Re: 11/7 Lovey PMPS 156 ? Now 136? 107/ 84? Shoot full dose
You're welcome!
I always like to be sure we follow up with something akin to an "after action report". Our goal here is to help you but also to teach so that if you wind up in a similar situation by yourself, you will know what to do.
First, I understand you work and so some of my suggestions might not be possible on work days.
While our primary goal in testing is to keep our kitties safe, it also allows us to become "data ready". For instance, it's good to alternatively get +1 and +2 tests. Why? Because it lets us see if Lovey gets a food spike after you test and feed. Why is that important? Because if you are shooting a dropping number, you will know whether she will come up from a food spike. Some cats pretty habitually get a food spike after their shot/feed time; some do not; some can't decide so they will...or won't

still...good info to know. You don't need both those tests every cycle but some +1 tests occasionally gives you good data.
The other good tests, when you are able, are +10 or +11. Why? Because they tell us if we are possibly shooting a dropping number

Shooting dropping numbers can be an excellent way to take advantage of carryover and overlap and maximize the insulin but it's something that needs to be learned how to do and you need a little data (like knowing what she does at +1 and +2).
Remember.....a dropping number is seen when the BG comes down from one PS to the next so the lowest number is at a PS. That is different from a second dip. If the BG comes down to a nadir, then rises, then comes back down at the end of the cycle (but not lower than the nadir), then it is a second dip. The latter is safe to shoot full dose, on time as long as the BG is above 80 (AT) or 50 on a human glucometer provided you have data, supplies, and can test.
So, could we have done differently tonight? I think it was very smart to retest 15-20 minutes after the initial test to see if she was dropping....and she was. As high as she was after the second test (136), it would have been a good option to shoot the full dose at that time (if you had supplies and could be up to test), FEED, get a +1 and +2. Might she have continued to drop after feeding? Possibly...but you have to learn to deal with low numbers and the best time is when you are able to test and there are people around to help.
Once she got to 84 (AT), I felt it was no longer safe for you to shoot with no data. Ideally, you shoot a 136 and learn to deal with low numbers from a higher start then have to fight the curve from the get go. Does that make sense?
She might be high tomorrow....don't worry!!! Just think of it as a fur shot. She'll get back to business in a few cycles.
We just use every opportunity to learn.
Great job, Catherine!!!
