11/8 Lulu PMPS 81 - Help - What dose to give?

With SLGS you don’t give insulin if the BG is under 90. We suggest stalling without food and testing again to see if tge BG is rising.
 
With SLGS you don’t give insulin if the BG is under 90. We suggest stalling without food and testing again to see if tge BG is rising.

Apologies, I usually wait and test again but I saw the level low so I fed her right away to get it back up. Is 81 considered very low? Also, I just tested again after she finished her meal 20 mins ago and it's at 117 now.
 
Yes. It’s too low to shoot. She’s also earned a reduction and her new dose will be back to 1.0. You could see if she goes up and shoot in a couple of hours but Dan you he off schedule they much? What did you feed her and how much?
 
Yes. It’s too low to shoot. She’s also earned a reduction and her new dose will be back to 1.0. You could see if she goes up and shoot in a couple of hours but Dan you he off schedule they much? What did you feed her and how much?

Sorry, I didn't understand the second half of the sentence about schedule. I will check her BG level again in a few hours but want to try to stay close to the usual schedule. I fed her Fancy Feast Classic Pate 3 oz
 
You can give one unit but you would need to shoot 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. To get back on schedule you can shoot 15 minutes ear.y each cycje or 30 minutes all at once every 24 hours.
 
You can give one unit but you would need to shoot 11 1/2 hours from when you shoot. To get back on schedule you can shoot 15 minutes ear.y each cycje or 30 minutes all at once every 24 hours.

Thanks, will follow this to get back on schedule. I haven't given her the dose yet, would I need to feed another meal to give the injection?
 
You would not need to feed another meal but would need to monitor if her bg goes down much. Keep her hungry in case you need to bring her bg up with food. Do you have supplies and can you monitor as late as needed?
 
You would not need to feed another meal but would need to monitor if her bg goes down much. Keep her hungry in case you need to bring her bg up with food. Do you have supplies and can you monitor as late as needed?

Sounds good and yes I can monitor late. I just tested her and its at 213 so I'll give the 1 unit now
 
Looks like she might be bouncing from the low for her. You might not need to monitor to late. I’d get a +2 to start.
 
Let’s fix your ss. Your pmps will be 112 so put that in the preshot box along with the 81. instead of NS. Then you will put the +2 in the +2 box. Add in tge comments section that you fed lc and shot I think it was 2 hours hours later?
 
Let’s fix your ss. Your pmps will be 112 so put that in the preshot box along with the 81. instead of NS. Then you will put the +2 in the +2 box. Add in tge comments section that you fed lc and shot I think it was 2 hours hours later?

Fixed the SS, hope it looks right. Also, tested her at +2 and her level is 408. I'm worried the 1 unit may not be enough since the levels are usually high with it. Should I try to aim for in between 1 - 1.25?
 
If following SLGS you shoot 1.0. Any reason why you aren’t following TR? See what happens after the bounce clears. As long as you can get 2 tests each cycle you could switch. Think about it.
 
If following SLGS you shoot 1.0. Any reason why you aren’t following TR? See what happens after the bounce clears. As long as you can get 2 tests each cycle you could switch. Think about it.

The only problem is I won’t be able to test throughout the day due to work so worried how her levels will be with TR when I’m not home. Todays AMPS is 361, I’ll give 1 unit and see how it goes
 
It is possible to do TR when working. Here’s a sticky on that.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/

Thank you for sending this. Do you think it'd be best to do TR instead of SLGS? I feel like having the dose between 1 - 1.25 units may work best for my cat since 1 unit isn't enough and 1.25 may be more than she needs. Not sure what's the best to do in this case. For TR, can I still use the Alpha Trak 3 meter or would I need to get a human meter instead?
 
You don’t need to use a human meter to do TR. You just take reductions if under 68 instead of 50. I don’t think 1.25 is too much insulin for Lulu. The lowest she got was 81. That’s not a take action bg requiring hc or honey. Which method you follow is a personal preference based upon your comfort level. I will say that lantus does a good job of giving flat cycles when shooting low most of the time. That’s why you will see the comment shoot low to stay low.
 
You don’t need to use a human meter to do TR. You just take reductions if under 68 instead of 50. I don’t think 1.25 is too much insulin for Lulu. The lowest she got was 81. That’s not a take action bg requiring hc or honey. Which method you follow is a personal preference based upon your comfort level. I will say that lantus does a good job of giving flat cycles when shooting low most of the time. That’s why you will see the comment shoot low to stay low.


Ohh okay, thought 81 was considered hypo but makes senses now depending on which method chosen if insulin can be given. I will try TR then, so I would increase to 1.25 next? Also, over time I would keep increasing the dose as long as it's not below 68?
 
Good luck with TR. Post for help and ask questions whenever you have them. When you shoot your first green ask for help if needed and one of us will guide you. Soon green will become contagious. A few things that might help are an auto feeder for while you are at work, sleeping, or can’t be home. The +2 is often like a crystal ball into the rest of the cycle. If you can get a test then it will be helpful.
Start a new condo each day please.
 
Good luck with TR. Post for help and ask questions whenever you have them. When you shoot your first green ask for help if needed and one of us will guide you. Soon green will become contagious. A few things that might help are an auto feeder for while you are at work, sleeping, or can’t be home. The +2 is often like a crystal ball into the rest of the cycle. If you can get a test then it will be helpful.
Start a new condo each day please.

Thank you, appreciate your help in every way. Going to purchase an auto feeder now which will help a bunch. Will keep you updated and post Lulu's BG levels everyday. Thanks again
 
Back
Top