11/7 Rocket - guidance needed-Jill help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
He's been on remission til 1 week ago w high #s
Nov 6 pmps 324, +3 329.4, +6 315, +9 300.6
nov 7 amps 313.2, +3 192.6, +6 73.8, +9 100.8
amps and pmps both times got 1u now want to know if below 200 to give or not?
 
I would keep shooting and make him earn his reductions just like he had to the first time around (by going below 50). The +6 today was nice, though. :smile: Maybe his shed is starting to get full and you'll start seeing some lower numbers now.

Did you have him checked over by the vet to see if you can find a reason why he came out of remission?
 
Got Convenia shot on Monday nov 1. Suspected UTI. Could not get pee sample. Bloodwork showed dehydration and high BG but nothing else. He's only gotten 2 shots pmps yesterday and amps this am...not sure what to do
 
so far I see nothing that would make me not shoot. He was pink this morning so it's great that he is already responding to this dose.

This is a good time to ask if you have high carb food on hand (whatever it is that he can eat) or syrup, and lots of test strips. I know it has been quite a while since you have needed those things and might not have them. Are you able to monitor tonight?

Hopefully it was just a UTI, and once that is resolved he'll go back OTJ easily. Is his hydration better now? Are you checking for ketones? Very important to check for ketones when infection is present.
 
Pmps is 144. I have temptations. Feed fancy feast chicken liver pate or ocean fish pate.
It's been a while yes. No ketones. I test daily since decline. He ate 1 1/2 hr ago.. Tested 5 mins ago but too nervous to give shot. Yes I've been doing the curve since yesterday and willing to do tonight. W no Internet my mobile drains quickly. Should I skip pm shot???????
 
I found your old spreadsheet and now I see why you are asking this question. Nowadays we do shoot lower numbers than you did before. The 144 is a rising number (it is higher than his nadir earlier today) so yes, you can shoot it. Then because it is the lowest you have shot, the usual is to get a +1 and +2 to see which way the cycle is going.

Here's your old spreadsheet (for the benefit of others who are helping): http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key= ... MJ0HseEPPA
 
+1 140.4
will check again at +2
How often thereafter should I test him?
I read the Convenia info. When Rocket was dx w diabetes (2008) he had a severe UTI which sent him to hospital. He was given 3 rounds of the Convenia (2 wks apart) then shortly after he went onto remission w the diabetes. He has not had a UTI since but he was peeing/drinking more Oct 28 2010 and staying close by the litter. I always keep a diary in order to notice anomalies ( w him having CRF I need to stay alert in case he crashes). The new shot now worries me.
 
you'll have to see what the +2 is. i'm not seeing a food spike at +1. *usually* the +1 is higher than the ps number and the +2 is about the same as the ps number.
 
He is not interested in food. Have prepped him 2 kinds and snubbed both(w his CRF I have to add the binder to it). Last time he ate was 1 1/2 hr b4 pmps.
 
ok, that explains the lack of a food spike.
if he has any "favorites" you might want to pull them out and sprinkle some on his food to get him to eat.
parmesan cheese? crumbled freeze dried chicken? cheese?
 
+2.5 91.8 and he ate 45 mins ago....test again in 1 hr?
I'm starting to worry... I do have temptations and dry food in the freezer (emergency food)
 
Fed him science diet chicken & liver entre (minced). That's all I have for hc. Topped it w temptations. Will report in 1/2 hr
 
no need to panic, k?
feed him a drop of karo/syrup mixed into a small amount of food and retest in 30 minutes.
we're only using karo since you don't have a supply of hc foods on hand.
 
karo will give kitty a quick spike in numbers. the spike from the food usually lasts longer.
if it were me, i would test in 30 - 45 minutes. if rocket has dropped down again, repeat with the drop of karo mixed in food.
 
+4.5 99
his amps is scheduled for 5:30am if he has low #s I won't give shot as I won't be here later to check him closely. What are your thoughts on that? Also from here on tonight based on the above #, how often should I test? He is starting to hate the constant poking cat(2)_steam
 
since you don't know when his nadir is yet, you'll want to see 2 tests with numbers rising before calling it a night.
i'd feed him some of his regular low carb food now. hopefully, it will get him surfing. test in an hour for sure. let the numbers be your guide as far as when you need to test him. the formula is simple: lather, rinse, repeat. :-D

it's your call as to whether you shoot him in the morning. skipping shots and shooting reduced doses isn't ideal, but sometimes you have to do what you have to do.

when you do go to bed, leave out some food for him to nibble on.


tomorrow, when you're well rested take some time to review the tight regulation protocol sticky.


i'll be heading to bed shortly. are you feeling ok about handling things? are things coming back to you?
 
Things are coming to me slowly. Note that he was only on insulin when dx in 2008 for 1 month...so I'm not a pro at this.
Thx I will test in 1 hr and go from there. He always gets food "free range" per se as w his CRF he needs constant feeding.
 
sounds good. you're doing great controlling the curve with food.
i'll catch up to you in the morning.

continue posting. there's usually people around at all hours...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top