11/9 Essi's AMPS 243 PMPS 119, +1/142,+2/161,+3/161,+7.5/148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danette & Esmeralda (Essi)

Member Since 2010
Recap 11/9
AMPS 243
+2~260
+4~140
+5~86
+6~84
+7~96
+9~114
+12~113
Delayed shot due to low +12 number
+12.25~116
PMPS +13 ~ 119 Shot
+1~142
+2~161
+3~161
+7.5 ~148
+9.5 ~ 173



Good Morning All,

We have started this morning w/excellent news, Essi jumped up on the bed early this morning, and the chair this morning in my office. I gave her big hugs & kisses, praised her for such a good job done.
I hope you all have a great day, may we all have green/blue numbers today.

Recap of yesterday 11/8
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... =9&t=29325
 

Attachments

  • imagesCA405U49.jpg
    imagesCA405U49.jpg
    13.6 KB · Views: 1,632
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243

Sunny yellow start to the day for essi! I hope she comes down to the blues and greens .. she's so close! Have a great day guys!

BTW, love the pic!
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243

Great news on the jumping, Danette! It's so good to see them improving, a good sign. Nice yellow AMPS. :-D

Looking at the SS....she had a pretty good sized drop from PMPS 197 to +2.5 135....when you see that, I would test again in an hour or so....sooner if she's in the greens. They often drop fast early in the cycle. It's good news...just want to keep an eye on her so she doesn't get too low, KWIM? Many kitties go lower overnight than during the day. Are you leaving food out?

When you get a chance, I would look at the stickie about being data ready to shoot lower numbers, particularly the bottom section about gathering data. Also take a look at Libby's Post about dealing with lower preshots. You want to start gathering the data you need for that...get some +1s and +2s when the PS #s are lower, it will help you down the road. You want to see what is normal food spike, onset, etc.so when you have a lower number, you know what to expect from those early tests. Ditto on the late cycle tests. You're doing great, just homework to get you ready....
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260

Morning Laurie,

I thank you for your support, yah, I fell behind on my momma bean duties last night. I did leave food out for her, and it wasnt touched when I got up this morning. Also I did get up +7 hrs, to check on her, she was cuddled down next to me, snorring away (yah she snores something horrible lol, sometimes louder than my husband lol). Just cldnt get my lazy buns outta bed, way to cold (40) last night (for California anyways).

Are there pupils always dialated (big) now?
Does Mr Tinkles fur have a lil kitty odor? maybe from the insulin? or new food? maybe the b-12?
Her breath is okay, typical kitty breath... she had her teeth cleaned in Jan 2010.
Can you reccomend any treats for overnight?

Other than that, she is doing good, everyday is better than the last. She was in pretty bad shape last Monday/Tuesday. So this is such a relief, to see her a lil active. Had to board her over Halloween Weekend, and when I picked her up last Monday, she was worse off than when I left her. I questioned the vet/nurses if they gave her the correct dose 2xs a day. Of course they said Yes. But I have doubts. Anyways on the "hunt" for a new vet. And its not that Im truelly unhappy w/our current vet, but I dont think she is educated enough in this dept for me to feel comfortable. In Jan when she got her teeth cleaned, the vet/dr did say Ess glucose was a lil high-310. And to start to change her diet so she doesnt become diabetic. I did (but it was dry food), but then she skyrocketed to 500+. In my opinion only, I feel the vet/dr should have been a lil more on top of Essi's numbers at 300+.
Well thanks for listening, that was my rant for the day LOL......
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260

Hey Danette, don't feel bad, I fell asleep on Tinkles and woke up to a 43. ohmygod_smile I knew he was going to be low and slept through the alarm...so, it happens! Good that you left food out, sounds like she's another one like Tinkles..sleeps through snack time...although he is getting better about it.

Treats to leave out at night? Hmmm...I usually just leave out food (autofeeder), for treats I use boiled chicken breast cut into little cubes...mostly for testing, but you could use it to add to her food or use as a snack. Some people use freeze dried chicken for treats (they love it!), or crush it and put it on top of food to encourage eating...be careful about getting in that habit though, some cats will refuse to eat without it after they get used to it! :shock:

Tinkles' fur doesn't smell any different to me since dx/insulin/food change, but that could be just my experience...what does it smell like? Lantus has a distinct odor, sort of like bandaids. The pupil question....I remember somebody saying something about the pupils, but don't remember what it was, I'll search on it and let you know.

Not to defend the vet, but it could be that she thought the BG would come down after the dental....good that you had that done, bad teeth or infection/inflammation can cause high BG. Unfortunately, most vets don't know a great deal about FD, they have to know so much general information that it's hard for them to know a lot about any specific disease and stay current on it....including nutrition! We often say here that we have the luxury of being able to focus on just FD, so we can know a great deal about one disease, while vets have to know a little about every disease, not to mention different species too! While I understand your frustration, I don't depend on my vet for FD help...I get that here. I love my vet, I go for routine visits, illness, etc...I give her my SS so she knows what I'm doing, but we don't really talk about his FD care much because I'm managing it better than she would ever try to do. Most of us here go the extra mile for our kitties, we aren't the typical pet owner. So if you like your vet otherwise, I would not worry too much about the FD knowledge because it's pretty hard to find a vet that has as much FD expertise as this board's combined knowledge and experience. JMHO
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260

Hey guys,
Hope all is well you everyone today (green/blue numbers aplenty) !!!!
Can anyone reccomend a automatic feeder (for wet food) ? I was looking at amazon 8 day feeder by ergo? does anyone know of this unit?

Thanks you
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140

Is tuna (in water) in the pouch (human) okay to give her as a treat? I know its good for us (try to eat it for lunch), and full of protein, wanted to make sure it was okay for Ess also.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140

Danette

I'm not sure I would give her human tuna. We used to give all of our cats the juice in the tuna can but now almost all companies have started putting soy in the juice (check the can) and you do not want her to have soy.

Just as a thought...many of us are feeding the curve by doing "minimeals". We divide their regular food portion up and feed a little at each of the following times: PS, +1, +2, +3 and +8 or +9 (to get the pancreas working). Never feed closer than two hours to a PS number so don't feed past +10. We used to feed at +10 but now for Gracie, we do a feeding at +9. We can't use an automatic feeder due to the other three civvies on different diets...and I want to be sure Gracie gets her minimeals so I set the alarm for 4:30 am (+9) and get up and feed her...it takes no more than 5 mins and then I go btb. If she gets really hungry after her minimeals, I give her no carb freeze dried chicken treats...not alot...just something to take the edge off. But typically, she is not hungry on this feeding schedule.

Essi is doing really nice today!!
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140,+5/86

Marjourie,

Ok thanks for the tip on the tuna, I will open a pounch for lunch (trying to watch what I eat), and all 3 of my furbabies tackle me. Ive been giving Essi (and the other 2), Merrick Cowboy Cookout. A heaping tbsp every 2 hours, However I dont feed them after +10, until after I get the PS numbers, I usually give her, her insulin while she is eating aprox +12.25. Im trying to wein the other two furbabies off of dry; Essi cant get to it, she is not able to jump to high places, i put it up high ;-) . Mean momma bean i am LOL. Oh and she knows its there toooo, she can smell it, i swear. Our red headed step child (tigger), seems to love the transition to the wet from the dry. But then we have a Zoe, another siamese, she is being stuborn and turns her nose up at the Cowboy Cookout. I just order some Ocean Breeze, keeping my fingers crossed Zoe will like it. I even put Zoe's dry food on top, to get her to try the cowboy cookout. That was a no - go - toooooo. Zoe is our snot of the family. :YMSIGH:

Trying to get them all on the same schedule
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140,+5/86,+6/84,+7/96

this is the feeder I am using - http://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-5-Meal-El ... 786&sr=1-2

I didn't know they made an 8 day feeder. I wish the reviews were more positive, I'd be breaking into the bank to buy this one.

If I could teach Shadow to use it, it could be ideal. She just can't get it. But we keep trying. I'm going to be following your condo this evening and see what others suggest.

eta: really sweet words out of you in Sally's condo, girlie. I couldn't agree more with every word you wrote. :-D
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140,+5/86,+6/84,+7/96,+9/

AWWW Kim,
Thank you, (Sally Condo) that very much came from the heart, Iam truelly blessed to have found all of YOU.... Id yell on my roof top if they didnt "come look for me w/ajacket" LOL
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140,+5/86,+6/84,+7/96,+9/

Hi again, Danette. I buy canned tuna (people tuna) in the health-food store. It has only tuna and water (no soy).
Essi is doing so well today.

Ella
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140,+5/86,+6/84,+7/96,+9/

Hey Guys,

Sorry I ranted regarding Sally's Condo lol. Guess it just hit a nerve tonight. Very pasionate about this site, and If someone isnt "open minded" they should not post "I Dont Want Advise". Just erks me. We all ban together as Furbabie Lovers...

Kiss & Hugs

Danette & Essi
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140,+5/86,+6/84,+7/96,+9/

It looks like things are finally slowing down for you. No wonder you didn't want to get out of bed after your several day pokefest introduction to LL.

I tried the feeder that Kim suggested. I've had problems with it. The motor died on two of them. Others have had much better luck though. I use a Petsafe feeder that's more low tech and has only 2 compartments. I thought I remember someone mentioning freezing food for "catsickles" -- you make a soupy mixture of food and water and then freeze in ice cube trays or some other container.

I haven't noticed any odor on Gabby's fur. Sometimes, a drop of Lantus that's still on the needle may get on her fur but there's no change that I've noticed on her fur nor have I noticed any dilation of her pupils. It does sound like Essi is feeling good and that's the most important thing.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140,+5/86,+6/84,+7/96,+9/

hmmmm, regular B vitamins are kind of stinky. i wonder if the odor you're smelling is from the methyl B12. i've never used it, so i really don't know if that could be it. looks like essi had an awesome day! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's AMPS 243,+2/260,+4/140,+5/86,+6/84,+7/96,+9/

Good Evening Guys,
Thank you Sienna & Gabby, I actually ordered the 8 day auto feeder, I will let you guys know how it works out, its not really for Essi, its for the other two, when we are gone camping Thanksgiving Week. Esmeralda is going "Camping" w/us. :-D Shall be an adventure.

Jill, yah, I thought the same thing, b-12. My husband didnt smell anything, maybe Im just being a Momma Bean. LOL
 
11/9 Essi's PMPS 113

Good Evening Guys,

Wld you guys still give her, her pm u?

And wow, can I just share, she is full of piss & vinegar tonight, attacking everything as if she was in her teens lol.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113

have not fed yet. last time she ate was +9

lol, homework = read a lot again today and re-read, did not take a nap though, will just have to stay awake tonight. been testing all day.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113

Laurie,

116, its funny cause somedays her u last longer than +12, and other days it seems to were off quicker. The past two days, she was consistant, but today she is lower w/.25. Maybe these are the true numbers?
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

I'd say that the shed is full, today looks like a very nice normal cycle. However, it's a low preshot, and I'm not going to be able to stay up with you to help you through the cycle. :sad: I'm pretty wiped out from last night.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Laurie,
AWW dont worry about it, got this one... going to give her a weak .25 (if there is such a weak .25), and feed her, maybe give her a lil (5pieces) of kibble. Retest her at the top of the hour.

Got plenty of "stuff" here, HC food, cream, cheese and if all that doesnt go well, I know syrup works LOL

Good Nite Girl, Get some sleep, I will touch base w/you tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

I hate to have you skip the shot, but I don't want to see you shoot and then I fall asleep on you and there's no one on to help you! You could continue to stall, re-test every 15 minutes, then shoot when she gets high enough that you feel ok with it, reduce the dose or skip the shot.

I can stay up for a while, but no way can I make it for the whole cycle....not even to the midpoint.

If you are comfortable shooting, make sure you get a +1 and +2 to start with.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

LOL, go to bed Laurie, Promise I will be okay.

Iam going to retest her at the top of the hour, she just ate, there is a part of me, that is ok w/shooting her at 116, but then there is a wee bit of me that has just talked myself out of it. LOL
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

I can't stay up either, sorry. My advice would be what I think you're already planning - keep testing until she turns upward, then shoot 0.1 units. If she zooms up fast in the next 1/2 hour, then it should be ok to shoot the whole 0.25. Then get a +1 and +2 and go from there.

It's great that she is doing this after such a big dose reduction!
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Oh crap how do I give her .1?

She went from 114, 113, 116, maybe slowly raising. I am going to retest her now

Pulling her dry food was very big w/her numbers
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Wow, you and Essi are doing so great! Just 8 days ago her dose was 2.00u and now it is 0.25u and heading downward.
Can I say WOW again? I bet you are smiling a lot these days!
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

you still up? early in Ca. I'll be around for a while, I'll check back in. I'm not Laurie or Libby but I'm a great hand-holder and I can share with you what I know about the shed.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Yah, still up. Thanks Kim, I think she will be okay, gave Ess her U at the top of the hr, so I will retest her +1., I gave her a weak .25
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Removing dry food from the diet sure makes a difference and for Essi that difference is so dramatic!

Here is the photo of 0.1unit. It is in the Stickies as Laurie said, but I sharpened the photo a bit so it was a little more clear.
Hope it helps!



zeropt1unit.jpg
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Thank you Kim! You're in good hands, Danette. :-D I'm fading fast here.

Thanks CD! I found the pic, but I didn't know how to copy it, my brain is already sleeping I guess! :lol: The close up is great!
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Thank you guys,

Yah, there is no daylight between the plunger and the 0.00 = .1

There is a weebit of daylight between the plunger and the 0.00 =.25
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Danette

You are doing so wonderful....and listen to you sounding like a calm pro now!!! You've been through the scary stuff and knew you could do it!!
Kim is a great one to be up for you if you need someone. Essi is doing spectacular!

Also wanted to tell you that your note in Sally's condo was really, really sweet. I admire you for saying what you did. I resolved to not say anything
further and then my DH posted :lol: :lol: So unlike him to be so outspoken but he is really worried about Mugsy, too. Anyway...you wrote a
lovely post to her.

Are you shooting her at different spots like scruff one time and chest, belly, or flank another? If you are, that MIGHT be the reason for the difference in how fast
she absorbs and her duration. Here's some info about that for reference: http://fdlibrary.yuku.com/topic/51/t/Sh ... erlap.html

Hope you don't have a late night...I'm headed to bed...poor DH...day shift AND night shift with Grace during the week and I get the weekends :lol:
Have a super night!
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Well, for me I'd say that there is a hair's width of daylight for the 0.10unit and a bit more for the 0.25u. But whatever you call it just be consistent.
My 0.10 unit might have been different than yours, but it doesn't matter.
As long as you know what you mean. :lol:

Here is a photo of 0.2 in the syringe.

zerotwosyringe.jpg
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

i think that photo looks brutal! We aren't close to that yet but folks in here all the time discuss the difficulty of those tiny doses.

So here's the one little nugget about the shed that helped bring it into focus for me - the insulin makes micro-crystalizations under the skin and that allows it to be absorbed very slowly because those little crystals slowly melt into their little systems.so part of every injection you give goes into that "depot" until it is filled and that is why Lantus is so slow to get started on their systems. and why skipping a shot is worse than shooting a decreased dose. because a skipped shot depletes the shed more than a "big chicken-sh!t" dose does. (BCS dose). and that is why sometimes when the new folks (me included) show up in here with some ungodly dose that their vet has worked them up to, the best advice is to skip a shot so that the shed can drain. and that is also why you can have a low BG on the second dose of a reduction - because the shed is still full.

it took me a while to get the whole "shed" thing and so I've done a ton of reading.

so is all this clear as mud? :-D
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Marjorie,

AWW you guys are to kind. I said nothing I didnt mean. Im usually not outspoken at ALL, guess it just hit a nerve tonight. I know Sally is worried, and thats what I was trying to convey, we all are worried, and we all want the best, but dont "bite the hand that is trying to help you" either.

After I posted it, I wondered if I overstepped my bounds nailbite_smile

As to shooting at different spots. NO the vet taught me to find Essi's shoulder blades, pull up on the hair/skin, it will make a hollow point, thats where I shoot, always. The vet made me test/shoot the resident cat. Needless to say the kitty got scared and ran off, and I just cried. Its funny now, to look back on it.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

I'm off to bed...you're doing great Danette...you've had quite the trial by fire so far! I'll check on you in the morning.

Nice explanation, Kim!

G'night all!
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 113,+.25/116

Kim,

LOL, oh hell no, (lol snort lol snort) just a bit muddy for me, but I am going to re-read it... re-read it.... and re-read it again, until I get it. I know the insulin gets put into a storage shed until she need(s) it. That I can understand. But some days it doesnt seem to last 12hr and other times, like today, its lasting longer than 12hrs. I take it, its because she isnt using her storage shed?

+1 142
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 119, +1/142

Essi may be one of those kitties that moves to the falls in short order. Right after I came here, there was a girl and her cat that were here 2 weeks. I kid u not. Once she made the switch to wet food, her little guy's pancreas woke right up.

She is still making the transition from dry food, it's really early in the dance for her.You and Essi are still trying to find your dose. And she may be done with insulin by the time you find it. :lol: wouldn't that be cool?
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 119, +1/142

Yah, that would be a wonderfull thing, she is a perfect canidate for her pancrease to wake up. Kim, you dont have to stay up, I am really fine, Im actually downloading some pic(s) of my furbabies on my facebook. Trying to tell myself I could be doing some office work right now LOL. My whole family has crashed. Its actually quiet right now, well except Essi snoring on the office chair next to me.
 
Re: 11/9 Essi's PMPS 119, +1/142

15 minutes til my +2, I'll be around a bit longer. what was your girl's last BG?

eta: Bailey's, yum - now I'm gonna have to raid the cabinet. cross your fingers for me.


success! what a great idea!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top