11/6 Toby's PMS=141 +3=211+7=252

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peg and Toby

Member Since 2014
Toby started out in the Blue today. Wish I had got some numbers last night. I think we both needed a rest. Started a new pen from Canada last night guess they work alright. Was worried because they took awhile to get here. The ice pack they packed them with stayed cold even when melted. So when it got here it was still cool. Got to go out to work today. Will test before I leave and DH will check on him while I'm gone. Take Care, Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/6 Toby's AMS=143 +2.5=157 +8=72

Looks like Toby cleared his bounce pretty fast this time. Wish I would have been home to test earlier .He may have got In the greens sooner than when I tested. Feels good to see him in better numbers. He been so high for so long. Was beginning to think he would never see lower numbers. Want to thank everyone for telling me to hang on and be a tank and push through this.
Thanks again, Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/6 Toby's AMS=143 +2.5=157 +8=72

Daytime greens! :mrgreen: Isn't that a sight for sore and tired eyes. :-D

How's Toby feeling/acting these days? It's great he's getting over those bounces (and they aren't very high) so fast.

Good news on the insulin being OK.
 
Re: 11/6 Toby's AMS=143 +2.5=157 +8=72

Toby is doing good. He comes out in the evening and wants to play. He has a paper bag and he will jump on it and push it across
the floor. Sometimes he gets it on his head and walks around with it. Had a bout with constipation but hopefully that is behind us. Appy is good . All P's in place. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/6 Toby's AMS=143 +2.5=157 +8=72 +9=93

What number would you not shoot the 12 units? I shot this morning at 143. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/6 Toby's AMS=143 +2.5=157 +8=72 +9=93

Great news on how Toby is feeling. :-D The question of what to shoot comes down to your comfort level. Toby is now on the way up and you know he'll keep going up until onset which seems to be somewhere between +3 and +4 for him. There's also a chance he might bounce. ;-)

Experienced people here will shoot anything over 50. My personal low with Neko is 53. It's hard to wrap your head around the size of the dose, but it really doesn't make a difference. That's the amount of insulin the cat needs. If you've looked at Suzanne's Cobb's SS, she shot 31 U of Lantus into a preshot of 58 and around 22U of Levemir into the 50's. I'm not suggesting you do that right away, and you won't have to because Toby is on the rise. Cats will often go very flat when you shoot the lower numbers. I've given Neko insulin in the 80's and had her stick to the 80's the entire cycle.

Things to consider as part of your decision. Are you home and able to monitor? Do you have high carb food and/or syrup/karo/honey around if Toby goes low? Do you have plenty of strips in case you need them? If the answer is no to any of those, I'd recommend a smaller dose, although often the cycle of a reduced dose will still play out the same due to the depot. Next, try to think what dose you'd be comfortable shooting. Toby will likely be over 100 by shot time and you shot the 143 this morning. Neko was kind to me in that she gradually reduced her preshot values to lower numbers. Right now preshot is often her nadir, so I've been forced to learn to shoot low.

Get a +11 test, that will give you a heads up whether you need to be concerned and you can ask for help then.
 
Re: 11/6 Toby's AMS=143 +2.5=157 +8=72 +9=93

I've been thinking about the shoot over 50 plan - it is attached to Lantus, meaning that one is likely shooting the highest point of a cycle.

Lev - some cats have their nadirs around the shot time, so you're shooting the LOWEST the cat's getting to. I'm not sure that it really matters, it's just an observation.

Regardless, shooting the lower numbers flattens out the cycle. As long as you can monitor and have supplies, I'd probably shoot anything over 50ish with the full dose. Move the number up some if it makes you nervous, or reduce the dose a bit. Often, though, as Wendy said, a dose reduction won't really show up til the next cycle, so reducing the dose tonight might not change how the cycle will go anyway.

It's so great to see him making progress, unless it turns your stomach with nervousness, I'd try to give the regular dose. It would be different if he'd dropped from 500 this morning to 90 tonight, but he's been essentially flat today.
 
Re: 11/6 Toby's PMS=141

I gave Toby his 12 units tonight. Will monitor and see how we make out. We have had all blues and greens today. I think he is doing great. Maybe we will get a reduction soon. If not I'm just glad he is doing good. I have HC food kyro syrup and Plenty of
strips . Thanks Wendy and Julie for all your help. Peg and Toby
 
Re: 11/6 Toby's PMS=141

Peg and Toby said:
I gave Toby his 12 units tonight. Will monitor and see how we make out. We have had all blues and greens today. I think he is doing great. Maybe we will get a reduction soon. If not I'm just glad he is doing good. I have HC food kyro syrup and Plenty of
strips . Thanks Wendy and Julie for all your help. Peg and Toby


Excellent, Peg. I was always such a chicken when Polly hit pre shot numbers lower than I was used to. A couple of times I went cluck-cluck and reduced. In retrospect, I wish I hadn't. But it took me a whole lot longer to gain the confidence I needed to shoot lower numbers; granted, I've never been confronted with anything too low, but I've learned through my experiences. And all the folks here. You're a much faster learner than I. And Toby is the better for it.

Congratulations.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top