12/04 Dusty AMBG 265; PMPS 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Well, I think we're headed into the vet. It was a pretty miserable night for the both of us last night. Dusty was feeling pretty terrible, restless and couldn't get comfortable with her stomach gurgling. I think it was probably because of constipation problems. (I didn't check her glucose levels throughout the night. I probably should have, but didn't want to add to her stress. Based on her number at PMPS - 309 - I'd be surprised if it was low blood sugar. That said, I have no idea.)

Anyways, after waking up basically every hour, I finally got up at 7:15 to the sounds of Dusty in the kitty litter, leaving me a poo. Hurrah! I was able to get her glucose tested and she ate a bit of the chicken, but not all of it. Normally I'd give her the insulin right after testing and right before food, but I decided to give her the food and see if she'd actually eat it. No dice. She'll lick up a bit of it but not much. (And this is after not having anything all night. Normally she's pretty ravenous and will eat everything I put in front of her.)

And so I think I'm skipping this morning's dose of insulin. I don't want to give her her dose and have to worry about force feeding her food to try to avoid a crash. I'm also taking her into the vet this morning at 11 so she can check her out and feel her up and make sure there isn't some sort of blockage that is causing her distress.

Ooof. Hopefully we'll get this sorted so we can have a very routine schedule of treatments.
 
Re: 12/04 Dusty AMPS 265

Sending good vetty vines to Dusty. Hopefully they can easily figure out what's going on and get her back on track.
 
Re: 12/04 Dusty AMPS 265

Michelle

If you didn't shoot, then instead of AMPS, you would put "AMBG" in the subject line.

I would encourage you to post, in the future, before you decide not to shoot. There are other options that enable you to get some insulin in your baby. The best thing you can do for her diabetes is consistency in dosing and that includes giving the shots roughly every 12 hours. Because lantus is a depot insulin, when you don't give a shot, you drain the depot that you've been trying to build. I understand about being worried on having insulin on board and her not eating. We are always concerned about kitties developing DKA which is usually due to infection, not enough insulin, not enough food, and not enough water. That doesn't mean I think Dusty is headed down that path...I don't. But we never know what types of infections might be brewing that they hide from us. There are always going to be good reasons that it's necessary to skip a shot but for the most part, getting "some" insulin in them is the best scenario. Again...we are always happy to help you with that decision.

I'm so sorry she isn't feeling well and we send tons of healing vines that she'll start to feel better soon. Good luck at the vet and please let us know what she says. I think it is a wise decision to get her in.
 
Re: 12/04 Dusty AMPS 265

Thanks, Marge! Just back from the vet and they couldn't identify anything wrong, so it was probably a combination of a tummy upset and my anxiety about things. After getting back from the vet she was willing to eat a bit more and is now enjoying a well earned nap time. And I'll be sure to post a thread before skipping the insulin again. You all are such a wonderful resource.
 
Dusty's feeling a bit better this evening - vocalizing a bit more like normal and getting out and about the house. Also putting the new cat, Gus, in his place a bit more. I'm going to keep giving her a 1/16th of the miralax to avoid constipation issues. (So that's glucosamine, zyrtec, miralax, and insulin. My how medicines seem to multiply. ;-) )

Both the glucose test and the insulin injection went very smoothly and Dusty was fine, for the most part. She still has a small meow when I have to inject her, but soon after she gets cuddles and chicken and things have been smoothed over.

I also found a great little pet store a couple of blocks away from my house that sells a great variety of diabetic friendly foods. I bought a few different cans to try out and a couple of the freeze dried treats. I think I'll probably do halvsies with the high quality food and the fancy feast, to save some pennies.
 
Thanks, me too! I think it's the fact that she (and most kitties) try to hold it in, try to hide the pain, is what is hardest for me.
 
I'm glad you took her in and she's doing well. Great news!

Are you using 31g syringes? If not, it might help her not meow if you switch to a smaller syringe like 31g. I found Gracie even "meeped" at a 30g but not the 31g.

Her PMPS isn't too bad at all for a skipped shot :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top