12/02: Harry AMPS 67!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
12/01: Harry AMPS 362, +6 239 , PMPS 185

Harry has been up'd to 2 units twice a day, and has had lowered numbers today!!
He's been eating (grazing) thru the day, has still been super hyper and happy to get pets before he gets the GB.

Yay!
 
We have given Harry his 2 units last night, after the PMPS, and his GB was 185. Nothing to be concerned about. But this morning, after testing his GB and getting a 67, he immediately got the higher-sugar turkey / cheese with gravy meal. I gave his 1/2 the can (156 g sized can), he ENGULFED it so I gave him the other half. Which he is currently also engulfing!!

....Hoping this is a sign that I can back off of the insulin, to 1.5 units! But we will do a GB several times today and update.

Any tips??
 
Yes, and he's been on insulin for two weeks now. . . Is this good? Does it take a certain amount of time to usually regulate your cat?

Helena & Harry
 
Hi Helena and Harry! Here is the link to Wednesday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31110

We put the link to our previous condo in our first post of each day. I think you have a second condo going today too...I will link that to this one too.... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31182 We open one condo per day for each kitty. So, did you get another BG test for harry yet?
Your SS shows that you did not shoot, so your header should read +12=67 because AMPS is for a preshot number.

Did your vet suggest you increase his dose to 2.0u the other day? We use our Protocol and make increases usually of .25u unless a kitty is on a higher dose. It would be great if you can update the BGs as you get them today so that we can see what Harry is doing. If you can get a +11 BG and post that number, others will be able to help you with a dose for tonight, okay?

I am wondering if you read my post in yesterday's condo....and if you have read the starred stickies at the top of the page? If you have any questions about any of that reading material, you may post it in this condo here....
Are you using syringes with half unit markings?

ETA: I had asked a couple of questions in yesterday's post if you could read that and post your answers. Thank you! :mrgreen: Also, BG stands for Blood Glucose...if you can get some tests today it would be really good... :mrgreen:
 
Hi Pat + Raja + Shadow!
Thanks for the hints. . . but how do you link the prev. days' topic to the next days one? Do you copy the address int he browser from the prev. days' and paste it at the top of the new condo each day? And put parentheses on each end so others can click onto the link?
Todays' BG's. . . I changed the BG in Harry's chart to show the +11 for the 67 he got, (thanks, still learning here), the AMPS 2 hours after that one was 423, +4 310, and the PMPS was 311. He was hiding most of the day, it was difficult to even get the PMPS. This morning for the AM shot I gave him only 1.75 units, but this evening I'll go back to 2 units. I was more cautious with the dosage this a.m. after that drop.
Yes, I did talk to the vet and he suggested we "take it slow" and go up to 2 units. Should I have gone to the 1.75 instead and stuck with it?
I have also read the stickies for the lantus group, I'm ok with all that info but may have questions thru this process...more so with the dosages and the spikes, highs or lows with his BG levels. And I have been using the 3/10 mmol syringes, with 5/16" size with 1/2 unit markings. He barely feels it when it goes in. And we're using the 28 gauge lancets as well, seems to work well we usually don't need to prick him more than once for the precious blood drop to form!

So....the next time that his BG falls in the green, I hold back on the dose and feed him, check after two hours time to see what it's at and go from there? Then I would assume the dosage for that AM would be lowered based on the numbers from the GB test that AM? Was that the right thing to do, to get him to eat a more sugary meal (with gravy) right away, or for next time should I go with the reg. food and wait, take the BG?

Thanks !!!!!!!!
Appreciated!!!!

- Helena & Harry
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top