of many I'm sure :cat:


I've been here for a little bit now, and the advice I always feel confident giving, regardless of the chosen dosing method, is to "let the numbers be your guide." Often times I found myself posting about Cleo "...looks like she could use an increase" only to be hoodwinked with low greens IN THE SAME CYCLE i contemplated an increase. Cats:banghead:
I am guilty of holding doses too long and equally guilty of having an itchy increase trigger finger:facepalm:.
There's a tab in my SS labeled "links/tips." I saved them, because like this condo, I find them informative and comforting.

I have been following you and Pookey and your progress. It is evident that you are a dedicated cat parent and whatever you decide, the decision will be made with both your best interests in heart and mind. Ask a bunch of questions...lots of questions...especially the questions you think you already know the answer to, you just might be surprised ;).

PS look at that face :kiss::kiss:
Thanks Angela!! I appreciate you keeping tabs on our journey and the nice advice.

Admittedly I might not have been the best caregiver at times in his life, so this is the least I can do for him. I am so grateful for this forum and the folks here with how much I’ve learned already.

I will be adding a tips/links tab that’s a great idea!
 
Back
Top