11/6 Remi AMPS 108-vet visit update-asthma questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

So yesterday evening was a little busy as remi went low again. viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127951

I was unsure about whether to decrease the dose this morning because as Wendy explained although he went lower than 48 that could still be because of the depot from the higher dose. Well this morning he was just ever so slightly higher this morning and I am not sure whether it's because of a bounce, the depot wearing off or because I gave him perhaps a little bit too much honey last night when he went low. Anyway I decided to stick with the 1 unit for this morning and see what it brings us.

AMPS 108

Off to the vets at +1.45 and will be back at + 3. As Julie suggested I will take the meter with me and grab a dreading to see how he reacts to the vets.

Cheers
 
Re: 11/6 Remi AMPS 108-vet update

Sorry I have been so busy trying to source a potassium supplement for remi and being ill that I haven't had a chance to update my thread.

So I took in a whole list of issues to discuss and we ticked them off one by one. In essence his creatinine was normal along with other parameters whose names ex pars me at the moment. His potassium was a little low-3.3 and salt just on the top of the normal range. He felt it wasn't a result of kidney disease and said there was multiple possible causes but suggested we get a potassium supplement called kaminox.

With regards his chest he said remi didn't have an infection but his asthma was quite noticeably worse than before. This is no surprise as he came off his oral steroids following his diabetes diagnosis. So we discussed possible treatments to go alongside his inhaled meds. The vet said ideally he would be on steroids again in order to get the inflammation under control but we agreed he would look into accolate and ask the advice of the one of the UK specialist centres.

So I got home and spent the day researching the supplement and then trying to track one down that I could go and buy. I then spent a lot of time researching advances in feline asthma treatment. Luckily he liked the taste (beef)of the supplement but now seems to only want his food if it has been added :roll:

I have to say that I feel rather down about it all as everything I try to do just seems to impact on one of his other conditions. Remi has been doing so well with the insulin that I was really hoping he could come off it and be diet controlled but what if he has to go onto steroids again. Does that make that impossible? Am I allowing his asthma to progress whilst he isn't on it? Can he still go into remission on steroid? Before his diagnosis he was on 2.5 mg eod for at least two years we only seemed to go into trouble when we went to 5 mg eod but that was also the time when his asthma was best. I have also been trying to get hold of research papers that but they are protected and you have to buy them. Anyway rant over.

With regards remi I have been taking readings as per usual but haven't updated the spreadsheet. Tonight he blood glucose readings have been 50 for the last couple of hours. I have been feeding his usual low carb food and he has held steady. Just waiting up till +6.30 to get a final reading and to give some more food before bed.

Sorry if slightly incoherent. I am still suffering with my throat. It just seems to get worse and worse!
 
Re: 11/6 Remi AMPS 108-vet visit update

Can you send me a PM with the references you're trying to track down? I have access to a medical and veterinary library and don't have to pay for journal articles.
 
Re: 11/6 Remi AMPS 108-vet visit update

Sending hugs and vines that you recover quickly....I don't think we have visited your condo before, so

picgifs-welcome-2-566738.gif
from me and Skooter!!!

You are a great mom to Remi doing all this research.....you are working with a lot of smart ppl on here and it sounds like your vet is vested in making Remi feel better....I am sure between all those eyes and brains on him, a brilliant idea/plan will come about...

Also just wanted to say Remi is a VERY handsome cat! I love that picture of him!
 
Re: 11/6 Remi AMPS 108-vet visit update

Hi! I can absolutely relate to your concerns about the juggling act of asthma and diabetes. It is tricky.

Billie has allergic asthma which started flaring up in August along with some hives and food allergies. She was on a 2 or 3 week course of pred and I did have to raise her dose a bit with it, but it didn't mess her up too much at all. She is off it now and I am holding my breath hoping that she can stay off of it. It can be tough to manage diabetes and asthma, but it is not impossible and not as horrible as some vets (at least Billie's old vet) made it sound.

Someone may have pointed you in this direction already, but have you looked at Melissa/Tarragon's SS? Tarragon has had both asthma and diabetes for a long time, is on pred, and has an absolutely gorgeous spreadsheet. Lots of blue and green.

I did some research with Billie's diagnosis and found that cyproheptadine can be worth a try - not as an antihistamine, but as an antiserotonin. I don't remember the mechanism, but serotonin is involved with asthma, and the cypro affects it in a way that makes the asthma less severe. My regular vet did not know about this but an allergy specialist that we saw mentioned it, so it may be something fairly new. It sounds like it is more experimental and it may or may not work for every cat, but it could be worth looking into. I did not try it for Billie yet but it is one of my backup plans if she needs meds again.

Our vet also suggested trying inhaled steroids along with a bronchodilator like aminophylline if we need something in the future, but Billie definitely was at a point where she needed a short course of the oral pred to get things under control and clear out the inflammation that was already there.

Feel free to PM me if you have any questions. It might be helpful to ask Melissa/Tarragon some questions, because she has a lot of experience with asthma and FD.
 
Re: 11/6 Remi AMPS 108-vet visit update

Thanks to both of you. I am very single minded when it comes to my boy, obsessive somewhat. I like to think if myself as one of those tiger moms that will do the best she can :-D I am very lucky with my vet he is kind, intelligent and open to new ideas and different opinions.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Can you send me a PM with the references you're trying to track down? I have access to a medical and veterinary library and don't have to pay for journal articles.

Thankyou I will send you a pm tomorrow. That would be fantastic.
 
Re: 11/6 Remi AMPS 108-vet visit update

Thanks deanna

It's great to hear other peoples experience of juggling these conditions. I must go to sleep now but will reread your post again in the morning when I am refreshed (hopefully) :roll:
 
Re: 11/6 Remi AMPS 108-vet visit update

i would also add "asthma?" in your subject line. There are others on here with diabetes + asthma issues that may be able to help direct you.
 
Thanks Julie

I have amended my post title and am bouncing this thread back up. I've started today's thread so I hope that s okay to have two going!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top