12/10, Pookey, AMPS 226, +6 93, +7 115, PMPS 263, +3 249, +5 215

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Tim & Pookey, Dec 10, 2024.

  1. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
  2. Staci & Ivy

    Staci & Ivy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2022
  3. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Haha! The shows are beneath him… but the birds on the feeder, that’s like high art.
     
  4. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    LOL! Now that is taste!

    Any plans to try TR? :)
     
    Staci & Ivy and Tim & Pookey like this.
  5. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    We could try it! What does the transition look like? I’m assuming just start with an increase and then follow the sticky.

    I’m a little scared that I’ll miss a low nadir or something, but I have to get over that with either protocol.
     
  6. Ailish’s Brother

    Ailish’s Brother Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2024
    Great pic! Enjoy your shows Pookey!
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  7. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
    He will let you know if you miss one, there will be the next one :)
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. Today is Day 4 of only wet food. I think that might be enough time for any effects of dry food to leave his system. You could start with an increase to 2U from tomorrow and then take increases/decreases as per TR.


    It is perfectly natural to be petrified of lows. We have all been there. Its a rite of passage to skip you first green preshot and to over-carb (or want to) when you see green at first. Once you get used to them, they become addictive. All the cats you see that are tightly regulated or where caregivers calmly shoot 51 have all been where you are now. I skipped my first green preshot :D
     
    cecile & bella and Tim & Pookey like this.
  9. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    If you want to try the TR protocol, we will be supportive.

    We can teach you to shoot lower and lower (never below 50 in a human meter) so you don’t have to skip a shot with a PS below 100. While we do occasionally use skipping and stalling for new members, unless the BG is too low to shoot, the better approach is to teach you how to shoot them by staying with you.

    Generally, skipping and stalling are more for the CG than the cat unless the BG is too low to shoot, you don’t have supplies, or you cannot monitor. I would not say it is a rite of passage.

    But, there is also no hurry or pressure for you to switch. It is your decision.
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  10. Karolina KJ & Nestle

    Karolina KJ & Nestle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2022
    I can't get over his handsomeness. An orange boy will always steal my heart haha

    Safe surfing today!:cat::cat:
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  11. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Thanks Marje. I appreciate you offering the support about shooting.

    At the end of the day I want whatever is best for his remission chances, while still remaining safe. It does seem like a lot of senior members here use TR and it has some scientific backing. So that’s nice.
     
  12. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    You’re welcome. While lower numbers are scary, remember as long as you are testing and managing the curve as appropriate, you can keep him safe. We are here to teach and help you with that. I do recall when we first started, I thought I would never be able to shoot below 150 but we learned quickly here.

    When I first came here, almost everyone was using the TR Protocol because most were feeding canned or raw food. Not too many people did SLGS and the TR Protocol does have a higher rate of remission.

    The first goal is regulation and Pookey is pretty regulated. Next step is to be well-regulated and then tightly regulated. He’s got a great dad who is working hard on his behalf.

    If you haven’t already done so, now would be a good time to start learning his onset, nadir, and duration. These are key in “knowing thy cat”.

    I’ve always been a bit partial to gingers especially handsome ones like Pookey.
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  13. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Thanks for the kind words Marje. I found a post from 2016 that you actually contributed to about TR versus SLGS. For anyone lurking, it’s a pretty good discussion.

    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tr-vs-slgs-how-to-choose.161504/
     
    Ailish’s Brother likes this.
  14. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Our first green! +6 93.

    Couple things now… do we want to see a +7 or +8? Recently his nadir hasn’t been this early.

    We have the TR versus SLGS thing going on. I don’t want to fail a reduction on SLGS, but now unsure about an increase with TR since this dose seems to be progressively bringing him lower.

    He has great hearing when @Bandit's Mom and I talk :D
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  15. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  16. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yay! Congrats! :D:D:D
    More data is always welcome, so a +7 would be good and if he is lower at +7, a +8, if you can manage it.
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  17. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    This is a normal nadir “time” in the cycle but unless you test at +6 every cycle (which would be difficult and most don’t do), I wouldn’t make a conclusion yet about that. But I’m very glad you are thinking about it.

    I’d grab a +7 just to see if he’s headed up and give you some of that nadir data.

    You don’t have to start TR with an increase. If you want to start it today, this would be cycle one and you would continue to hold this dose since you have seen a green nadir. Usually when we see green under TR, we would hold the dose ten consecutive cycles but I want to be sure this isn’t just an aberrant green.

    We do need to identify when you start TR because we have to count consecutive cycles. If you need more time to think about it, just remember under SLGS, if he drops below 90, you’ll need to reduce but that won’t preclude you from switching to TR at some point.
     
    Tim & Pookey likes this.
  18. cecile & bella

    cecile & bella Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2021
  19. Angela & Cleo

    Angela & Cleo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2022
    Woo Hoo!!! The first of many I'm sure :cat:

    I've been here for a little bit now, and the advice I always feel confident giving, regardless of the chosen dosing method, is to "let the numbers be your guide." Often times I found myself posting about Cleo "...looks like she could use an increase" only to be hoodwinked with low greens IN THE SAME CYCLE i contemplated an increase. Cats:banghead:
    I am guilty of holding doses too long and equally guilty of having an itchy increase trigger finger:facepalm:.
    There's a tab in my SS labeled "links/tips." I saved them, because like this condo, I find them informative and comforting.

    I have been following you and Pookey and your progress. It is evident that you are a dedicated cat parent and whatever you decide, the decision will be made with both your best interests in heart and mind. Ask a bunch of questions...lots of questions...especially the questions you think you already know the answer to, you just might be surprised ;).

    PS look at that face :kiss::kiss:
     
    Bandit's Mom and Tim & Pookey like this.
  20. Tim & Pookey

    Tim & Pookey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2024
    Thanks Angela!! I appreciate you keeping tabs on our journey and the nice advice.

    Admittedly I might not have been the best caregiver at times in his life, so this is the least I can do for him. I am so grateful for this forum and the folks here with how much I’ve learned already.

    I will be adding a tips/links tab that’s a great idea!
     
    Angela & Cleo likes this.
  21. Christie & Maverick

    Christie & Maverick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Nice little dabble in the lagoon today, next time put on your speedos and stay a while, Pookey :D
     

Share This Page