Michelle & Dusty
Member Since 2012
Well, I think we're headed into the vet. It was a pretty miserable night for the both of us last night. Dusty was feeling pretty terrible, restless and couldn't get comfortable with her stomach gurgling. I think it was probably because of constipation problems. (I didn't check her glucose levels throughout the night. I probably should have, but didn't want to add to her stress. Based on her number at PMPS - 309 - I'd be surprised if it was low blood sugar. That said, I have no idea.)
Anyways, after waking up basically every hour, I finally got up at 7:15 to the sounds of Dusty in the kitty litter, leaving me a poo. Hurrah! I was able to get her glucose tested and she ate a bit of the chicken, but not all of it. Normally I'd give her the insulin right after testing and right before food, but I decided to give her the food and see if she'd actually eat it. No dice. She'll lick up a bit of it but not much. (And this is after not having anything all night. Normally she's pretty ravenous and will eat everything I put in front of her.)
And so I think I'm skipping this morning's dose of insulin. I don't want to give her her dose and have to worry about force feeding her food to try to avoid a crash. I'm also taking her into the vet this morning at 11 so she can check her out and feel her up and make sure there isn't some sort of blockage that is causing her distress.
Ooof. Hopefully we'll get this sorted so we can have a very routine schedule of treatments.
Anyways, after waking up basically every hour, I finally got up at 7:15 to the sounds of Dusty in the kitty litter, leaving me a poo. Hurrah! I was able to get her glucose tested and she ate a bit of the chicken, but not all of it. Normally I'd give her the insulin right after testing and right before food, but I decided to give her the food and see if she'd actually eat it. No dice. She'll lick up a bit of it but not much. (And this is after not having anything all night. Normally she's pretty ravenous and will eat everything I put in front of her.)
And so I think I'm skipping this morning's dose of insulin. I don't want to give her her dose and have to worry about force feeding her food to try to avoid a crash. I'm also taking her into the vet this morning at 11 so she can check her out and feel her up and make sure there isn't some sort of blockage that is causing her distress.
Ooof. Hopefully we'll get this sorted so we can have a very routine schedule of treatments.