11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182 + 3 140 PMPS 207

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Instantaneous Red Car Ride Condo

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 197
+1.5 153
+3 86
+4 73 <--- started steering with 11% to short-circuit his bounce recovery for the trip
+5.75 101 <--- steered a little more with some 20% because he wasn't eating.
+7.25 431 <--- 20 minutes after explosive poo event
PMPS 456
+1.75 402
+6 365
+11 376

Good Morning LL! ~O) ~O) ~O) Anxiously awaiting delivery of much needed Marvelous Mannie Brew!

Yesterday Leo FINALLY started to clear a multi-cycle red bounce from hell, then as soon as I put him into the car, he did his (now) expected pee, poop, and this time more diarrhea, his BG spiked to 431 and never came down. This time he LAID in the LB after pooing. I couldn't stop immediately. He had sen-dry liqui-poo all over his tail, butt, down his legs, encrusted with litter. I clean him up as best I could in the car without making it worse. He got a not-quite-successful bath upon arrival (giving baths solo to an upset cat - not so easy) and mostly finished the job himself. He got a little appetite back, thankfully his BG was so high he didn't really need the food.

BUT! After he calmed down a while, we started playing Got-Your-Tail under the bed, then I got his nanner out and threw it to him. He immediately chased after it and rolled around chewing and bunny kicking it. That warmed my heart. And he slept with me all night.

I wish he could tolerate these trips. Even if he had all the potty issues, if it didn't spike his BG and keep it high for a while I could deal with it easier. I wonder if it's even worth trying the tight regulation protocol if these constant trips send him into the stratosphere all the time. If I can't keep his BG in a healing range, am I deluding myself? Am I compromising Leo's chance of going OTJ? I think I am, and that makes me cry.
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345

oh, rats. I don't have any answers. just hugs for you and Leo. I'm sorry he doesn't do well traveling. I'm sure you've tried everything, but i thought i'd throw in that a lot of cats seem to like classical music. maybe - try playing some before you get in the car, then while you are in the car. I know it's so little to offer you, but maybe??
take good care.
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345

Thank you Mary. I've tried talk radio (since he's used to the TV running at home), regular music, tried to stay away from strong bass lines. I didn't try classical. Thanks for the suggestion.
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182

+2.5 182.

Just when I was ready to walk out the door. 182 is a great number, but he's falling quickly. I can stay until +3 for his last breakfast to make sure he at least sees it, and despite my wanting his numbers low, I'll jack the carbs up to be safe. What a game we play.
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182

Lisa, oh so sorry Leo had such a rough time this car ride. After you did the solo bath, and congrats on it, he did seem to relax and know he's home there with you. I seem to remember you trying Rescue Remedy! Was that a bust and not working? Well, it looks like a nice slide is on its way today. Have a nice day and vines for Leo. Did the liquipoo stop?

Leo, sorry you were sick yesterdy with the car ride. We'll make it all better for you today. Mannie is having everyone over his house today, and we are going to build a treehouse in a big ole tree. I will see ya soon, k, sis, Mags
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182

Poor Leo, I know how stressful it can be trying to bring a cat on long commutes. i hope the classical music helps and hopefully he will eventually get used to it.
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182

Hi guys .. I'm sorry you had such a stressful car ride with your little guy .. I know it's not easy when your cat doesn't travel well .. and I have no advice as far as tight regulation or not goes .. but I know you're trying your best with him and thats what matters! have a great day!
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182 + 3 140

So sorry to hear that the trip didn't go well. Both of our kitties freak out in the car, but maybe Leo will get used to it. Tracy (& Leo) had trouble for awhile getting her Leo used to the trips to her parents, but he eventually caught on and does it well now. Big hugs to you Lisa. You are a great bean and Leo will be fine. Nice +3 today!!
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182 + 3 140

Hi Lisa, Sorry you and Leo had a rough trip this time, wish I had some useful suggestions. I know you are doing everything you can to make Leo as comfortable as possible on your tough commute. I hope he will eventaully get more accustomed to the ride. Hugs :YMHUG: and travel vines for both of you.
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182 + 3 140

I hope Leo will get used to the car rides soon. You're doing the best you can. Sometimes things happen, like fur shots, and their numbers go up. I think his numbers going up from the car rides is like that. He will come back down. Don't beat yourself up over it.
 
Re: 11/7 Leo AMPS 345 +1 322 +2.5 182 + 3 140

Hi Carla - Thanks for your encouragement. I didn't think about it like a fur shot, but we don't like them either! :oops:

HI Leslie - Hopefully he will, I keep my fingers crossed every trip. Thanks for the vines.

Hi Melissa - I'll have to ask Tracy if she did anything special that helped her Leo. Sigh, poor boy I with I could just tell him everything is ok!

Hi Devon - thanks for saying that - it's hard to remember that sometimes, that we're doing the best we can.

HI Ann - thanks for your support and wishes.

Hi Ann - I wasn't completely successful with the solo bath! But he finished it off himself. I had tried Rescue Remedy and I didn't the last couple times - I just forgot and then it was too late. I will remember to try again. Yes, the liquipoo was just during the trip. The Fortiflora is helping with it overall.

Hi Mags, thanks for telling me about Mannie's. Tree house building is fun! I'm zipping around now! ~Leo
 
PMPS 207

Wow, this could be an actual, real cycle, that goes down and then up for PMPS. :shock: That would be a wonderful thing for this tired bean! Thank you baby, mommy loves you.
 
A real cycle would be great huh?

Hi Leo. No fun on the car rides. Maybe classical music will help. I'm wondering if you could take Leo to the car to just wander around sometimes without driving. Just let him 'hang out.' Just a wild thought.

Hope you get some sleep Lisa. :YMHUG:

Karen
 
Lisa, I'm sorry you and Leo had another car ride from h.e.double toothpicks. Have you tried giving Leo very small car rides? Sort of a trial program where you start slow and build up. I seem to remember Tracy took Leo on shorter trips for a while before doing the big trip to Colorado. When I took Neko to the vet yesterday, there wasn't a peep from her. Before the very long 3 day vetty trips she would raise quite the fuss even for a short trip.

Another thought, have you tried feeding Leo a raw diet, besides his wing tips? Raw food is processed by the system a bit faster and the results are firmer/less smelly. If Leo gets motion sick, then a woozy tummy on top of things would probably compound the problems.

Today turned into a great cycle. I hope it continues tonight.
 
Hi Lisa - so sorry for the late post... another DGS day where it is beyond late by the time have a free moment. I hope your day has been a good one.

oh my on the commutes... I wish I had a solution.... never had to deal with that. Hope Leo gets used to it all. Paws crossed...

Auntie Lisa - how was the coffees today? i hopes they were good.... ~~ Mannie, kitteh barsita
 
Hi again LIsa,
I have one more thought on car rides. Our 3 cats love some place dark, real dark. We have hidey holes in the semi but yesterday we took oliver in the car. He usually travels sooooo well. Yesterday he was back and forth, with this sorrowful cry. in his box, crying, in the front seat, crying. Finally, he was sitting on my lap, just fine, then a truck went by. His ears went back. He started crying, crying, crying. He went in his box, more crying. I put my jacket over his box with just an inch opening at the bottom of the door so he could go in and out. no more crying, head down and right to sleep. I never thought about them getting too stimulated or scared from all the cars and trucks going by.
Maybe Leo wants a dark space so he doesn't see so much? One of our little boys spends most of his traveling in an oil box, turned on it's side, facing the back wall of the truck. I never thought, until yesterday's crying jag that a dark space might help Leo also.
best to you and Leo
Safe travels Leo.... sweet boy
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top