12/05, Neo, 228 AMPS; 120 +6; 85 PMPS

What protocol are you using? SLGS or TR?
SLGS, I started by the recommended dosis by his vet (1 U) but reduced to 0.5 recently due to hypo episodes.

That was the right decision.
It could be that 0.5 units is too much.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
I'm trying to get my hands on the syringes recommended in one of my previous posts, I've been busy studying but I'm going to order to order them soon if they're on sale!
 
What brand of syringes are you using? If it's the BD Microfine, then there is a paper rule you can print out to get smaller doses. Alternatively, some people use digital calipers to measure the dose. This post and video shows how; Dosing with calipers You can get digital calipers at stores that sell woodworking and metalworking tools.
 
What brand of syringes are you using? If it's the BD Microfine, then there is a paper rule you can print out to get smaller doses. Alternatively, some people use digital calipers to measure the dose. This post and video shows how; Dosing with calipers You can get digital calipers at stores that sell woodworking and metalworking tools.
Yes, they are BD microfine 0.5 mL, and I've seen that video but separation between units is so small that I don't trust that I'll be able to measure correctly
 
Yes, they are BD microfine 0.5 mL, and I've seen that video but separation between units is so small that I don't trust that I'll be able to measure correctly

I am also using the BD microfine, but 0.3 mL. I am using the paper cards Wendy mentioned. They are helping a lot to make the 0.25-steps. Good luck! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am also using the BD microfine, but 0.3 mL. I am using the paper cards Wendy mentioned. They are helping a lot to make the 0.25-steps. Good luck! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks!
Next time I go to the vet I'm going to show him his spreadsheet, he was afarid that he might had become insulin resistant when he got out of remission
 
Not enough data on the spreadsheet to say insulin resistant. Looks like 0.5 units is too much if on SLGS. One other thing you could try doing is counting drops. Get a used syringe and fill it with coloured liquid - tea, pop, juice. Try twisting the plunger to get out a drop. Practice until you get consistent sized drops. Then draw your 0.5 unit dose and count how many drops in that dose. To get a 0.25 unit dose, draw 0.5 units and count out half the number of drops.

Could you put SLGS in both your spreadsheet (top row) and in the signature so we don't have to keep asking.
 
Back
Top