12/08 Booger AMPS 234

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/07/14 Booger AMPS 144 PMPS 272

Good to see a Booger condo! and glad to hear she's done ok after the dip into the 30's the other night.

After that happened, a couple of us looked at her spreadsheet to see what might have happened. She was having regular green nadirs through 11/22. At that point she bounced from the green pm cycle numbers.

11/22 - double digits on 2.5u
11/24 - dose increase to 2.75u on the third cycle following a drop into double digits (this is where the problem started)
11/30 - dose increased to 3.0u following 12 cycles of what *appears to be* high numbers (in this case relatively flat high numbers ---- i do wonder if there might have been any missed lows in there somewhere)
12/04 - double digit amps followed by the hypo in the PM cycle

The key here was that she was getting green nadirs, but the increase before the bounce cleared put her over dose, causing the higher numbers in the following days. Then the higher BGs cause glucose toxicity, which then requires more insulin to get the BGs to finally move.

Do you think you can post daily so we can help you keep an eye on what she's doing? If you have any doubts, say you have a low preshot, you may want to go ahead and reduce the dose in advance to prevent another dive. If you want to hold this dose, then just know that you'll want to continue monitoring her carefully in case you get signals that a dose decrease is coming so you can respond.

Does this make sense? I'm not sure if i've explained that adequately. I hope others will weigh in and help explain more fully.
 
Re: 12/07/14 Booger AMPS 144 PMPS 272

Hi Julie.. Yes it does make sense. Unfortunately, when I'm at work (as in today, I can only post from my phone so I can't link any other (or am unaware of how) condos so I may skip a couple condos... But I can come home that night and put them in.. (I'm here from 12-14 hours). I get updates from my husband so I do know how she is doing throughout the day but I see it is causing us to miscommunicate some.. Maybe I'll update yesterdays condo with today's date until I get home??

This am booger was 234 at amps.. I will get another update in an hour or so. Whether I can post it or not will be the question..

I think I've understood what you're saying.. I've had a hard time with booger's bounce.. This has been the most challenging thing for me.. So should I be increasing during the bounces and monitoring more or wait them out? It seems they're causing her to have severely increased numbers at some points ( as in the toxicity you referenced) and then others she just comes back down.. Sometimes I have a hard time determining what to do as I'm scared she is going to be overdosed.. Or under dosed.. So should I have increased her sooner? And then backed back off?? Is that what I'm seeing you suggest? Or are you suggesting she needs more time to come down more slowly?? Sorry, I just want to make sure I am getting this right..
 
Re: 12/07/14 Booger AMPS 144 12/08 AMPS 234

I'm at work so can't post much at the moment. I'd suggest you ask to have someone look at her ss when you're considering an increase.
 
Re: 12/07/14 Booger AMPS 144 12/08 AMPS 234

Ok, I am not going to open a new condo since I've already had comments on this one for today. Is this acceptable with the 2 dates up top or would you guys prefer I open a new one? Sorry, it is just that I can't provide links as I mentioned before if I post on my lunch break at work.

In a perfect world we'd have decreases from here on out.. but I know my bouncy kitty won't have it that way....She seemed to really do well on this dose previously until all the problems arose and we lost regulation all the sudden. And she does terrible at anything above it... I'm getting a feeling we're gonna have an active night tonight but that has yet to be seen.
 
Re: 12/07/14 Booger AMPS 144 12/08 AMPS 234

sure i think it's ok to start your new condo in the evening because of the issue you mentioned, or do an every other day one as long as it doesn't get long. In the meantime, i'd just get rid of the 12/7 info on the subject line so people don't get confused.

Nice to see that blue surf tonight! she may have a dose decrease in the works for you - we'll see. :-D in the meantime, awesome to see her spending basically the entire day in blue! Go Booger!
 
Re: 12/08 AMPS 234

Ok, that will work well for me on days I'm at work. Yes, she's done pretty well today.. seems she's getting nice and cozy back into that dose. I hope you are right about the decrease sometime soon. I can't believe how much of a different cat she's been since starting the insulin. You can see how much better she feels in playing with her brother and sister.. see it in the weight she gained (that she needed to gain) and in the decrease in water consumption and urinary output.. she's like a whole new cat! I really owe it to everyone here for all your help and support through this.. I'm just glad she's feeling better at least.. now maybe she can get well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top